TGIF: Book Appeal

brought to you by Greadsbooks.com

Book Appeal: When you’re browsing goodreads, the library, or another blogger’s reviews, what grabs your attention to make you want to read it?

I’m a “judge a book by it’s cover” kinda girl.  Much like men, if it doesn’t look good, I’m not interested.  😉 (It’s all about packaging.) Which sometimes can be a bad thing, I know, because as much as I love romance books, I am loath to pick up anything that looks like a 1980s cover…

Or sometimes even the title of the book will throw me off.  It has to be contemporary and not embarrassing for me to be seen with.  Because, if I’m waiting somewhere, I will have a book in my hand.  I have one on me at all times. Unless it’s for my nook, then all bets are off. 🙂  I will make exceptions for my favorite authors (if their older books look kinda skiffy, I will still give them the benefit of the doubt & pick up the book).  And sometimes, those books with really hot shirtless guys, I’m still embarrassed to be seen reading.  I guess I feel like I’m being judged, and who wants that? (Harlequin Titles Reveal Audience’s Desires)  Because I’m a private person, I don’t want people (random people on the street that can look me in the face) to know I like to read about , I don’t know, something like Sado-Masochism.  Not that that will stop me from reading the book (obviously, just look at my reviews)…but imagine being in the waiting room of your pediatrician’s office with twenty other parents and their little children, holding something like this…

Dutch cover of “Lord of the Wolves”

or even something as hot as this…

I much prefer the new covers that are coming out that you can probably tell they are romance novels, but maybe you won’t automatically think there’s some “brown chicken, brown cow” stuff going on behind that cover, like…

I do read a lot of YA books, as well, but again, it’s all about the cover.  I don’t want to be seen with someone who looks like Justin Bieber on the cover of my book.  Give me a book, please, that you won’t be able to tell just by looking at the cover what kind of book I’m reading.  Like…

and this one just made me laugh (but perfectly illustrates my point)…

8 thoughts on “TGIF: Book Appeal

  1. Candice February 3, 2012 at 10:57 am Reply

    Um, Crack Baby Sale may just be going with me next time I have a dentist appointment. I’m going to sit right next to the kid who is coloring in the Highlights magazine too.

    I totally agree about not wanting to be seen in public with certain book covers. Although I do love books that tend to have half naked people on the covers, I surely don’t want random strangers seeing that I read those kinds of books! On the flip side, I sometimes don’t like reading books that are super popular because sure enough if someone sees the cover of it, it’s like a beacon that screams “hey, I’m being hip and reading something popular! Come discuss how you’ve read this book too!”

    Thank goodness for e-readers these days!

    • Dixie February 3, 2012 at 11:24 am Reply

      i sometimes don’t even want my husband seeing what i’m reading, so i do love my nook.

      • Tee February 6, 2012 at 10:49 am

        I think that husbands are the worst culprits when it comes to teasing about covers! It’s because we care what they they. I don’t care if the lady sitting next to me at Gymnastics or the Dentist cares that I’m a gigantic dork, but my husband is supposed to think I’m kind of cool, right? I tell him this and he assures me that I am, in fact, not cool but a massive nerd and that’s why he loves me. And then he teases me more about my book covers.

      • Dixie February 6, 2012 at 11:04 am

        that’s what makes husbands so awesome, they know we’re total geeks but love us anyway. 🙂

  2. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books February 3, 2012 at 11:10 am Reply

    I like tastefully done covers. This is especially applicable when I’m reading romances!

    • Dixie February 6, 2012 at 11:05 am Reply

      exactly. it’s easier when they’re paperback cause i can bend it back, but hardbacks are a bitch to hide.

  3. FABR Steph February 3, 2012 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Unless it is a title that I have already heard about, I too will judge a book by its cover. Crack Baby Sale?! Now that is hysterical. I read a lot of cozy mysteries and I though some of those titles are funny, but dang!
    -FABR Steph@FiveAlarmBookReviews

    • Gone Pecan February 4, 2012 at 7:28 am Reply

      I couldn’t resist, i had to fit that cover in there 🙂 ~dixie

Leave a Reply

