Top Ten Tuesday #93

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely gals over @ Broke and the Bookish.

TODAY’S TOPIC:

Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)

1. Downton Abbey era books  – I know they are out there and I’ve started seeing more but there is something about this time I love.  God the fashion alone makes me want to swoon.

2.  DARK/Horror books – I LOVE Maggie Stiefvater and Brenna Yovanoff and their dark and twisty books.  I want something that still has meat on its bones and makes me think as well as scare the crap of out me.

3.  Nerd books – Nerds need love too!  Let’s face it, if you are reading this there is a good chance (99.9%) that you are a nerd.  Who doesn’t want to read books about someone they can relate to?

4.  High Fantasy novels – I’m seriously fading on the contemporary reads (though I still love some) and I seem to be picking up steam on goodreads adding high fantasy a la GRRM or. . .

5. Fairy tale retellings – I cannot get enough of these either!  After binge watching OUAT, starting OUATW, and reading all of the Lunar Chronicles this year?  It is safe to say I’m obsessed.

6.  Love Triangle free books – It’s not that there aren’t books or series out there without love triangles but sometimes it feels like it’s a given.  I want to see crazy plots twists I wasn’t expecting and this isn’t it.

7.  A series with NO Novellas/Short Stories – This is a Catch 22.  I WANT more but most of the time these stories aren’t important to the storyline and are just filler pages.  Its hard enough to follow a series without adding these in-betweens.

8.  Villain love – Look I’m not hoping villains win but after reading about The Darkling and falling in love with Loki I’m starting to see their side of things and I like it.

9.  You get what you need endings – Ok just in case there is one person out there that hasn’t read The Hunger Games yet I won’t ruin anything but I actually LIKED the ending.  I felt it was fitting and I want more realistic endings where someone is happy but maybe it wasn’t knock your socks happily ever after.

10.  Foreign love interests – I know I’m not alone when I say I love a man with an accent so I’m all about it.

What about you?  What do you wish was out there for you to read?  Let me know!

kiki

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #93

  1. Becky January 21, 2014 at 10:43 am Reply

    I’m so glad to see I’m not the only one craving really creepy horror!

    • Kristina January 21, 2014 at 10:49 am Reply

      YAY!! If you find some let me know. :) Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. Quinn January 21, 2014 at 10:51 am Reply

    I can’t get enough fairytale retellings either! I just can’t resist them. I loved the actual fairytales as a child, and now, as an adult, I can’t get enough of the imaginative retellings.

    And I’m so down with less love triangles. ugh!

    • Kristina January 21, 2014 at 10:53 am Reply

      I cannot remember ever reading or being read any fairytales. I mean I have basic knowledge of most of them and I’ve seen a ton of Disney movies but nothing with the actual tales.

  3. Alice in Readerland January 21, 2014 at 11:12 am Reply

    I’d love to see more fairy tale retellings, and I’d also like more get-what-you-need endings. I know a lot of people hated Mockingjay, but I loved the ending. I thought it was bittersweet, heartbreaking, and beautiful all at once. I’d love to see more endings like that. :)

    My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2014/01/20/wishlist/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  4. C. C. Gevry January 21, 2014 at 11:19 am Reply

    With so many people saying they are tired of love triangles, you would think someone in the industry would listen. I agree, they are overdone now. I liked the way THG series ended too. It made perfect sense.

    You can find my TTT at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/01/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-things-on-my.html

  5. Katie @ Book Savvy January 21, 2014 at 11:52 am Reply

    There should totally be more nerd books! Everyone has a little bit of nerd inside of them, and we can all connect. I love transformation books, too, where the nerd becomes popular and then realizes that they were happy as they were before. Nice list!
    Check out my TTT list and please follow my blog, Book Savvy: http://booksavvyblog.blogspot.com/

  6. Reviews from a Bookworm January 21, 2014 at 2:47 pm Reply

    Great list! I LOVE Downton Abbey, more books set in that time would be brilliant. I totally about NO MORE LOVE TRIANGLES, they are getting really old! Great choices :)

    My TTT :)

  7. Lucy January 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm Reply

    More Villains and Nerds- works for me!

    I’m fine with the novella trend going away too. Sometimes they are done really well, but usually they just frustrate me.

    And yeah I’m with you about The Hunger Games. Allegiant was harder for me to swallow. I just have series ending phobia in general after a few disappointments lately so I’m on board with #9.

    • Kristina January 22, 2014 at 7:14 am Reply

      Still haven’t finished Allegiant. :( I have issues with them ending as well, if you look at my goodreads I have A LOT of final books I haven’t read yet. LOL

  8. Heather@The Flyleaf Review January 21, 2014 at 5:30 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh–foreign accents–yessss…. And yay for darker books and Edwardian / Downton Abby era books–that made my list too! Oh and the Darkling? Love him–warped and twisted isn’t always the worst thing, right? :)

    • Kristina January 21, 2014 at 8:19 pm Reply

      Oh the Darkling. SWOON.

  9. lissiet January 21, 2014 at 7:06 pm Reply

    I think Downton Abbey era would be great too!

Leave a Reply

