TGIF

Gateway Books: Which particular books opened you up to a new genre?

The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa – like our Top 10 Tuesday says, I hate fairies. . .or I did till I finally buckled down and tried this series after hearing so many good things about it.  I’m still reading them, they are taking longer to read which I feel is because I’m still not 100% about fairy books but it’s a great story.  There are a few more books I’ve marked as “to read” that have fairies now and it really is because of these books. ~Maggie

As a romance reader, I tend to pick up things in the store that interest me, as the back of this book did.  It wasn’t until I returned home and started reading it did I realize that it was a historical romance.  I read historical romances when I was young, but it had been quite a while and the ones that I had read before were about America, either colonial or old west.  But this was about Regency England!  Just like Pride and Prejudice!  And while P&P was great, we didn’t get a learn a lot about the time because Ms. Austen lived then, so she didn’t have to explain the social customs, her readers would have understood them.  So, picking up this book really opened my eyes and helped me to understand the complex rules for this time period.  And, since this was book four in a series, of course I had to go back and read the rest.  Then I read another of Lisa Kleypas’ series, the Wallflowers, and now I pretty much grab anything to do with Regency England.  So, thanks, Ms. Kleypas!  You’ve made a historical romance reader out of me, again. ~dixie

4 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books November 4, 2011 at 11:26 am Reply

    I absolutely adore Lisa Kleypas – her novels are fun to read! The Wallflowers series is one of my favorites 🙂

    I have yet to read the Iron Fey series, although I really, really want to.

    Happy Friday!

  2. Dixie November 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm Reply

    her contemporary series, starting with sugar daddy, is on my TBR, but i love all her other books, too

  3. Amy @ bookgoonie November 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Love The Iron Fey. But I would never have picked up a fairy book of any kind. A friend said you gave to read Lament, but I didn’t really know what it was about before hand.

    • Gone Pecan November 5, 2011 at 3:30 pm Reply

      I’ll have to check it. . .I’m going to read Iron Knight this week hopefully! ~Maggie

Leave a Reply

