Fantasy · Paranormal · Sci-Fi · SERIES · YA · YA Series

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

scarletThe fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Source:  own, traded on YA Book Exchange

Story Breakdown:

Told in alternating point of views, we follow Cinder after her imprisonment trying to break out or face certain death at the hands of Queen Levana, and Scarlet who is trying to find out more information about her grandmother’s disappearance and locate where she might be and who has taken her.

Character Highlights:

Scarlet –  Having read both Cinder and Scarlet I like both MCs BUT overall I prefer Cinder.   I couldn’t quite understand what was happening in Scarlet’s train of thought.  I felt her reaction to things was a bit hypocritical at times but she did mean well.  It took almost the entire book for me to feel a connection with her and want her to really succeed.

Wolf –  Every girl loves the strong silent time.  WHEW.

Thorne – How refreshing!  I loved his sense of humor.  Hands down my favorite parts of the book were when we had time with him.  Nothing like great comic relief to break up all the serious life threatening situations they got into.

Cinder – My girl is one tough cookie!  Towards the end I almost swapped completely between my opinions of her and Scarlet but she redeemed herself.

Kai – I still like him. . . but something feels off with him at times.  I’m not sure what it is but I’m hoping to dig into that more with the next installment of the series.

Overall Thoughts:

This book held its own against Cinder.  Second book syndrome was NOT here.  Scarlet was action packed and by the time I got to the last 50 pages or so I couldn’t read/turn the pages fast enough. I think Ms Meyer’s take on classic fairy tales and throwing in fantasy/sci-fi elements appeals to a broader span of readers and they read so fluidly that even a slower reader will finish them faster than normal.  Comparing Scarlet to Cinder overall I’d say Scarlet wins story wise and Cinder wins character wise ( BARELY.  I mean Scarlet did introduce Thorne. :P)  I cannot wait for the next installment in the series.

4.75/5

6 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. So glad you loved this one. I am loving this series. I do like Cinder more than Scarlet, both as a character and as a book, but only just. I think this is such a wonderful way to write a series. I am so excited for Cress.

Leave a comment