TGIF

brought to you by Greadsbooks.com

Love Stories: What are some of your favorite fictional love stories?

The following couples I’m listing below are ones that I’ve gone back to time and time again, either rereading the books (more than once), or watching the TV show ad nauseum.  They’re the kind of love stories that everyone wishes they could have–time or distance or circumstance could not keep these people from finding each other.  We can’t all have the kind of love they have (some of us have a much easier time of it, some of us just haven’t met the right person yet), but we have them to give us hope.  Also, for some reason, I thought I had to do 10 couples, but when I realized that wasn’t the case, I just couldn’t give up any of them.  Enjoy! ~Dixie

Ron and Hermione (Harry Potter by JK Rowling) – My ONE TRUE PAIR.  When I finally decided to read the books, I would watch the movie immediately after I’d finished. When I got to the movie of “Prisoner of Azkaban,” there’s a scene where Hermione instinctively reaches for Ron’s hand because she is scared for Harry, and then they both turn away and kind of blush.  This scene wasn’t in the book.  If there was any subtext in that book or the previous books regarding Ron and Hermione, I was completely in the dark.  Until that moment, it had not even occurred to me to anticipate any kind of love story in the Harry Potter books (maybe because they were so young).  But I became so invested in this romance, I would, for months after completing the books, find fanfic after fanfic about the two of them because I just could not get enough (and Rowling didn’t give us enough, maybe BECAUSE it wasn’t a love story).

Veronica and Logan (Veronica Mars) –God, how I miss Veronica Mars.  One of the best shows EVER.  I’m still upset they never made that movie.  This couple was combustible.  If you’re unfamiliar with the series, let me break it down for you:  Veronica and Logan hated each other with the fire of a thousand suns.  (It’s waaaayyy too complicated to explain the many & varied reasons here, WATCH THIS SHOW!) Then one day, out of the blue, they kissed. And ungh…It was so perfect and wrong and star-crossed…I’m still upset the series was cancelled before they could find their way back to each other. LoVe forever!

Monica and Chandler (Friends) – The seemed so wrong for each other initially.  I honestly didn’t think it would last very long.  Everyone was so caught up in the Ross and Rachel thing, Monica and Chandler just slipped under the radar and became that solid couple you see, at 80 years old, walking down the street holding hands, him whispering in her ear & trying to get her to laugh, her fixing his hair.

Lizzie and Chaz (Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot)–Another love story that caught me completely off guard.  (Aren’t those the best?)  They were friends, practically best friends, and Lizzie was so invested in Luc and trying to “woodland forest creature” him, that when Lizzie and Chaz kissed (and then more) at the end of Queen of Babble in the Big City, I was floored.  Totally did not see that coming.  I thought it would be Luc!  Oh, Ms. Cabot, you got me, you got me!

Jessica and Marcus (Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty)–it has been a while since I read this book, but I remember it took forever for these two crazy kids to understand how perfect they were for each other.  Jessica is this self-aware, cynical perfectionist and Marcus was this underachieving, slacker druggie who admitted to her he only wanted to get into her pants.  But they were so perfect together, they brought out the best in each other.  And the final book, where we finally get to hear Marcus’ POV, ungh…let’s just say we should all have someone to love us as much as Marcus loves Jessica.  Long live Barry Manilow!

Elizabeth and Darcy (Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen)–What can I say about this pair that I haven’t before?  This love story has more than stood the test of time.  It’s over 200 years old and it’s popularity does not falter.  Two people with strong personalities and both with pride and prejudicial views of the world, they clashed initially but their attraction could not be denied.  Sigh.

Anne and Gilbert (Anne of Green Gables  by LM Montgomery)–One of my favorite stories ever, Anne was the bosom friend you wish you had.  Her imagination and joie de vivre were contagious and attractive.  She made the most of what she had (which wasn’t much), but in the end, she had it all.  When she met Gilbert, who called her Carrots because of her red hair (the bane of her existence), she was so stubborn and unmovable, another case of Pride being her downfall.  And really, she let it go on way too long.  But he silently waited for her, loving her, just wanting to be a part of her life. 

