Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting

The missing dead call to Violet. They want to be found.

Violet can sense the echoes of those who’ve been murdered—and the matching imprint that clings to their killers. Only those closest to her know what she is capable of, but when she discovers the body of a young boy she also draws the attention of the FBI, threatening her entire way of life.

As Violet works to keep her morbid ability a secret, she unwittingly becomes the object of a dangerous obsession. Normally she’d turn to her best friend, Jay, except now that they are officially a couple, the rules of their relationship seem to have changed. And with Jay spending more and more time with his new friend Mike, Violet is left with too much time on her hands as she wonders where things went wrong. But when she fills the void by digging into Mike’s tragic family history, she stumbles upon a dark truth that could put everyone in danger.

DD starts off with an ominous flash forward to Violet being held by an unknown killer after they find she has discovered where they have hidden a body.  After jumping back to the present we are now three months after the first book ended.  Violet is trying to get back to normal and deal with the echoes and imprints and Jay meets a new kid Mike and his younger socially awkward sister Megan.  They are new to town and because Jay is the perfect guy he goes out of his way to include them.  Violet starts to become a bit jealous of the time Jay is spending with Mike as they are not only a new couple but he is her best friend.  While dealing with her new found jealousy, Violet starts to test the waters so to speak with her powers more in this book.  After going on a shopping trip and discovering an echo coming from a shipping container near the dock she tries to phone in an anonymous tip to the police.  She receives several calls from a strange number and when she finally answers she realizes that the FBI has found out she was the one that made the call and they want to talk to her . . . (I see much potential here for the rest of the series 🙂 ).  I do have to say that the whole thing with the FBI was kind of off, at least to start.  What agent, tries to contact or approach a kid without parent supervision and basically harasses her into meeting them?  (One of my small complaints about the book.)

On top of dealing with the FBI, Violet is also getting several disturbing messages via notes, dead animals, and unknown calls.  When she believes she has figured out who is harassing her she tells Jay but he doesn’t believe her . . . 😦  I’m not ashamed to admit through this whole part of the book it almost broke my heart because she was just so crushed.  (BTW to me it was pretty obvious who was harassing her and they didn’t really try to throw you off of that, but I did doubt it once so the story was still pretty great. 🙂 )

I really liked this book; it was a great continuation to the series.  It didn’t fall into the second book syndrome I normally have though I did like the first book more which I think is based solely on there was no Rafe there. (I can’t really say where Rafe comes in without revealing to much in my opinion, go read!!!)  Jay is the most awesomest BF and I don’t want to see him get hurt.  BACK OFF RAFE.  I also loved that they followed the first book with the switching from Violet’s POV to her stalker.  Can’t wait for the next installment!!!

Pecans: 3.5/5

I have to say this book was a little harder for me to get into, but I still loved it.  I agree that the antagonist was obvious to me, but I can understand why it would be confusing for Violet.  I did like the FBI angle and am interested in seeing where this plot point will head in the next books.  I liked Rafe and it’s obvious he’s going to be vying for our Violet’s affections, but really, she cannot improve on Jay. 

~Dixie

One thought on “Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting

  1. […] The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting – We love these books. I need to know what is going to happen with Jay! Violet better be looking to tell Rafe where to […]

Leave a Reply

