Before I Die by Jenny Downham

Tessa has just months to live. Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, and drugs with excruciating side effects, Tessa compiles a list. It’s her To Do Before I Die list. And number one is Sex. Released from the constraints of “normal” life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up.
Tessa’s feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, and her new boyfriend, are all painfully crystallized in the precious weeks before Tessa’s time finally runs out.

Favorite Quote:  “It’s not fair.  I don’t want to die like this, not before I’ve even lived properly.”

There isn’t much to say about this book, or much you can do to spoil it, the title pretty much tells you everything you need to know.  I found this book while digging around on GoodReads (a new habit of mine) so I guess you could say this is a library find.  It sounded interesting enough so I picked it up.  After picking it up and opening the cover what do I see?

Wouldn’t you want to read it after seeing this??

Tessa is dying.  She has had cancer since she was 12 years old and now at 16 there is nothing more than can do.  She has created a bucket list of things she wants to do before she dies, hence the title.  First off, let me throw out a helpful hint:  DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IN PUBLIC.  Or if you really want to feel free but this one is a tear jerker and if you are anything like me you will look like a blubbering idiot on your lunch break and strangers will stare at you.  You follow Tessa as she tries drugs, falls in love, breaks the law, and generally has a lifetime of experiences in the span of a few months.  If you don’t laugh and cry then I don’t know what to tell you . . . this was a great read and a great success from my endless time spent on GoodReads. 

BTW, in case you were wondering, this is what was on the back cover. . .

This is why I prefer used/library books.  They have so much more character.

🙂

Pecans: 3.75/5

One thought on “Before I Die by Jenny Downham

  1. Top Ten Tuesday « Gone Pecan September 11, 2012 at 7:58 am Reply

    […] Before I Die by Jenny Downham – Ditto. (Review)  In fact someone else […]

Leave a Reply

