End of Year Survey ~Dixie

Sponsored by:  The Perpetual Pageturner

1. Best Book You Read In 2011? 

Kind of hard to decide, so here’s a list of books that I LOVED:

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Playing Dirty by Susan Andersen

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis

The Body Finder by  Kimberly Derting

2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?

Sadly, the book I was most disappointed in was by one of my favorite authors, Overbite by Meg Cabot, the sequel to Insatiable.  It felt rushed and just wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins.  I just picked it up from the library without hearing anything about it & really enjoyed it.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting.  LOVED IT!

5. Best series you discovered in 2011?

The Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis

Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

Fools Gold by Susan Mallery

Heist Society by Ally Carter

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?

Oh, Geez!  Where to begin?  Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, John Green, Susan Mallery, Maureen Johnson, Veronica Roth, Kimberly Derting, Jill Shalvis, Shannon Stacey, Melina Marchetta

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I’m not a big fan of horror or scary books (even though I used to be), so The Body Finder sat on my kitchen table for a while before I picked it up & devoured it.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?

Once again, The Body Finder, as well as Clockwork Prince.

9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?

Playing Dirty by Susan Andersen, which DID NOT disappoint!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?

11. Most memorable character in 2011? 

Jay from The Body Finder.  Sigh.  As well as Tris from Divergent and Sawyer from Head Over Heels.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?

I loved The Help by Kathryn Stockett and Where She Went by Gayle Forman.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011? 

Probably Divergent by Veronica Roth.  I just kept putting this book off, but when I finally decided to read it, it was pure gold.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read? 

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler and If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011? 

“All I can think about is how fucked up it would be for your life to end here, now. I mean I know that your life if fucked up no matter what now, forever. And I’m not dumb enough to think that I can undo that, that anyone can. But I can’t wrap my mind around the notion of you not getting old, having kids, going to Juilliard, getting to play that cello in front of a huge audience, so that they can get the chills the way I do every time I see you pick up your bow, every time I see you smile at me.”

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

“But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.”

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012? 

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare, Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis,  Divergent by Veronica Roth

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Um, definitely MOST OF Clockwork Prince.  Yeah.  And also, the part in If I Stay where Adam and Mia “play” each other.  So beautiful.

 Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2011 (optional)

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2011? 

Oh, definitely YACrush.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2010? 

Probably Playing Dirty by Susan Andersen because I loved the book so much.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog? 

We’re not known for being terribly deep, or anything, and we’re still in the early stages of our blog, so we don’t get a lot of in depth posts or comments…yet.

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

I’m not sure

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Honestly, I love doing all the memes Top 10 Tuesday (sponsored by The Broke and The Bookish) and TGIF (by G Reads).

6. Best moment of book blogging in 2011?

Just last week, I found a link from one of my favorite author’s website to a review I did of her book.  That was awesome. (Only Yours by Susan Mallery)

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Tuesday, Nov 1 – Top 10 Books I had Strong Emotions Over

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I wish someone would have commented on the kick-ass picture I posted of Cinna in the Hunger Games movie.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I am very glad that I finally started to utilize Goodreads in a way that helps me to keep track of what I’ve read and want to read.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

My Goodreads goal for 2011 was 125 books, which I totally surpassed, but I didn’t keep track of the books in the correct way, which is to add them to “currently reading” not “read”—My new goal is 150 books. I already have two down and it’s January 3rd!

Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2011 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2012?

I intend to read more Jane Austen.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2012?

Clockwork Princess and The Last Echo…for now

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2012?

Reading:  This year I want to read more popular books (it seems like every blog  is devoted to YA, and all the books look SOOO GOOD, but I don’t know if that’s really the case, or just that YA book bloggers are generally more excitable…hmmm…the chicken or the egg?).

Blogging:  I would like to have my reviews ready first thing in the morning, rather than noon or later. 🙂

~Dixie

4 thoughts on “End of Year Survey ~Dixie

  1. Tee January 3, 2012 at 6:49 pm Reply

    Aww you guys are so awesome! I love your blog! Also, your quotes totally gave me chills. Adam slays me every single time (and THAT’S why he’s on my list). 🙂

    • Gone Pecan January 3, 2012 at 7:14 pm Reply

      Well thanks for all you help ad for being such an awesome blogger!

  2. Candice January 4, 2012 at 9:39 am Reply

    As I commented on Maggie’s End of Year Survey, you guys have become one of my favorite blogs! I’m glad I found you and, to make you happy, I’m gonna go comment on your Cinna picture. 🙂

    • Dixie January 4, 2012 at 9:47 am Reply

      thanks, Candice! It’s nice to find people who share your point of view or like the same things you do. I enjoy reading your blog as well!

Leave a Reply

