Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

ScarletUS.inddPosing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in.

It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.

Source:  borrowed from local library

Story Breakdown:

On the run from her own demons, Scarlet is part of Robin Hood’s band of “men” who steal to help the towns people of Nottinghamshire not only eat but pay taxes to the horrible new Sheriff in town.  Robin, the rightful Earl, has been forced out of his role while at war and is doing everything he can to keep his people safe.  When their escapades continue to go unchecked the Sheriff hires a ruthless Thief Taker with whom Scarlet has a past.

Character Highlights:

Scarlet – EVERYONE ELSE KNOWS SCARLET, GET IT TOGETHER.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the way she spoke, but I understand her needing to hide for various reasons so I did get used to it.

Rob – Second verse same as the first, get it together!  Why can’t he just be open?  Le sigh.  Boys are so silly.

John – Eh, I liked him but to put it nicely as I can he needs to be more selective in his lady friends if he wants people to take him seriously. (Note this was my second attempt at putting it nicely, the first still wasn’t too nice. :P)

Overall Thoughts:  The story started off a bit slow for me.  I figured out several twists early on but everything definitely picks up and though I “knew” what would happen I enjoyed the book and it was very action packed!  The second half made up for anything I felt lacking in the first.  This was my first retelling set in the land of Robin Hood and I enjoyed my time here quite a bit so I’m anxious to get back to this original world.  I already requested and was lucky enough to be approved for book two Lady Thief.  YAY!

4/5

kiki

6 thoughts on “Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

  1. Quinn January 13, 2014 at 11:25 am Reply

    I’ve been meaning to read Scarlet FOREVER. I love Robin Hood, so of course I want to read Scarlet, an di’ve heard great things about it. However, I did read the first few pages, and I had such a hard time with the language. I understand that this is supposed to take place a long time ago, but I was struggling, and it seems you were too. But it sounds like if I can make it through the first half the second half will be great.

    • Kristina January 13, 2014 at 11:28 am Reply

      Right. It was really just Scarlet that spoke like that. I think if you push through it is a cute book. Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. bookgoonie January 14, 2014 at 6:11 am Reply

    I’ve been very interested in giving it a try.

  3. Ashley @The Quiet Concert January 17, 2014 at 6:44 pm Reply

    I have heard pretty good things about this series, I am glad to hear the second half picks up. Sometimes a slow start has me questioning whether I want to finish the book or not.

  4. Candice January 18, 2014 at 8:04 am Reply

    I started this one a while back and enjoyed it, but never finished. I need to because I have Lady Thief waiting to read!

    • Gone Pecan January 21, 2014 at 7:07 am Reply

      ME TOO!!!!!! Rad it and maybe we can read together? :)

Leave a Reply

