Die for Me by Amy Plum

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies . . . immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart—as well as my life and my family’s—in jeopardy for a chance at love?

Kate and her older sister Georgia have just lost both of their parents and are forced to move to Paris to live with their grandparents.  Upon arriving in Paris Kate tries to start a new life, leaving anything attached to the old, including friends, behind.  Lost in books most of the time she finds a café that she frequents to read where she runs in Vincent (SIGH).   Then she runs into him by her house.  Then at the museum, etc etc.  After agreeing to see Vincent, she witnesses a horrifying accident involving one of his friends and cannot understand why he is not upset and why he is acting shady.  She decides to break it off and tries her best to not think about him.  While trying to forget about Vincent she runs into his friend . . . that should be dead.  Knowing something isn’t right she confronts him and goes to see Vincent.  Turns out they have a serious case of hero complex.  Vincent and his fellow ”kindreds” are what they call revenants or ghosts.  People that sacrifice themselves for others thru death but are a form of immortal beings that even though the die, continue to be brought back only to sacrifice themselves for others again and again.

I really liked all of the characters, even Kate (though it gets me every time how annoying teenage girls can be).  There was definitely plenty of action to keep you turning the pages.  (I was NOT happy when my lunch hour was up  :P) I really liked that the book was set somewhere else out of the country and I really loved the sister aspect of the book.  Kate and her sister Georgia are really close despite their loss and complete opposite personalities.  Their relationship was nice to read about and it didn’t take away from the story with Vincent and his family.  I just hope that it doesn’t go completely Twilight and for the second book it focuses on two other main characters. . .my vote is for Charlotte and Ambrose.

3/5

One thought on “Die for Me by Amy Plum

  1. […] I Die by Amy Plum (Revenants # 2) – This one started a bit slow for me but definitely picked up.  Pretty great second book of […]

Leave a Reply

