Top 10 Books I had Strong Emotions over

 

 brought to you by the women at The Broke and The Bookish

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling– Those of you that check out our Top 10s might notice a pattern here. . .I love this series, so I guess that it shouldn’t shock anyone it’s on this list too. . .I can’t tell you how much I was crying while reading this book, not just because it was the end but because Ron and Hermoine FINALLY kiss, you find out about Snape whom we all loved to hate until then and because Harry willing to give up everything  for everyone else to live. . .at the end when he is talking to his parents?!  UGH.  I’m getting teary eyed just writing this. . .Can you imagine what a blubbering idiot I’m going to be when I can finally get to the park in Orlando?! ~Maggie

 2. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– OMG how I loved this book.  I laughed, I cried. . .thank God Dixie told me to read it 😛 ~Maggie

 3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins– I’m including the whole series because the whole thing was that great. . .though I reacted more to the first two books, can’t wait to see how the movie comes out! ~Maggie

 4. Against the Rules by Linda Howard – I don’t want to spoil this one for someone who hasn’t read it. . .it’s an older book and of course the leading alpha man is damaged, but when he breaks down and cries because he thinks she left?  UGH ~Maggie

 5. The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa – I’m including this series even though I’m still reading it because it changed my mind about fairy books.  This is the first series with them that I actually like and now if I see something that sounds interesting but has fairies in it I don’t just walk away. . .I actually take the time to try and read it. ~Maggie

 6. Princess Diaries Series by Meg Cabot – oh where can I find me a Michael Moscovitz?  No really…where can I find one?  Because if you know a guy that reminds you of him, he’s single and over 21 let me know!

 7. The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell – I have mentioned this book before.  I am so glad I took the plunge to read it because if I had known it was a “Christian” book before, I would not have even picked up a copy.  Not that I have anything against Christian books or that I’m not a Christian, but I don’t want to be preached to…but this book did not do that.   And it really was a love story that wasn’t like all the others I’d read.  ~Dixie.

 8. Couldn’t I Start Over by Jean Thessman – this is an older YA book, from the 80’s (GASP!), but I’ve read it so often, it seems timeless.  Parts of it break my heart and parts of it fill my soul.  It’s amazing what books can do for us, isn’t it? ~Dixie

 9. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte –I hate this book.  I hate this movie.  There is nothing you can say that will affect my opinion about these two people, Katherine and Heathcliff, who are so incredibly stubborn and selfish.  They totally belong together. ~Dixie

 10. Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin – The blurb on the back of the book fascinated me.  A woman sleeps with her best friend’s fiancé.  How could you have anything but sympathy for the best friend?  How would this end well?  Surely, only a horrid person would do something so despicable.  And yes, what she did was horrible, but the story of the hows and whys and the reader coming to realize the heroine is not always the perfect person who makes the exact correct decisions every time (like most chick lit books these days make you think is possible).  We’re all fallible.  We all make mistakes.  And sometimes it means not doing the right thing.  LOVE THIS BOOK!  (The movie, not so much.) ~Dixie

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I had Strong Emotions over

  1. megan November 1, 2011 at 3:02 pm Reply

    So true about the Iron Fey series-these are the first fairy books I have enjoyed as well. And The Sky is Everywhere? Loved it. Here’s my list http://wp.me/pzUn5-BC

    • Gone Pecan November 1, 2011 at 3:47 pm Reply

      I’ll check it out!! ~Maggie

  2. Tee November 1, 2011 at 3:07 pm Reply

    I love that we have four of the same books on our lists. It just reinforces our total brilliance. Do I need to read The Iron King? I really hate fairies. Maybe I’ll try it.

    • Gone Pecan November 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm Reply

      Of course we are brilliant!! I say try the first book. . .I really hate them too (literally would put a book back down even if it sounded good) but everyone kept talking about this series so I tried and I really like the story. Now, don’t get me wrong, its taking me longer to read these then a normal series which I am blaming on the fairies but if you don’t like it I guess you hate them more than me. 😛 ~Maggie

  3. Amy @ bookgoonie November 1, 2011 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Love Harry Potter & Hunger Games.

    • Gone Pecan November 1, 2011 at 4:48 pm Reply

      I’d be more worried if you didn’t 😛 ~Maggie

  4. Brie November 1, 2011 at 9:06 pm Reply

    What is “The Sky is Everywhere” about? You made me curious… I saw Something Borrowed but I wasn’t impressed, the hero’s a jerk and a pushover and the heroine is a crappy friend, the only likeable character was the the heroine’s friend (can’t remember his name, the guy from The Office), and I kind of wanted them to end up together but mostly was glad to see that he went to London and escaped all the insanity! I’m not so sure about the book because even though I’m sure it would be much better than the movie, the main conflict will remain the same and I have an issue with almost every single one of the characters…

    • Gone Pecan November 1, 2011 at 9:10 pm Reply

      I’m not a fan of something borrowed either, but something blue was good. Dixie is the SOBO fan. You should read SKy! It’s about a girl who’s sister died. If you don’t laugh and cry by the end I don’t know what to say! ~Maggie

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Dixie November 2, 2011 at 8:07 am

        it also has a lot of romance in it, brie. you will LOVE it.

      • Brie November 2, 2011 at 8:18 am

        I’ll check it out the! Thanks for the rec.

    • Dixie November 2, 2011 at 8:06 am Reply

      aside from the actors, who did a great job, the movie itself was horrible &, yes, it did have a lot in common with the book, it just wasn’t the same. rachel in the movie is GOOFY, rachel in the book is not. the book is MUCH MUCH better than the movie.

      • Brie November 2, 2011 at 8:22 am

        I might read it just because I’m curious and it’s such a popular book after all. I did like the actress who plays Rachel, she’s in that new show Once Upon a Time, it’s sooooo good! You need to watch it, it’s on ABC on Sundays, I think… ;-D

      • Dixie November 2, 2011 at 9:25 am

        i love gennifer goodwin! and the guy who plays dex, hubba hubba! i have once upon a time taped, i just have to get to it! 🙂

      • Dixie November 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

        by the way, i love all of Emily Giffin’s books. you should try them all. but if you read something borrowed, you have to read something blue, just because it’s about darcy. all of her books kind of tie together, but not really.

      • Brie November 3, 2011 at 8:55 am

        OMG! The guy who plays Dex also plays Tucker in one of those Nora Roberts’ Lifetime crappy movies based on her books, but Tucker is my all-time favorite Roberts’ hero!!!

  5. […] Nov 1 – Top 10 Books I had Strong Emotions Over 8. Post You Wished Got A Little More […]

Leave a Reply

