Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Books I Think Would Make Great Book Club Picks

1. Mortal Instruments or Infernal Devices Series’  by Cassandra Clare.  I’ve had many discussions about different pieces of these books.  There is soooo much to talk about here…and now that there is going to be a movie you could have a book club field trip! ~m

2. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – I will never stop recommending this book.  Great book to discuss. ~m

3. Possess by Gretchen McNeil – I’d say this one because it touches on exorcisms and a bit of religion.  I could see great topics to discuss but there could be a few fights too since religion is a sensitive topic for quite a few people. ~m

4. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling – Really?  Like I wouldn’t choose these.  Just think how long these could keep a book club entertained??! ~m

 

5. Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins – I LOVED this series!  But heck, an dystopian book would be a great book club choice.  I love seeing other people’s visions on what is possible. 🙂 ~m

6. Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin – It’s a great book about love and friendship and how you see yourself versus how others see you…I have read it a couple times and I just love it.  I think it would make for a great conversation topic. ~d

7. One For the Money (et. al) by Janet Evanovich – This was the first book I picked for the bookclub I am currently in.  It was funny and there was mystery and romance, something for everyone.  It was a big hit.  I totally got everyone hooked. ~d

8. Anything by Dan Brown – His books are always very thought provoking, if not provoking in other areas, as well.  ~d

9.  The Duke and I by Julia Quinn – My bookclub is not given to romance (at least, not all of them, but I wouldn’t want to alienate anyone), but if they were, I would recommend this book.  It’s the first book in the famed Bridgerton series and it is great. The whole series is (all eight books!).  LOVE Julia Quinn. ~d

10. If I Stay by Gayle Forman – Mostly because I don’t think anyone has read this in my bookclub, it’s such a great book & I think everyone would love it.  Sure, it’s YA, and kinda romantic (but not as much as Where She Went), but the overall story is amazing. ~d

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Candice January 31, 2012 at 8:08 am Reply

    I’m pretty sure that if I were in a book club and we read anything Harry Potter, we’d be there for a few days because I’m sure I could talk about it for that long. Also, The Sky is Everywhere would make an AMAZING book club read; so much to talk about!

    • Gone Pecan January 31, 2012 at 8:10 am Reply

      Please do not get me started with my love affair of all things Potter. :p ~m

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Tee January 31, 2012 at 11:43 am Reply

    Such good choices! My book club just did The Hunger Games (so I had to do a re-read as it had been two years). You’ll be happy to know that In March we’re doing One For the Money (I’ve never read her books). I’m debating between choosing If I Stay, I’ll Be There or The Sky is Everywhere when it’s my turn. It’s so hard!

    • Gone Pecan January 31, 2012 at 12:01 pm Reply

      i reread all the Stephanie Plum books last spring, they’re hilarious.

  3. Allison January 31, 2012 at 11:53 am Reply

    Nice picks! I like that you put Possess on your list… you’re right, there’s a ton to discuss there! There’s a lot to say about the diversity of the characters, the San Francisco setting, and the religious aspect is really intriguing. I co-host a podcast about YA lit and we interviewed Gretchen McNeil– she’s fabulous, and we got to talking about how the Catholicism in the book is so interesting, because for Catholics, it all feels familiar, and for non-Catholics, it probably adds to the eerie mystique of the book, because Catholic rituals can seem so mysterious. A book club could really go to town with that topic! (If you want to hear the interview, it’s at Authors are ROCKSTARS!”)

    • Gone Pecan January 31, 2012 at 12:36 pm Reply

      I’ll def have to check it out! Thanks!! ~M

  4. FABR Steph January 31, 2012 at 12:21 pm Reply

    The DaVinci Code is a nice addition to a club read list. Thanks for the suggestions.

    -FABR Steph@FiveAlarmBookReviews
    My Top Ten…

Leave a Reply

