Spooktacular Reads: Which books do you consider festive Halloween reads? Which stories have chilled you to the bone?

Sponsored by Ginger at Greadsbooks.com

I’m not a big fan of horror.  Weirdly, I liked it a lot more when I was younger, maybe because it seemed all the more outrageous and unlikely.  But these days, as an adult who understands just how strange and scary this world actually is, horror stories are less than entertaining.  I couldn’t even get through the whole book, What The Night Knows by Dean Koontz, for my book club.  I had to stop reading it for a little while and watch Nick, Jr. or something to make myself feel better. 

When I did read horror stories, two authors were my favorites.  Stephen King and Christopher Pike.  Granted, not all of their work are masterpieces, but these two stories below, Carrie and Remember Me are pretty great representations. 

Carrie: To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.

But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her. (from Goodreads)

Remember Me: She won’t let them forget…Shari Cooper wakes up dead. The last thing she can remember is falling from a balcony during her friend’s party. Her death has been ruled a suicide, but Shari knows she was murdered. All of her closest friends are now suspects. As she tries to find her killer from the other side, she discovers her friends may not have been so loyal to her after all. Now, Shari is not just out for justice, she’s out for revenge…. (from Goodreads) (YA)

3 thoughts on “Spooktacular Reads: Which books do you consider festive Halloween reads? Which stories have chilled you to the bone?

  1. Shannon @ Books Devoured October 28, 2011 at 9:44 am Reply

    I have not read Carrie but I did see the movie. I love Stephen King though. I used to read Christopher Pike books when I was younger too and I remember them being scary but not too much. I think you are right about it not bothering us as much when we are younger because it seems so silly then. Like none of that stuff could ever happen. As adults, we know more of what the world is capable of and that is Scary for sure!

    • Gone Pecan October 28, 2011 at 9:55 am Reply

      the movie was great, too, but of course, not as good as the book. likewise other of his books, like the shining (incredible), delores claiborne (SOO MUCH BETTER!)…

  2. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books October 28, 2011 at 8:17 pm Reply

    These books seem properly creepy! I’ve never read either so thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

