The Selective Collective: The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

SC2_edited-3

For the SC’s April pick we have:

nerd

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

For this lovely contemporary GP was given the task to come up with a freebie post.  After much debate amung ourselves and then talking over with the other SC gals we decided to combine a couple of our ideas into one post we like to call. . .

From Zero to Hero

Nerds are hot.  It seems lately that nerds and nerdish books/movies are taking over.  They are in high demand and frankly we are loving every second of it!  What better way to celebrate them then to pick a few of our favorite nerd guys and talk about why we think they are not only nerdy but hot, too?  To add to that thought we also decided to choose a female character from the nerd world that we wouldn’t mind being cast for as well. :)

Kristina’s Picks:

Raj from The Big Bang Theory

Raj is absolutely adorable.  It doesn’t hurt that he has a yorkie since I have one as well (thanks Daph for finding the clip for me!)  He’s also super smart, loves to cook (HUGE PLUS), and in touch with his feminine side.  It breaks my heart that he really hasn’t found someone on the show yet but things have been looking up for him lately.

Dr. Spencer Reid from Criminal Minds

Hands down my favorite tv nerd.  IMO he’s extremely attractive and he’s fiercely loyal to his BAU team.  (HELLO SHAMAR AKA Derek Morgan, I’m sorta looking at you. . .or even Hotch (with a beard, remember that episode?) WHEW, sorry got a bit side tracked there.)  Basically, WATCH THE SHOW.

Tony Stark from Iron Man/The Avengers

The only comic book based movie that I’m motivated to go see in the theater.  Robert Downey Jr IS Iron Man.  He’s the perfect nerd.  Gorgeous, smart, RICH, and just enough cockiness that you don’t want to punch him in the throat.

Black Widow

I know a lot of people have issues with Scar Jo but I like her for this character.  I love her and I wish I looked like her (I’ve always wanted red hair) and could kick butt like Black Widow.  Not that I plan on wearing any black leather jumpsuits any time soon but to look that good while kicking butt?  Yes please!  I love that her skills seems so effortless.

Daphne’s Picks:

I have a history of being attracted to nerdy guys. What can I say, I like smart people. And I have a particular affinity for guys in glasses.  While nerd girls are close to my heart, nerd boys are the ones who get my heart pumping. Here’s a brief rundown of some of my favorite nerd boys (I say brief because, while doing hardcore research for this, I discovered just how deep my love for nerds goes and I could not include everyone):

Wyatt in Weird Science

I saw this movie many times when I was young. Though the guys, Gary & Wyatt, were considered uber nerdy, I had a bit of a crush on Wyatt. He was just so sincere and adorable.  And you can’t get much nerdier than wearing a bra on your head, no matter how you slice it.

Seth Cohen in The O. C.

There was just something about Seth Cohen that had me coming back week after week. He was wincingly nerdy (comic book collection, gamer, socially awkward), but he had the face/hair/body of Adam Brody, so EVERYBODY WINS! His friendship with Ryan and his subsequent relationship with Summer brought him out of his shell and helped him to know that he was great just the way he was.

Wes from Angel

Oh, when Wes showed up as Faith’s watcher in the third season of Buffy, he really irritated me.  He was pompous, a know-it-all, and entirely too proper.  But, like Cordy, he really came into his own on Angel and made me love him. In the end, I think that, much like Pacey in Dawson’s Creek, Wes became the real hero of the show for me. Plus, his relationship with Fred is probably one of my all-time favorites. It still breaks my heart to think about.

Riley Poole in National Treasure

I am a huge history nerd and National Treasure is one of those movies that I have to watch whenever it’s on.  Riley is the guy who is insecure because he’s never really been appreciated. He’s the nerd done good, the kind who can thumb his nose at those who made his life a living hell during adolescence because now he’s driving a Ferrari. Plus he’s funny and has beautiful eyes.

Honorable Mentions (nerds waiting in the wings):

Alex from Roswell

Jim Halpert from The Office

Rory Williams from Doctor Who

Willow Rosenberg in Buffy the Vampire Slayer

As for me, being a teenager was hell, as I am sure many people can identify with. It was a few years after I graduated that Buffy the Vampire Slayer came out, but I immediately was drawn to the show and, in particular, Willow. We had a lot of differences but in my heart, I was the same awkward, unfortunately dressed nerd (who eventually becomes bad-ass).  I loved how they portrayed Willow.  Her friendship with Buffy blurred the popularity lines (because we know Buffy could have been on par with Cordelia if she tried just a little bit) and Willow was not exactly on the top tier of the high school hierarchy. Yet Willow was not a hanger on, but an essential part of the team and I am glad that she was not relegated to the sidelines. She fought right alongside Buffy.  And when she loves, she loves deep.  There is definite growth for Willow and if you’re a fan of the show, you know just how VERY much she changes, but in the end, it was love that saved her from succumbing to evil. There’s so much more I could say about Willow, but I’ll leave you with a quote from her best friend, Xander Harris (who also could have been added to this list):

Xander: The first day of kindergarten, you cried because you broke the yellow crayon and you were too afraid to tell anyone. You’ve come pretty far. Ending the world – not a terrific notion… But the thing is… yeah, I love you. I love crayon-breaky Willow and I love scary, veiny Willow. So if I’m goin’ out, it’s here. If you wanna kill the world, well, then start with me. I’ve earned that.

Honorable Mention:

Daria Morgandorffer

Liked our post?  Want to learn more about the book and author?  Check out all the other great SC posts about this book!

Casting Call:  - Who would you cast in The Summer I Became a Nerd? - Candice @ The Grown Up YA

Review:   - The Summer I Became a Nerd – Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Roudtable Discussion:  The Summer I Became a Nerd  - Tammy @ YA Crush

Author Q & A + Giveaway – Leah Rae Miller - Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Thanks to Entangled for providing egalleys for review on the SC.

8 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

  1. [...] Gone Pecan-From Zero to Hero [...]

  2. Brittany May 2, 2013 at 7:57 am Reply

    Ohhh I love Seth Cohen! And Riley Poole — He was so great in the National Treasure movies! :D
    I’m upset that Jim Halpert was only an honorable mention… Hahha. But no, so much fun. Great lists!

  3. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA May 2, 2013 at 8:48 am Reply

    Okay Wes… hands down… FAVORITE NERDY GUY OF ALL TIME. I can’t even begin to describe my love of him! And at the end, when he and Fred… Oh, I’m getting teary!

    Oh, and Raj… he’s my favorite from BBT! He’s just so cute and adorable that I want to kiss him! :)

  4. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks May 2, 2013 at 10:05 am Reply

    Oh Seth Cohen how I love thee! I never watched ANGEL, but I love reading about all of these picks. I think the superhero nerds I love most are Peter Parker and Bruce Banner. The others don’t seem nerdy at all to me!

  5. Quinn May 2, 2013 at 10:52 am Reply

    I loved Seth from The OC. He was my favorite character. I loved his whole Christmakkah thing. :)

    I can’t wait to read The Summer I Became a Nerd. It looks like so much fun.

  6. Tee May 2, 2013 at 12:28 pm Reply

    Boys with glasses slay me! Oh, I love them. Seth from OC was super-adorable because he had no idea how super-adorable he was. And D, where were you when I was a kid and secretly crushing on Wyatt? You are my nerd-lovin soul sister!

  7. Tony Stark is a winning pick! Even though he’s kind of an a-hole sometimes, I love him. I’m super excited about the new Iron Man movie too ;)

Leave a Reply

