TGIF: Book Resolutions for 2012

Brought to you by Ginger @ Greadsbooks.com

Maggie’s Reading Resolutions:

  • Read more stand alone books.  I tend to gravitate towards series because I love to follow characters but it’s also nice to just have one book and the story finish with no cliffhangers, etc.
  • Meet my reading goal I’ve set.  I joined Goodreads in July so I never set a reading goal for 2011 but I did set one for 2012.  I only committed to reading 100 books which I think I not only can complete but I can easily surpass.  (Here’s hoping I don’t fall short and someone rubs it in my face. :P)
  • Read the Sookie Stackhouse series.  I realize this goes against my first resolution in a way but I’ve been putting this one off for a long time and I need to buckle down and just read them already or at the very least read the six that I bought and are sitting in my TBR pile…
  • Speaking of which, clear up the TBR pile sitting at my house.  I’m sure I’m not alone in this but I have a compulsion to buy books and/or request them from the library.  I see them and think “I need this now!!!!” but I can’t read it now.  😦  Problem with buying them instead of borrowing them from a friend or the library is that there is no deadline to read it by therefore they get pushed back until you realized it’s been a year and you still haven’t cracked the cover!! UGH.  Hi I’m Maggie and I have a book addiction.  😛
  • Read at least one Jane Austen novel.  (specifically  Sense & Sensibility or Pride & Prejudice) I don’t have an excuse anymore I just need to do it.  I love love love the movies and you know the book is always better!
  • Attend BEA.  I’m extremely new to blogging as we have only started in July but I really want to go!!  I’ve heard a few (GREAT) things about it and would love to go. . .but I would like a buddy to go with since Dixie wouldn’t be able to go.  So this resolution might not be met this year.  😦
  • Get to know fellow bloggers and visit their blogs more often.  As I mentioned before we are new to the blog world which I find kind of being the new kid at a really cool school . . .everyone has been super nice to us so far but we haven’t quite memorized our class schedule.  Being as I work full time and I’m trying to sell my house I don’t get much time to play around on the internet right now so I’m not able to visit as many book blogs as I want to at the moment.  So maybe this resolution should be to sell my house??  Then I shall have much more free time for the blog world. 🙂

Dixie’s Reading Resolutions:

  • Try to read one book at a time.
  • If I’m not clicking with a book, give up and move on.
  • Books back to the library when they’re due, no renewing 3 and 4 times
  • Be more mindful of books I request from Netgalley, that they’re actually something I would normally read on my own
  • Read the books I get from Netgalley, instead of letting them fester in my account for months on end
  • Not to make any promises about reading a book that doesn’t seem interesting to me
  • Read Persuasion and Sense and Sensibility
  • Read the books that my book club assigns, and don’t wait until the week before because that never works
11 thoughts on “TGIF: Book Resolutions for 2012

  1. Tanya Patrice January 6, 2012 at 8:51 am Reply

    Awesome goals! I would love to go to BEA this year too and I’m a fellow newbie blogger (3 months now).

    • Gone Pecan January 6, 2012 at 9:10 am Reply

      Well maybe we can get a few newbies together and tackle as a group? 🙂 I’ve got to see how much $$ it would all be. ~Maggie

  2. Candice January 6, 2012 at 10:47 am Reply

    Ooh, I just looked up BEA and SO want to go now! Also, all of y’all’s resolutions sound kind of like mine. Hopefully we can all keep them!

    • Dixie January 6, 2012 at 1:03 pm Reply

      fingers crossed, Candice. we’re all a work in progress. 🙂

  3. Tee January 6, 2012 at 11:56 am Reply

    I love your goals ladies. I too let my books sit on Net Galley until they expire or completely disappear. I must get better with that. Also, I’d love to go to BEA but I’m thinking it’s never going to happen. Go Maggie! Go for all of us!

    • Dixie January 6, 2012 at 1:04 pm Reply

      she’ll definitely be the “go-to” conference goer, at least for the forseeable future. kids, you gotta love ’em, but you can’t take ’em anywhere. 🙂

  4. La Toya January 6, 2012 at 12:05 pm Reply

    @Maggie Yes!! I plan to attend BEA this year as well!!!

    @Dixie Nothing wrong with putting a book down no matter how far you get!!

    • Gone Pecan January 6, 2012 at 12:19 pm Reply

      La Toya – do you have info on it? I only know really what’s on the site. ~Maggie

    • Dixie January 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm Reply

      i feel like such a failure if i don’t finish a book!

  5. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books January 6, 2012 at 1:15 pm Reply

    I need to work on whittling my TBR pile down too because it’s RIDICULOUS! I can’t even look at it or think about it without cringing. I’m definitely hoping to have some progress with that.

    And you should go to BEA! I want to go but I won’t be here 😦 Maybe in 2012?

    • Gone Pecan January 6, 2012 at 1:51 pm Reply

      I do want to go, just not sure it’s in the cards for this year. 😦

Leave a Reply

