TGIF!

Author Block Party: If you could gather a handful of authors to hang out with, who would you choose?

JK Rowling – two words:  Ron Weasley.  LOL.  I simply cannot say enough how much I love the Harry Potter series(Ron in particular).  I’ve said it before, I wish I had even a 1/3 of her talent.  She’s created a world I love so much that I wouldn’t even know where to begin with my questions.  I cannot wait the start of early access to Pottermore!!! 

Meg Cabot – again two words:  Michael Moscovitz.  Did she base this character off of someone??  Is he single??  OMG.  I absolutely loved the entire Princess Diaries series.  Constant laugh out loud moments and I dare you not to fall in love with Michael, I truly don’t think it’s possible.  Though if she came to the party she might hate me because I doubt I would talk about anything other than how awesome Michael is. . . hmm. . . .

 Nicholas Sparks – How does he do it?  It doesn’t matter which book I’m readying, if it’s by him I’m going to cry.  Heck, I even cried during his book about his brother.  This man can write.

 Jennifer Crusie – As much as Mr Sparks’ books make me cry, hers make me laugh.  I have a feeling hanging out with her would be a blast. 😛

Myra McEntire – I’ve just finished reading “Hourglass” a few days ago.  (Review coming soon!)  Total girl crush.  LOVED LOVED LOVED this book.  Maybe if she came to my party I could get a few hints for the next book??

~Maggie

JK Rowling–of course.  But I don’t know if “hang out” would be the appropriate term.  I think I would have to lock her in a small room w/ tea & scones while I pick her brain (all very non-sociopathic, I assure you, please don’t call the authorities).   There are just so many questions.  I would need at least three days & maybe a vat of veritaserum.

Meg Cabot–I’m sensing a pattern here (great minds think alike, huh, mags?).  I follow her on twitter and facebook & she is just the most genuinely funny & silly person.  Even if she had not created some of my favorite characters of all time (Chaz, Michael M., Lizzy, Tina Hakim Baba…), I would want to hang out with her based solely on her personality.

Diana Peterfreund–She wrote the “Secret Society Girl” books & invented Poe and George Harrison Prescott, hubba hubba.  Plus, I’ve read her blog and think she would be a lot of fun to hang out with.  Maybe I could convince her to write some more SSG books…

Sarah Dessen–It took me a while to read her books.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but what I got in the first book I read, “This Lullaby,” was characters that were flawed but real, which immediately impelled me to read several more of her books, and I have to say that I’m glad I took the plunge.

Maureen Johnson–This woman, whose books include “Suite Scarlett” and “Girl at Sea” is a seriously funny YA writer.  If you follow her on twitter, you understand just how unique she is.  She is all over the place & so unpredictable & random, plus she’s always going some place fantastic, so maybe our hanging out would take place somewhere exotic.

Jasper Fforde–you want to talk about unique?  This man wrote the book.  Literally.  If you’ve read the “Thursday Next” books by him, you would understand.  Rarely I have read something so totally engrossing and distinctive as his books.  His books are very smart and funny and original in a way, but still felt familiar, like something I would have dreamt. 

~Dixie

2 thoughts on “TGIF!

  1. Anja Kasap August 12, 2011 at 10:49 am Reply

    I picked Jasper Fforde too! I’d love to see what he is like in person and just hang out with him.

  2. dixie August 18, 2011 at 1:49 pm Reply

    he’s phenomenal. i love true originality. jasper is da man.

Leave a Reply

