Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch, which was why she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (aka witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered she’s a demon, and her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping her kind off the face of the earth. What’s worse, Sophie has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is why she decides to go to London for the Removal, a risky procedure that will either destroy her powers forever—or kill her. But once Sophie arrives, she makes a shocking discovery: someone is raising new demons in secret and planning to use their powers to destroy the world. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Ok, so I’m going to assume you all read the first book in this series (Hex Hall) otherwise why are you reading a review on the second? 😛 DG picks up 6 months after the first book ends.  Sophie is still at school waiting on her father, the head of the council, to arrive so that she can go through “the Removal” of her powers and her mother has been staying on campus waiting as well.  When he arrives he asked that she hold off for a few months to let him show her how her powers can do good and she accompanies him to London with a few friends.

Cal is still there, as hot as ever.  Also, thank you I got what I want!!!!(At least for now. . .)  He is her betrothed!!!(Side Note:  in the witch world of Hex Hall you get a betrothed, BUTTTT you don’t have to marry them if you really don’t want to, read the books for the deets!) Archer is now supposed to be the enemy and when he finds her in London (very quickly and very easily I do have to say) she just freely says where she is staying with her dad AND the council so he can find her again?!  Not exactly very smart, dang YA heroines always thinking with their heart and not their actual brain. 

Speaking of Archer, is Sophie’s love that blind?!!  Cal loves her (see betrothed comment) and Archer (so say) does as well, and she thinks her dad is just going to be ok with her choosing Archer?  Really? HE IS THE ENEMY.  At one point she practically forces Cal to help Archer involving him in something just because he cares for her . . . abusing his love for her!  Selfish witch.  UGH.

I did enjoy this one more so because of Cal than anything else.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the way it ended so I expect a bit of retribution in Spellbound, though I doubt I’m going to get it.  I do have to say that I’m a bit sad I didn’t guess everything before it happened, I like to try and guess the ending (without cheating :P) and I only got half right.  I did get the correct villain, though I’m not giving myself much credit here since it seemed a bit obvious.  🙂

Pecans: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

