Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Calla is the alpha female of a shape-shifting wolf pack. She is destined to marry Ren Laroche, the pack’s alpha male. Together, they would rule their pack together, guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But then, Calla saves a beautiful human boy, who captures her heart. Calla begins to question everything – her fate, her existence, and her world and the orders the Keepers have asked her to follow. She will have to make a choice. But will she follow her heart if it means losing everything, including her own life?

Calla Tor is a Guardian, both human and wolf, who is an alpha female (yay!) of the Nightshade pack and one of the protectors of the Keeper’s sacred places.  Keeper’s are witches/warlocks that, in exchange for the protection provided for all the needs of the Guardians, as well as “rule” over them with one Keeper leading each pack of wolves, are ruling with iron fists.  (Sometimes demanding services that are should not be necessary or required.)  Calla is to be mated to Ren, an Alpha of the Bane pack who, along with Cal, was chosen to lead a new pack to blend the two existing packs for the start of a new, young pack to aid in protection from the Searchers (other witches that are supposed to be the bad guys).

While on a rotation Calla sees a human in danger of being killed by a bear.  Breaking all rules she saves him.  Moving on, she thinks it’s the last she has seen of him, but guess who’s the new kid at school??  Enter Shay.  He doesn’t know that humans are the low man at the school with the packs and the keeper children ruling the roost and he continues to get into situations that test the alpha in Ren, especially when it comes to Calla.

I love that in the book they characters weren’t mainly humans with wolves thrown in.  It was a wolf world with a few humans thrown in so you quickly learned a lot more about the pack. (Also, happy about the girl power with Calla being an alpha.)  I know some people say she doesn’t stand up enough when she is supposed to be an alpha, but that’s the point of a pack.  You do what is best for the pack as a whole, which I think came across perfectly.  I’m tired about reading whining girls that can’t or won’t do anything.  Who says we can’t just because we are female?? (Of course I’m lumping myself into this category even though I’m almost 30, hmmm…) Calla doesn’t whine to everyone about how hard her life is, she deals with it.

There are so many details I need to say about this book to actually get my point across but I honestly don’t know how to do it without giving everything away.  Suffice it to say, my brief description above does not do this book justice.  If you’ve read any of my reviews you know I don’t like love triangles when a winner isn’t clearly shown.  Well, I’m going to eat my words, because I love Ren AND Shay.  Though I do have a favorite (I wasn’t sure till I read the prequel novella about Shay) but I am definitely TEAM REN!!!!!  I reserve the right to change this decision based on the next book but I’m going with my gut on this one. . .

This book definitely ends on a cliff hanger, so be warned if you are new to the series as well get both books at once!!  Nightshade has been on my “to be read” list for awhile so I’m a bit behind on the review scene but I have so much to catch up on I waited till the second book came out.  Thank God I did because I’m going start it right now!!

TEAM   REN!!!!!!!!!

Pecans: 4/5

~Maggie

2 thoughts on “Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

  1. Tee September 5, 2011 at 2:51 pm Reply

    Oh Mags, I was sooooo Team Ren all the way. Shay kinda bugged me. Such a fun book!

    • Gone Pecan September 5, 2011 at 3:07 pm Reply

      After reading Wolfsbane and the short story the came before Nightshade I’m 100% Team Ren. Shay’s a DB.

Leave a Reply

