TGIF: Book to Film

Thanks again to Ginger at Greadsbooks.com

Book to Movie: Which book turn movie do you feel did the best adaptation? What about the worst?

Best: BBC version of Pride and Prejudice – It’s several hours long and I can just get lost in it.  Everything about it is perfect, from the costumes to the actors portraying the characters.  I especially love the creepiness of Mr. Collins.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like the Kiera Knightly version, as well, especially Mr. Darcy (hubba hubba), Lady Catherine and the part where he proclaims his love in the rain, very well done.  But I have a particular fondness and affection for the former one.  But, honestly, any version will do.

just look at his face in this picture, with the flared nostrils...ugh

Worst:  I would love to know how many people will pick Twilight.  There is just so much squickiness about it.  I don’t know where to begin…maybe with the horrid make up on the vampires or Jasper’s hair, or, unfortunately, the acting.  But it’s the direction that is the worst. These actors can act; I’ve been witness to it, but not in this movie. It’s not a coincidence that all the movies have gotten better since that first one, and that is because Catherine Hardwicke is no longer at the helm.  I wanted so much to love this movie, but now I cannot even watch it without wincing.

~Dixie

Best:  Harry Potter. Does it shock you?  Didn’t think so. . Except for the first couple of films where the broom flying was a bit hokey they did a great job with this series.

Worst:  Twilight (just the first film). It hurt to watch how ackward they were in this one. The part that gets me everytime is the first time Edward smells her in Biology. Really?!  It looks more like she has a serious case of BO not that her smell is attractive to him.

~Maggie

8 thoughts on “TGIF: Book to Film

  1. Candice December 9, 2011 at 8:41 am Reply

    The BBC version of Pride and Prejudice is AWESOME! I agree that while the current Mr. Darcy (in the Kiera Knightly version) is gorgeous, there’s something classicly wonderful about Colin Firth being Mr. Darcy – and in general. All us girls in my 12th grade AP English class (there were only 6 of us I think) were swoony over him. Also, Twilight was awful.

    • Gone Pecan December 9, 2011 at 1:25 pm Reply

      I agree, Colin Firth should have his own international holiday.

  2. Tee December 9, 2011 at 10:33 am Reply

    Gah! It’s so hard to choose between Pride and Prejudice or the Harry Potter films! They’re all so good! You know what I think is an amazing book to film as well? To Kill a Mockingbird. That has to be one of the all-time best. I wonder how many people will pick Twilight. Is there a worse example? OMG and the picture where he’s covering his face? Hello awkward. It looks like he wants to hurl.

    • Gone Pecan December 9, 2011 at 11:29 am Reply

      I have not seen or read To Kill A Mockingbird. I guess I’m missing out 😛 ~M

      • Gone Pecan December 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm

        They are both, as Dane Cook would say, BA

  3. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) December 9, 2011 at 11:19 am Reply

    Harry Potter was adapted very well for the silver screen, I’d say. And while I don’t love it, Twilight is not half bad.

    • Gone Pecan December 9, 2011 at 11:28 am Reply

      Don’t get me wrong, I will still watch Twilight everytime it plays on TV but out of the series the first just didn’t cut it. ~M

      • Tee December 9, 2011 at 12:44 pm

        I know, it’s the most bizarre thing. My husband is always like, “Why do you go see the movies, THEN you make me buy them for you, but you say you hate them?” I can’t explain it. Why do I do these things? Maybe I just hope I was wrong about it and then I see it again and go, “Nope, I was right the first time.”

Leave a Reply

