Top 10 Tuesday: Winter TBR Lists

 

Brought to you by: The Broke and The Bookish

I don’t know about you guys, but as I’ve stated before I have to supplement my reading with library books to cut costs. . .especially if it’s a new author and I’m not 100 % sure about them yet . . .well about a week ago I went from waiting on 11 books to waiting on 32 (I guess their new budget was approved :P).  Here are a few they added to my list. ~Maggie

  

1. Bedbugs by Ben Winters – Check the blurb, sounds terrifically creepy and great to snuggle up on a cold day and read.

2. The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff – If you read The Replacement then you should want to read this one too!

3. Crossed by Ally Condie – I loved Matched and couldn’t wait for the second book even though Dixie wasn’t a fan. 😦

4. Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg – Lonely Hearts (I ❤ the Beatles!) was great so I know I like the author. . .now you add in Pride and Prejudice?!  I know I’m going to love this one without seeing a single page.

5. The Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare – Does this need an explanation??

6. Fury by Elizabeth Miles – give me any book with a mythology twist and I’m reading!!  (Side note:  If you know of any others coming out let me know ASAP!!)

7. Possess by Gretchen McNeil – see my # 1.  EEP!!!

8. Third Grave Dead Ahead – Darynda Jones – This series has turned out to be very entertaining.  If you like the Stephanie Plum series you should like this one. 🙂 Review of First Grave on the Right here and Second Grave on the Left here.

9. Hereafter by Tara Hudson  – This one totally got picked for the cover.  After reading the blurb, I’m 100% in.

10. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – This one just sounded right up my alley.  Here’s hoping!

Here’s my list, a little bit of old, a little bit of new.  Looks like it’s going to be an entertaining winter, especially since most of my shows go on hiatus during this time!  🙂 ~Dixie

 

1. Glow by Amy Kathleen Riley –sounds kind of like Across the Universe by Beth Revis, but the cover alone is what go to me.  I started ATU, but didn’t finish it because I liked it and wanted to wait until the rest of the books are out.  I’m insane, I know, you can think it.  Here’s hoping Glow is just as good.

2. Damned by Chuck Palahniuk – about an 11 year old girl who inexplicably finds herself in hell.  It sounds very funny.  My first CP book & I’m looking forward to it. 🙂 If this works out, I should continue reading his other books.

 3. Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins – I really enjoyed Hex Hall, the first book in the series about a witch who is sent to a sort of reform school for Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters. 

4. Explosive 18 by Janet Evanovich – Um, no need for explanation here…I gotta find out who went with Stephanie to Hawaii.  Plus, Lula. 🙂 You can read my review of Smokin’ 17 here.

5. Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale – Comes out at the end of January.  LOVED Austenland, which is about a woman who is obsessed with Pride and Prejudice &, of course, Mr. Darcy, to whom no man can compare and takes a trip to England to immerse herself in Regency England, with actors playing the roles of people from that time period.  This is a sequel, sort of, with new characters and a bit of a mystery…CAN’T WAIT!  I love anything related to Pride and Prejudice or Jane Austen and Shannon Hale is a great author.  Another great book by her is a children’s book called Princess Academy.  It’s a little dry, but very well written. I wouldn’t recommend it for children, but I, as an adult, really enjoyed it.

6. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare – The first book in the Infernal Devices series, The Clockwork Angel, was beyond amazing.  It’s a prequel to the Mortal Instruments series, but kind of completely different.  And I love a good historical book.  Plus, it’s Jem on the cover.  What I like best about these series is that they never seem to end.  That’s just fine with me! 

7. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – I was sooo jealous of everyone who received advanced copies for review, because, helloo!, Anna and the French Kiss was superb and if Lola is half as good, I will not want it to end.  It’s sitting on my coffee table waiting for me as I type this!

8. Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis – The last book in the Lucky Harbor series, which follows three sisters who inherit an inn.  This book is about Chloe, the wild-child, free-spirited one, and Sheriff Sawyer, all tall, dark & brooding.  Le Sigh.  In my head, I’m doing the happy dance just thinking about it. 🙂 

9. Baby, Don’t Go by Stephanie Bond – One of my favorite authors, this is the final book in a series about brothers rebuilding their hometown, which was destroyed in a tornado ten years ago, and because it’s being rebuilt mostly by men, they have to truck in the women.  It’s a great, funny premise and I really enjoyed the first two books (and the short story prequel), so I’m anxious about getting to this one, which is about the eldest brother, Marcus, who finds the women in town to be a distraction, even though it brought love to his brothers’ lives.

10. Some Like it Hot by Louisa Edwards – book two in the Rising Star Chef series, this book is about the younger Lunden brother, Danny and “Eva the Diva,” who is in charge of the contest and whose father started the competition.  We didn’t find out enough about Danny in the first book, Too Hot to Touch, other than that he is the herione of that book, Jules’ best friend and Max’s younger brother.  But Edwards is quickly becoming one of my go-to authors, so I’m excited.  You can read my review for the first book here. 

We hope ya’ll have a great winter!  Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Winter TBR Lists

  1. Tee November 29, 2011 at 10:04 am Reply

    Gahhhh! How did I forget Midnight in Austenland??? I already love it, of course.

  2. Dixie November 29, 2011 at 10:13 am Reply

    well, you can’t be expected to remember EVERYTHING. That’s why I utilize Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

