The Selective Collective: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

SC2_edited-3

For our Valentine’s Day inspired (though a bit late) pick:

ep

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.
I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

Gone Pecan was given the Casting Call portion for Eleanor & Park and I think we are pretty happy with our choices.

For Park, Korean actor/model Kim Bum

Park is half Korean on his mother’s side, half Irish on his father’s.  He’s supposed to have green eyes and be a little short, but we found Kim and didn’t want to look any more. :) Park is a little punk rock, a little sensitive; very mature for his age. In other words, he’s the atypical high school boy.  Put some black eyeliner on him and you’ll fall in love, too.

For Eleanor, Alia Shawkat

Eleanor is a big girl with massive red curly hair and tons of freckles. There’s something about her that calls to Park, makes him want to protect her and love her.  She’s tough, but vulnerable in many ways. Eleanor is quirky with a necessarily strange fashion sense.  I think Alia can really pull of all of the above qualities with flair and make the audience empathize with her without pitying her. Just what Eleanor would want.

Liked our Casting Call?  Check out all the other great SC posts about this book!

Freebie Post:  -  The Music of Eleanor & Park  – Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Review: Eleanor & Park – Tee @ YA Crush

Roudtable Discussion: Eleanor & Park– Candice @ The Grown Up YA

Author Q & A + Giveaway - Eleanor & Park  – Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Thanks to St Martin’s Press for sending us copies for review.

16 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. [...] Gone Pecan-Casting Call [...]

  2. Sandie @TeenLitRocks February 20, 2013 at 8:55 am Reply

    Ooh, he’s definitely a cutie and is strong/slender like Park, and did you see that Rainbow loves Alia too? Great picks!

    • Daphne February 20, 2013 at 8:56 am Reply

      i actually sent it to her a few days ago and she loved both of the castings :) I can’t take credit for Alia, Kristina actually picked her, but I jumped on it! I think she’d be perfect. I think she’s beautiful.

  3. Brittany February 20, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    You guys!!! What great choices for Eleanor & Park! Those are perfect picks and I could totally see them in the roles <3

  4. Candice February 20, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

    Yay! So awesome! Alia is totally cute; can definitely see her as Eleanor!

  5. Tee February 20, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    These are perfect choices. Totally perfect.

  6. Diana February 20, 2013 at 6:48 pm Reply

    Wow, this was perfect casting.

  7. Nina Happy Endings February 21, 2013 at 6:22 am Reply

    I like your picks! I haven’t read the book, but I would def. watch the movie if Kim Bum plays the boy. :)

  8. Nancy (@RavenousReadr) March 2, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your choices for the cast. I just read this book and adored it to bits.

  9. belle March 19, 2013 at 7:07 pm Reply

    I pictured Park like Simon Park from the K-Pop band, Dalmation at first.

    http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g62/helyon/Simon.jpg

    But then my friend pointed this guy out to me:

    http://www.crunchyroll.com/forumtopic-247555/the-hottest-or-cutest-halfie?pg=44#29451185

    He’s not an actor but wow….

  10. onceuponagaynerd June 16, 2013 at 1:16 am Reply

    Awww. This casting makes me happy :-) Kim Bum’s exactly how I imagine Park to look – though I did watch an episode of Boys Over Flowers and his pronunciation of English words could use some work. Alia Shawkat is gorgeous and is perfectly freckly. But she might need to gain a bit of weight for the role because I have trouble believing anyone with functional eyes would describe her as fat. Full-bodied maybe. In any case, I wish this book would be adapted into a movie. I’m 92% finished (I just started this morning) and I’ve never been more invested in a YA book. Rainbow Rowell’s writing reminds me of David Levithan, but it isn’t afraid of trudging into darker places.

  11. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] reading in the next few weeks.  3.  Me Before You by Jojo Meyes – Sad but I love it.  4.  Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Gosh.  The most EPIC hand holding EVER.  5.  Through the Ever Night by […]

  12. Alexandra March 26, 2014 at 6:28 am Reply

    Alia is perfect :) I have another choice for Park (Sala Samobojcow) check my page I put some photos of him how I think he is so suitable as Park Sheridan http://ashthraz.blogspot.fr/2014/02/eleanor-and-park.html

    • Gone Pecan March 27, 2014 at 8:22 am Reply

      Will do. Thanks for stopping by!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  13. […] 3. Rounding out the top 3, the Selective Collective’s casting of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park. […]

Leave a Reply

