Top Ten Tuesday

Books I’d Recommend To Someone Who Doesn’t Read X

Obviously I’m going with people that don’t read YA since YA books have gotten alarmingly awesome as of late.

I’d recommend the following series’ for the same reason.  They are hilarious quick reads that for someone who doesn’t read much or often would enjoy but are several books so it would keep them busy for awhile too. 

1. Magic in Manhattan Series by Sarah Mlynowski

2. Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

The following books are both by Stephanie Perkins.  They are also adorable and I like to think classified as “warm your heart, make you believe in love again”  SIGH. Also, every time I think about these I start singing Colbie Calliet’s “Bubbly”.  😛

3. Anna and the French Kiss

4. Lola and the Boy Next Door

I’d recommend the following because they really don’t need an explanation now do they?  Due to the size of most of these they do take a commitment, but as most of you know they are soooooo worth it.

5. Divergent (and soon to be complete series I’m sure 🙂 )by Veronica Roth

6. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

7. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

8. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

9.The Infernal Devices Series by Cassandra Clare

I’m not really a fan of science fiction.  I watch a few shows that fall into the geeky realm (I consider myself more of a nerd, which I believe is a huge difference) but that’s pretty much where it stops.  No Star Trek, Babylon 5, etc for me.  But I did love this book:

10. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

BONUS:  I haven’t read it yet, but I have complete faith in its awesomeness  – A Million Suns by Beth Revis

~Maggie

Top 10 Contemporary Romance Books I’d Recommend

1. Playing Dirty by Susan Andersen

2. Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis

3. Fool’s Gold series by Susan Mallery

4. Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins

5. Recipe for Love series by Louisa Edwards

6. Virgin River by Robyn Carr (which I’m currently reading, and I like the book, but I cannot vouch for the rest of the series, although it’s very popular)

7. anything by Rachel Gibson (although if I had to choose, I would recommend Not Another Valentine’s Day)

8. anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (start with It Had to Be You and continue on through the Chicago Stars series, but definitely also What I did for Love)

9. start with Causing Havoc by Lori Foster and continue on in the SBC Fighters series (Simon Says is my favorite in that one), and then just read the rest of her books

10.  Fast Track series by Erin McCarthy

~Dixie

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Candice January 17, 2012 at 9:21 am Reply

    Yay Princess Diaries! I ate this series up!

    • Gone Pecan January 17, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

      Me too!! I only read it at the beginning of 2011, but I’m in love. I bought them so I could have them to read whenever I wanted. ~Maggie

  2. Kristina Ebert January 17, 2012 at 10:36 am Reply

    Love any of the books on your YA list, fantastic reads!

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-tuesdays-7.html

    • Gone Pecan January 17, 2012 at 11:22 am Reply

      thanks, I’ll check yours ASAP! ~maggie

  3. Jem Carstairs(TN) January 17, 2012 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Great choices! I really do love the mortal instruments, infernal devices, harry potter and hunger games!

    xx
    http://peacelovecheesecake.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

