TGIF

Book Disappointments: Have you ever come across a book you were so stoked to read, but it failed miserably in your eyes?

Catcher in The Rye is a much beloved book.  One of the few books that one “should” read that I actually have read.  An American classic.  Some might say, the Great American Novel. I did not like it.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  The book itself was not bad or badly written.  It was simply boring.  In fact, when I read it and discussed it with a friend who says the book is his favorite, I believe I mentioned that it was called a novel, but it was more a rather long character piece.  Nothing happens.  Holden was not particularly sympathetic and kinda whiney. Why are people are so enamored with this book?  I guess you can say, I just don’t get it.  Eh.

7 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Anne September 16, 2011 at 10:14 am Reply

    I really liked Catcher in the Rye but I can see how it might not be for everybody.

    • Gone Pecan September 16, 2011 at 10:35 am Reply

      i think it was just that it wasn’t what i was expecting.

  2. Tee September 16, 2011 at 11:53 am Reply

    I hated that one! I felt like I must have missed something since everyone loves it, but no, I just hated it.

    • dixie September 16, 2011 at 3:26 pm Reply

      good to see i’m not alone, ha!

  3. Book Crook Liza September 16, 2011 at 4:21 pm Reply

    I wasn’t much of a fan of this book as well…

  4. Alissa September 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm Reply

    Aw, that’s a shame. I really enjoyed this one. I liked it because it didn’t have a convoluted plot like other classics.

    • Gone Pecan September 19, 2011 at 3:45 pm Reply

      see, the reason i didn’t like it was because it felt like there was no plot at all.

Leave a Reply

