Insatiable by Meg Cabot

Sick of hearing about vampires?  So is Meena Harper.  But her bosses are making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn’t believe in them.

Not that Meena isn’t familiar with the supernatural.  See, Meena Harper knows how you are going to die.  But not even Meena’s precognition can prepare her for what happened when she meets-then makes the mistake of falling in love with-Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of dark side.  It’s a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire hunters, would prefer to see him dead for.

The problem is, Lucien’s already dead.  Maybe that’s why he’s the first guy Meena’s ever met whom she could see herself having a future with.  See, while Meena’s always been able to see everyone else’s future, she’s never been able to look into her own.  And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare.  Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future. . .If she even has one.

Favorite Quote:

I can’t list my favorite quote on the account of trying to keep this clean.  BUUUUTTTT if someone is feeling adventurous and wants to go look it up it’s on page 208, last paragraph.  😛

I’ve just started reading Meg Cabot’s books from the suggestions of Dixie, starting with Princess Diaries (Oh Michael!) and Queen of Babble.  I find her style of writing very easy to follow.  Sometimes when I start reading a new author I can’t get into the book even though the story sounds great because I can’t follow the way they write.  Not the case here.  It’s been awhile since I’ve read something other than YA but I do so love a good vampire book.  Side note, I absolutely love the fact that she mentions Sookie Stackhouse.  I like that in her book other books I need to read (yes, I know. . . I have the first six sitting in my office, I’m going to get to them I swear!) exist.

Meena is a soap opera writer that can see when people die.  While out walking her dog late one night she meets a man whom she can’t see his death . . . and he saves her from being attacked by a colony of bats.  Intrigued she cannot stop thinking about him. Invited the following evening to a neighbor’s dinner party who does she happen to meet?  Mr. Black Knight himself, Lucien Antonescu.  Sparks start flying and all of sudden Meena is the Chosen of the Prince of Darkness who is now in the middle of a vampire war with his evil half brother, and being recruited to the Palatine Guards sent to kill all vampires.  Busy couple of days, no? 

The book starts with a series of girls being attacked and killed around New York City.  As the head vampire Lucien arrives to investigate as he has banned all killing of humans.  His half-brother Dimitri is leader of a rogue group of vampires called the Dracul that are known to not always play by the rules and are based out of NYC so Lucien sets his sights on Dimitri.  In the process of his investigation he meets and falls in love with Meena.  In arrives the cavalry aka Alaric Wulf, a member of the Palantine Guards, a secret group run by the Vatican to hunt down and kill all demons.  He will not leave Meena’s side since she is now the Chosen of the Prince of Darkness and a moving target for all vampires who seek Lucien’s power. Chaos insues.

I liked this book, as it is classic Meg Cabot and has you laughing quite a bit.  As a vampire novel junkie I like a different point of view as to how the vampires could be created and the use of some classic ways to hurt or kill them. – No sparkly vamps here. (Twilight I still love youJ ).  Meena was a strong character and I liked that she tried her best to use your “gift” for good.  Although the free-loading brother and her bff’s free-loading hubby were a bit annoying.  I understand that vampires have mind control in the book, but a random stranger walks up and you just start spouting out everything you know?  UGH, men. 

The book clearly leaves plenty of room for the next in the series, which I can’t wait to read because I’m not happy with the way this book ended.  I’m not a fan of having two leading men stay throughout the series (Hello Stephanie Plum, I’m looking at you . . . PICK ALREADY) but I guess that won’t keep me from reading to find out what happens.

Pecans: 3/5

Maggie

Leave a Reply

