TGIF

brought to you by Ginger

Buy or Borrow:

Most of my books as of late have come from the library.  As I read a lot of books there is simply no way I can afford to buy them all. (Though I really wish I could!!!)  My local library is really good about ordering, and if they don’t have it you can request it and they will try to borrow it from another library.  (I just had one borrowed from Atlanta)  Of course I do still buy books . . . online, on my nook, ebay, abebooks.com, and amazon.uk.  Then let’s not forget my local used book store where I now have so much credit I doubt I will ever run out. (Need a book?  Email me and if it’s there we can work out a trade 🙂 )  LOL.  Lastly, I borrow  from my fellow bloggers and use paperbackswap.com.  I always like to own my books, mainly because I don’t like to feel the pressure to read is quickly and return it since I hate to “owe” anyone anything but I simply do not live in a house large enough to house them all. ~maggie

7 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. TC Booked Up January 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm Reply

    Space is a big problem for me, which is why I limit my buying of physical copies these days!

    • Gone Pecan January 27, 2012 at 1:57 pm Reply

      I know! That’s why I have so much credit at the used book store. I had to let some go. 😦

  2. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books January 27, 2012 at 1:25 pm Reply

    I think it’s practical to borrow books. I’m trying to whittle down my book collection into the books I love and the ones I would pass down on to my own children if I could. I have way too many books, some of which I don’t even remember the stories, and I figure they could be donated and read by someone who might love them even more than I do!

  3. Amy @ bookgoonie January 27, 2012 at 2:33 pm Reply

    I love seeing all these great library users. I’m trying to be better, especially because I lack the disposable cash for my habit.

    • Gone Pecan January 27, 2012 at 3:22 pm Reply

      I know how you feel. . .the library is great but I don’t like to have deadlines and I wish I could go the day books come out and just buy them. I hate waiting! ~M

  4. Jo January 28, 2012 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Thank you thank you for not only using your library, but taking advantage of interlibrary loan! I talk to people all the time about it in my library – they don’t see a book and automatically start to give up …. until I tell them we can get it from somewhere else for them. I’m a librarian, so I guess I’m biased …. but I take advantage of that service all the time. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan January 28, 2012 at 3:52 pm Reply

      OH I love it when I get the interlibrary books! When you know one if waiting its a surprise because they don’t list the title on the site!! LOL. The only thing I don’t care for and I don’t know if its just our library, but they don’t tell you they are looking for it. . .so it’s a waiting game. ~M

Leave a Reply

