Top 10 Tuesday

Brought to you once again by the number 10 and

The Broke and The Bookish

Ten Books That I Read That Were Outside Of My Comfort Zone (whether you liked them or not) 

  1. Emily Giffin – pick a book, any book.  Almost (or maybe all, it’s been awhile since I’ve read them) involve cheating.  I do not like cheating books.  The last one made me so mad I stopped half way through.  I want to read interesting stories or cute romance stuff, not cheating books.  I did finish all of the others, but mostly because I wanted to see the movie and compare (book won as usual).  SOBO and Something Blue were ok but for me everything went downhill after that.  Lesson learned:  No more cheating books! ~m
  2. Any Harry Potter book – I scoffed at Harry Potter for years.  How silly I was.  I often get frustrated at people who say they don’t like something that they’ve never experienced.  I live for experiences, so I am hypocritical in this regard because I waited for YEARS to finally read the books that everyone else LOVED.  If I hadn’t had such a pleasant experience with Harry Potter, I probably wouldn’t have read Twilight, or any other MAJOR books that everyone else loved.  Sometimes, the masses do get it right.  Sometimes, it really is as good as everyone else says.  Just because I’m not the first to find it, doesn’t make it beneath me.  ~d
  3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett  – Everyone said to read it, so I did.  It was a decent book, but again I like happier stories.  This one made me cry and not in a good way.  I more than likely wouldn’t have read this if they wouldn’t have made the movie.  ~m
  4. The Horse Whisperer – sorry, this is about the MOVIE (although there is a book by Nicholas Evans).  I did not want to watch this movie, I thought it would be saccharine and angsty and just not something I would like.  I was on the edge of my seat during this movie.  I loved it so much and I am so glad my friends dragged me to it.
  5. Vision in White by Nora Roberts – I was actually kind of embarrassed to buy this book.  I mean, it’s Nora Roberts, everyone knows she writes these horrible, sappy love stories…ugh.  Boy, was I wrong.  She’s the top selling female author of all time FOR A REASON, DIXIE!  Of course, I then had to go and read any book I could get my hands on that she wrote.  She really is a gifted story teller and her characters are entertaining and her stories are thorough and well-researched. ~d
  6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – The premise of this book sounded downright depressing.  Seriously.  Kids are being forced to fight to the death? Yeah, ooo-kay, sign me right up (she says sarcastically). This new trend of dystopian books, utterly dismal and, um, there can’t be kissing in there cause everyone is like, blind or has one leg and there isn’t kissing in a dystopian society. Yeah, sometimes I’m dense. ~d
  7. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold  – This one made me cry, A LOT.  I don’t want to say it was a good cry but the story made up for it.  I was really shocked that I liked this one. ~m
  8. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult  – OMG.  How do I describe how mad I was after I finished this one?!  My sister-in-law recommended this one promising it was a great story.  WTF?!  Not cool.  No offense to anyone who reads and love Picoult, but she is not for me. ~m
  9. This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen – Yet another author I was embarrassed to try.  I mean, my cousin’s 14 year old daughter cites Ms. Dessen as her favorite author.  And the book is for teens, it can’t be enlightening or entertaining…head desk.  I am coming to realize that I am very judgmental.  Hmmm…must work on this. ~d
  10. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – um, where do I begin?  Vampires and werewolves I can deal with (huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan here), but all these other invented creatures, they kind of creep me out.  Plus, will you look at the size of this book?  It’s freaking huge.  Maybe I’ll just read a couple chapters…Yes, Dixie, wrong AGAIN.  ~d
11 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. trish November 8, 2011 at 9:40 am Reply

    Normally I love a book like The Help, but I just couldn’t get beyond the dialect she wrote it in. Ugh. Dialect is something you HEAR not read. It all just felt too forced.

    • Gone Pecan November 8, 2011 at 11:52 am Reply

      I was ok with the dialect, but I guess that is bc I live in the south, I’m used to it 😛 BUUUUTTT everyone was like “Did you get to the pie?!? It was soo funny!!” I thought it was gross. ~Maggie

  2. melissa @ 1lbr November 8, 2011 at 10:16 am Reply

    Amen about reading books the masses loved! I had issues with that as well for a long time, but just because you don’t find it early, doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy it. Great list!

  3. Gone Pecan November 8, 2011 at 11:54 am Reply

    thanks!!!

  4. Amy @ bookgoonie November 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm Reply

    I was the same way about Dessen. Even though her covers are awesome, I totally judged them as cheap YA reads. I was so wrong.

    • Dixie November 8, 2011 at 1:51 pm Reply

      yeah, i am still kicking myself 🙂

  5. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books November 8, 2011 at 2:14 pm Reply

    I’m so glad that you love Harry Potter now! It’s such a great series 🙂

  6. Tee November 8, 2011 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Amen to Dessen! She really is a beautiful writer. Ans she writes such great characters, not just in the main heroines, or the swoony guys, but in the friends and parents, in everyone. Also, you and I were in the same boat on Harry Potter, as you know. I only read it because I gave in to Twilight somewhere between the release of Eclipse and Breaking Dawn and ended up enjoying the series. There’s a reason certain books are blockbusters, I guess. 🙂 And PS. If I hadn’t read a borrowed copy of My Sister’s Keeper I would have torn it up or thrown it out the window. Ugh!

    • Dixie November 9, 2011 at 8:13 am Reply

      you’re right, all of dessen’s characters are McAwesome (you like that word i just made up, spread it around, it’s totally fetch).

  7. Tee November 9, 2011 at 10:36 am Reply

    Ha! Making up words is the best. I may steal that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

