Character Envy

Thanks to Ginger at GReads for the opportunity to contribute our two cents.

Character Envy: If you could be one character from a book, who would you choose & why?

Hermione Granger-with the ending of the movie series how could I pick anyone else?

  1. She’s a witch.  What kid wouldn’t want to get a letter telling them they are a witch/wizard and get to go to a special school to learn all about cool magical things??  Ride a broom?? Sure!  Play quidditch?? SIGN ME UP!!!!!!!!!! Potions, spells, oh my!!!!
  2. She’s British.  I have always LOVED accents.  Don’t get me wrong, I love America but I’m jealous. I’ve always loved any books I’ve read by British authors, they just seem like good people and I like the way they talk. Doesn’t snogging sound more adventurous than making out??
  3. SPOILER ALERT!!!! (Of course if you don’t know this by now then you kind of deserve to have it spoiled for you :P) She ends up with Ron, whom I have to say is one of my biggest literary crushes.  If the Weasleys were real I would want them to adopt meJ. I wonder if it has anything to do with my weakness for red hair. (Damn you Ron and Conan O’Brien!!) How could you not love them?  How could you not love Ron?  To think he isn’t worthy of her because he isn’t the chosen one??  SIGH, boys.
  4. She’s uber smart.  Yeah, maybe I should have listed this first, girl power and all but hey it’s still listed.  In the beginning of the series the boys weren’t too keen on her always knowing everything but they came to rely on her smarts as well as her ability to complete everything early (Something I get because I cannot be late for anything.  I simply cannot stand to have people waiting on me, I feel horrible.)
  5. She gets to punch Malfoy.  I’m sorry, I was never a Draco fan, never will be.  Thank God someone stepped up and hurt him.  Violence shouldn’t be the answer, but man sometimes it feels good.

Only negative thing I can see about Hermione is that she owns a cat.  Cats are not pets, they are free loading roommates, or I guess in her case a flatmate.

~ Maggie

This was a tough assignment for me because I read SOOO much, as do all of you, I’m sure, so it’s hard to pinpoint someone who I envy completely.  Different characters have different aspects that I admire and, sure, envy, but no one’s (imaginary, pretend, thought-up-in-someone-else’s-mind) life is entirely happy and envy worthy.  So below is a list of characters I would like to emulate in some way…

1)        Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables.  Anne (with an E, thank you) won me over when I was but a small girl of 13 (never mind how gangly I was).  I think that book was what really started me on my love of reading.  It was so moving.  Poor orphan girl, sure, but she doesn’t let the realities of life bog her down.  She IMAGINES her life better.  Add to that a new home with Matthew (devoted worshipper of the Anne-girl) and Marilla (stern but ultimately loving mother figure) Cuthbert, as well as her own bosom buddy, Diana Berry, and Anne’s life does become somewhat enviable.  Plus, Gilbert Blythe.  Sigh.  And I don’t care what she thinks of it, I always envied her red hair.

“Anne Shirley, what have you done to your hair? Why, it’s GREEN!”
“Yes, it’s green,” moaned Anne. “I thought nothing could be as bad as red hair. But now I know it’s ten times worse to have green hair. Oh, Marilla, you little know how utterly wretched I am.”

LOVE HER!

2)      Shiloh from Couldn’t I Start Over by Jean Thessman.  This book, written in 1989, was one of my favorites as a teenager.  It’s about a girl who pretty much has everything, a loving family, great friends, mega talent on the piano, and a crush who may just like her back this year.  Then a new girl comes in and pretty much tries to take everything away from her.  But what follows is a very moving story (I’ve read it at least 8 times) about realizing what you have and not letting it go.  There is a part at the end of the book that makes me cry every time.  Just like I watch the movie “The Horse Whisperer” for the part where they’re in the barn dancing to that beautiful song, I read this book for that part.

3)      Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I am envious of Katniss for her ability to adapt and to kick ass.  Plus, Peeta.  And Gale.  But mostly Peeta.  True, her life pre-fight-to-the-death is nothing to desire (what with the soul-crushing poverty and no hope in sight), and while she doesn’t exactly make lemons out of lemonade, she does what needs to be done and with style.

4)      Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  Oh, Miss Elizabeth, of course you of the sharp tongue and sharper mind, have a very enviable fiction-life.   She’s not one of those silly girls, like a couple of her sisters, who giggles at the sight of a man.  She is outspoken (just ask Lady Catherine de Bourgh), stubborn and willful, but also a devoted sister, daughter, and friend.  She’s so unlike any other woman Darcy’s ever met, that she melts his resistance and steals his heart.  And she has Very Fine Eyes.

~Dixie

5 thoughts on “Character Envy

  1. reading rendezvous reviewz July 29, 2011 at 1:50 pm Reply

    wild, you hit it on the nose. elizabeth, katniss, and Herimone are leading the character choice so far among bloggers but of course most are coming in because bloggers are choosing more than one character too, anyway, bloggers strongly like the three.
    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

    • Maggie July 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm Reply

      Well I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m still a very much obsessed HP fan so there was no other option than to choose Hermione. I knew Dixie was working the Katniss and Elizabeth angle. I wouldn’t have minded choosing any leading lady from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series but it wouldn’t have been for her character as much as wanting the leading men. 😛

      Maggie-

    • Dixie July 30, 2011 at 6:50 am Reply

      that’s cause they kick butt

  2. Karthy July 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm Reply

    I really liked your answers for TGIF. I completely forgot to mention that Hermione also has a mean punch.

Leave a Reply

