Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is – no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket.  And it’s getting harder.  Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust.  At School she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.

Favorite Quote:

The last cobwebs cleaning from her eyes, she decided that if Lucas was gay then she was going to have to get a sex change operation.  He would be so worth it.

Starcrossed is the first book in a trilogy by Josephine Angelini.

For a debut novel and the first in a trilogy at that, I’m in love.  I’ve found my new obsession since Twilight and Potter have abandoned me.  I can see how Helen can fall for Lucas, I have too.    I’m a huge fan of YA and an even bigger fan of mythology.  Mix them together?  SIGN ME UP.  Even if you don’t remember everything school taught you, I feel like the author gives enough detail for you to follow along and not fill lost within the story – of course I’m also a bit of a mythology junkie. 😛 I sadly did have to put this down for a day about half through, but not from lack of suspense.

Starcrossed is set in Nantucket, a location I haven’t seen in many books I’ve read and follows the legendary stories of Helen of Troy, something completely different than any recent books out with mythology references.  A new family, the Delos’, move to town and everyone is in an uproar . . . except Helen.  Helen and Lucas’ first meeting is not what I pictured in my head.  I wanted that intense love at first sight and it takes quite a different turn, but oh what a turn it takes.  Family feuds, special powers, mysterious European family members, it’s vaguely reminiscent of Twilight, but at the same time NOTHING like it in a GREAT and AWESOME way.

The Delos clan are members of one of the four “houses” of demi-gods or scions.  Thought to be the last remaining house of scions the Delos family finds they aren’t the only demi-gods in Nantucket.  When they realize that Helen is like them they decide to go against their family they’ve left behind and protect her from certain death as someone has been trying to attack her since their arrival on the island.  Among houses it is a triumph to kill someone of another house and when one house remains legend has it that they will rule Atlantis and become immortal.  The swift turn from hate to devotion for Lucas to Helen is completely swoon-worthy as what woman doesn’t want someone utterly 100% devoted to loving and protecting her?  As Lucas and his family try to coach Helen to control her powers to fight, her relationship with Lucas takes on a one step forward two steps back dance.  Only thing I have against Helen is her lack of a back bone, not wanting to draw any attention towards her and doing anything to avoid it??  HELLO hot demi-god in love with you . . . I’ll take that attention any day.    She doesn’t want to use her powers to hurt anyone trying to attack and/or kill her??  Excuse me, but if someone has the intent to kill you should at least use your powers to defend yourself and not just want to “fly away”.  Other than that (and the fact that I’m going to have to wait and entire year (UGH) to read the second book and why did it take so long for a kiss??), I am in LOVE LOVE LOVE with this book.  If I can’t be adopted by the Weasleys or Cullens I would love to be a Delos.

5/5

 

2 thoughts on “Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

  1. Candice December 13, 2011 at 11:01 am Reply

    OMG, I had the SAME reaction to this book! I could not put it down. When I did have to put it down, all I could think of was going back to it. When I finished, I re-read my favorite parts over and over. I agree that parts of it seemed a little Twilightish, but as you said, it was totally different in a great way. I really think I need to re-read this book now. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan December 13, 2011 at 11:46 am Reply

      It was awesome! I cannot wait for the next one! ~M

Leave a Reply

