Casting Call — The Fault in Our Stars

Our weekly attempt to cast some of our favorite books, along with our friends: 

Tee @ YA Crush

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks

The Fault in Our Stars is about a girl and a boy who fall in love.  They both happen to be dying at the time.  It also just happens to be one of my favorite books in…I’m gonna go with FOREVER.  If you haven’t read it, please do yourself a favor & get it immediately. 

The Fault in Our Stars

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

0321-1B-isabelle-fuhrman-hunger-games-wedding-hair-wedding-makeup_we.jpg

Isabelle Fuhrman, Clove in The Hunger Games

Kaitlyn, played by Isabelle Fuhrman–one of Hazel’s only friends leftover from her school days, Kaitlyn is described as “extremely sophisticated twenty-five-year-old British socialite stuck inside a sixteen-year-old body” and is supposed to have a slight English accent.  I think if TFiOS does get made (it was optioned in February), this part is so small, it would probably get cut or at the very least, I don’t think Kaitlyn would be British.  I like Isabelle because she’s actually a teenager and she’s pretty without being beautiful and this picture shows she can do sophisticated.

Diane Lane, who will soon be playing Superman’s mom

Diane Lane as Mrs. Lancaster–Hazel’s mom, Mrs. Lancaster, is supposed to be Hazel’s best friend.  She takes every opportunity to turn an event into a celebration, including Bastille Day and Hazel’s half-birthday.  She was also in the Peace Corp, where she met her husband.  I think Diane Lane embodies empathy, compassion, and motherly support.  She can play a background character and be a very giving actress, which is one of the reasons I like her so much.  I think she would do a fantastic job as Mrs. Lancaster.

So what do you think of my choices?  Leave me a comment to let me know who you think would make a better Mrs. Lancaster or Kaitlyn.  And when you’re done with that, head over to the Casting Call sister sites and see who they chose.

Tee @ YA Crush

Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks

~*dixie*~

12 thoughts on “Casting Call — The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Brittany September 28, 2012 at 7:33 am Reply

    I adore Diane Lane! I think she’s a great choice for Hazel’s mom. I think I’ve really loved her in everything that she’s been in and I can totally picture her in that role.
    I like your choice for Isabelle/Kaitlyn as well! She could totally pull off “British socialite” haha. I see the personalities fitting.

    • Dixie September 28, 2012 at 10:04 am Reply

      thanks!

  2. Candice September 28, 2012 at 9:58 am Reply

    I keep thinking about Isabelle Fuhrman for so many things, but I truly HATED her in Hunger Games – lemme explain: she brought to life this character (Clove) and made me hate her so much more than I did when reading the book. I still see her taunting Katniss and talking about how they killed Rue and I want to punch her in the face. So every time I think about her I hate her. So yeah… she’s gotta be a great actress! haha But I think she could pull off Hazel’s sort of weird friend.

    And Diane Lane? LOVE HER!

    • Dixie September 28, 2012 at 10:05 am Reply

      yeah, she sort of embodied that freak show, clove. loved when thresh killed her. :)

  3. Tee September 28, 2012 at 12:07 pm Reply

    Your casting of Diane Lane is so perfect and she goes so well with Sandie’s casting of John Corbett. Gorgeous couple! Also, I’d forgotten that Kaitlyn spoke with a slight British accent. Isabelle Furhman would be good. She was awesome as Clove.

  4. Elizabeth September 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm Reply

    I totally forgot about the Kaitlynn character and I’m not sure who I imagined as Hazel’s mom… I guess I think of Diane Lane as being a tough cookie and I always pictured Hazel’s mom as being more eager-looking. I dunno… Diane Lane definitely would play a good mom of a cancer kid, I just think she might change how I thought of the character when I read the book.

    • Gone Pecan September 28, 2012 at 12:13 pm Reply

      i see what you mean about Mrs. Lancaster, now that you’ve mentioned it. but i think she’d have to be tough, though, going through what her family does. she has a quiet strength.

  5. Sandie @TeenLitRocks September 28, 2012 at 3:34 pm Reply

    I forgot to tell you this, but Gabrielle Zevin, who wrote “All These Things I’ve Done” & its sequel, told me on Twitter she’d love Isabelle Fuhrman to play Anya Balanchine, so she’s clearly in demand! I thought she was amazing — albeit creepy — in “Orphan”! And hooray for Diane Lane and John Corbett. They’d make a great, believable married couple to a teenager. Woo hoo.

    • Gone Pecan September 28, 2012 at 4:07 pm Reply

      yeah, they would be believable as a married couple. and i think Sarah would be believable as their child, which I don’t think she is on Modern Family (she looks like she’s adopted to me) ~d

  6. Diana September 28, 2012 at 4:59 pm Reply

    I love Diane Lane and while she looks a little differently than the way I pictured Hazel’s mom, I think she’s a great choice and she’s a fantastic actress. I only know Isabelle Fuhrman from THG, but I think she’d be great Kaitlyn.

    • Gone Pecan September 28, 2012 at 5:18 pm Reply

      she’s not exactly how I pictured her, either, but I think she’s the closest I can come

  7. [...] Crush (Hazel Grace and Isaac), The Grown-Up YA  (Peter Van Houton and Lidewij Vliegenthart), Gone Pecan (Kaitlyn and Mrs. Lancaster) and The Book Addict’s Guide (Mr. and Mrs. [...]

Leave a Reply

