Top 10 Tuesday!

Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf For The Longest Time But I’ve Never Read

  1.  Night Witch by Jack Priest – Holy crap on a cracker doesn’t this cover creep you out?  Maybe that’s what is taking me so long to read it. . . I’m getting there.  In fact it’s moved from the TBR pile to the smaller I’m going to read these this month pile. 😛
  2. Charlaine Harris – Sookie Stackhouse series – I know what you are thinking. . . why haven’t I read these yet. . .well I got lazy.  I bought the first 6 and then I realized I needed to stop buying all of my books.  I read such a high volume of books a year that I needed to supplement my book intake by going to the library and checking out ebay.  Since then they’ve just sat in my TBR pile waiting for a time when I could read them back to back.  I’m slowly hacking away at the ones that have been there the longest so maybe for Christmas. . .
  3. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown – I was so excited for this book I went and bought it new at the store, but then I went all crazy with the cheese whiz with YA and have yet to crack the cover.  SIGH. 
  4. Predator, Evil, and Deadly Sins series’ by Allison Brennan – My mother is a big reader as well (one day I will grow up to be like her, retired and able to read all day long ) and she let me borrow these but told me she was in “no rush” to get them back.  I’m taking her at her word since I’ve had them for over a year and haven’t read a single one.  (They do sound great though!)
  5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I LOVE this movie (I don’t care that Dixie likes the miniseries one, I love the movie with Keira Knightley.  That part when Darcy confesses his love and his voice catches?!  OMG.)  I got this one to prove to myself I could read a classic and because I wanted to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I guess I’m really showing myself huh?
  6. Wild Ride by Jennifer Crusie – As I previously stated I started to supplement by books via library and ebay.  I like to collect Jennifer Crusie because she is just so dang funny but since I bought it I can read it whenever I want, so to the TBR pile it stays.
  7. Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead – Technically these are no longer on my shelf.  My friend let me borrow these but I felt so bad about not reading them quickly that I had to give them back.  They are still on my list, but I will get them myself when I can start them.
  8. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – EVERYONE says how awesome this one is. . .but I still haven’t gotten there.  Sorry!
  9. The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney – DITTO.
  10. Shade series by Jeri Smith-Ready –Ditto squared??
12 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday!

  1. trish November 15, 2011 at 8:56 am Reply

    Pride and Prejudice is a lot of fun! And of course you can’t beat Dan Brown for a good weekend read.

    • Gone Pecan November 15, 2011 at 11:01 am Reply

      I know! Maybe these can be moved to I need to read by the end of the month as well. . .or at least the end of December! ~M

  2. Kelly November 15, 2011 at 9:10 am Reply

    I can’t seem to get in to Austen’s books, but I loved Pride and Prejudice! I haven’t read the Lost Symbol, but I did enjoy two of his other novels (before they cast Tom Hanks as the lead in major film adaptations).

    Vampire Academy is one of my favourite series! I would definitely recommend it 🙂

    My Top Ten Tuesday

    • Gone Pecan November 15, 2011 at 11:02 am Reply

      I loved The Da Vinci Code sooooo much. . .and I’ve yet to watch the movie. I just don’t see Tom Hanks as the lead. I saw someone more like Russel Crowe so I didn’t watch. ~M

  3. Tee November 15, 2011 at 10:58 am Reply

    I’m am going to cry. You HAVE TO read Jellicoe Road (so we can talk about Jonah Griggs) and then Shade (so we can talk about Logan and Zachary). Also, P&P is as amazing as everyone says it is, of course. I didn’t love The Lost Symbol as much as I enjoyed the first two books, but it’s still an interesting read.

    • Gone Pecan November 15, 2011 at 11:03 am Reply

      I know! I’m going to read it soon I promise!! I’ll email for discussions ASAP. 🙂 ~M

  4. Laura BurgandyIce November 15, 2011 at 11:12 am Reply

    The movies follow a lot of Pride & Prejudice word for word. I reread it this past year (I know, I’m nuts, but I needed a relaxing love story to get my mind of accounting – worked perfectly) and it was really fun comparing the different movies with the book. Jane Austen does a few of the great scenes even better than the really great movies. I liked her finish, especially.

  5. Lady Kell of Kincavel November 15, 2011 at 5:11 pm Reply

    My favourite Southern Vampire book is #4 – there’s a shower scene in there I guarantee you’ll re-read. 😉 Pride and Prejudice is great, but Northanger Abbey is my favourite Austen. 🙂
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post. 🙂

  6. nea barabea (@neabarabea) November 15, 2011 at 5:26 pm Reply

    I still need to read The Lost Simbol as well! God it’s been 2 years now. Damn me. I will. Soon. Also the Sookie Stakehouse serie I said I will read, I just haven’t found the time. Yet.
    The Mockingbirds – I’ve seen it all over the blogs and also mentionings in the books. It’s classic, right? I should read it 🙂

    • Gone Pecan November 16, 2011 at 9:57 am Reply

      Looks like we all need to clean up our TBR piles. LOL ~ M

  7. Shannon (Giraffe Days) November 16, 2011 at 11:06 am Reply

    I’m with you on P&P the movie – I really like the 1996 miniseries, but the actors are all way too old and while I’ll own up to doing P&P marathons with friends back in uni, it’s so loooong! I love the movie, it’s so well filmed, the acting is great, I love Mr Darcy so much more in it – that scene in the rain, the sexual tension is so strong! Really brought it to life I thought.

    Here’s my list.

    • Gone Pecan November 16, 2011 at 1:34 pm Reply

      Darcy in the movie was HOT! ~M

Leave a Reply