Rachel and Dex (Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin)–These two belonged together from the start.  Rachel’s insecurity is really her problem here.  She just didn’t think Dex, so handsome and perfect, could go for her.  She felt plain and maybe a little ugly after living her life in the spotlight of her best friend, the beautiful, confident, golden Darcy who always got what she wanted.  And when she dropped the ball with Dex, Darcy was there to pick it up and run it in.  So Rachel convinced herself that she was happy for her best friends as Darcy and Dex became engaged.  It took one booze-filled 30th birthday party and lowered inhibitions for her to admit her attraction for Dex, someone she’d loved for seven years.  But when she tried to write it off, Dex wouldn’t let her this time.  I know this book is ultimately about infidelity, but it’s also about loving yourself enough to ask for what you want.

Chastity and Trevor (Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins)–Chastity loved Trevor since she was a little girl, he was her brothers’ best friend and her almost-adopted brother, and for a weekend, his lover.  For whatever reason, he broke it off, and she thought it was because he would rather stay close to her family than to be with her.  But she was so, so wrong. I cannot say enough how much I love this book.  I reread it again and again.  Chastity is so clueless, and Trevor is so heartbreaking, I just can’t get enough of them.  I feel the same things every time I read it.  (And sometimes, I like to just read the last two chapters to make my day better.)

Jackie and Joe (The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell)–Jackie Pert Harrison protects herself from pain.  Don’t we all.  She distances herself from most people and uses sarcasm and cynicism to guide her in the world.  She’s such a broken person, she cannot penetrate the walls she’s surrounded herself with.  She writes an anonymous blog and uses it to vent. Enter Joe, her office-mate.  Their relationship starts off platonic and, at least on Jackie’s part, somewhat tolerable.  But Joe just keeps making her push boundaries, keeps showing up for her…ingratiates himself in her life and won’t let go.  And she falls in love with him, but denies it to herself, so of course, she will never admit it to him or anyone else.  She would rather lose him than put herself in a vulnerable position.  But he reads her blog every day (doesn’t know it’s her) and is completely fascinated by the blogess’ cubicle-mate and her obvious feelings for him, so she takes a giant step to out herself…guh, I just love this book so much.  It really breaks my heart.  It’s so perfect.  The movie-theater scene, ungh.  Ungh.  Read this book and you will love these characters, too.  Especially Joe. 

I think my main problem with this topic is that I like to picture myself in the female lead’s place(age appropriate versions of course) so it’s hard to pick couples where I loved THEIR story because in my mind when I’m reading it’s kind of mine, but I’ll give it a go nevertheless… ~Maggie

 

Michael Moscovitz and Mia Thermopolis – umm hello, it’s Michael.  Michael, who moved to Japan and left Mia for an entire year to build a life saving/multimillion dollar making surgery robot just to impress Mia’s grandmother and father so they would think he was good enough for her on the account of him not being royalty and all.  I LOVE YOU MICHAEL!!!

 Edward Cullen and Bella Swan – I’m sure quite a few of people are picking them, (see you guys midnight @ Target for the special 5 minute preview!!!) and rightly so. . .how could you not?  To find your soul mate so young, to just know that is who you are supposed to be with and have forever together?!  Every teenaged girl’s (ok, maybe a few older one too, **cough, cough**) dream.  SIGH.

 

Ron Weasley and Hermoine Granger – Not much a romance in the books right?  I know, I know they really shouldn’t be on a “love story” list of any sort really, but how could I not put them?  It’s Potter!!  Also, the part when Ron sees Hermoine with Harry in the dream and you know thinks he isn’t good enough for her?  BREAKS MY HEART! 😦

 

Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy – I’m basing this strictly off the Kiera Knightley movie, cause man is Darcy fine in the one. . .I know I’ve said it before but my favorite scene is when he confesses his love and it’s like he can’t even express how much he cares for her that his voice catches?  Thanks to the Oxygen network for playing this one so often, I know because I watch to every time.

 Non-Book Fictional Love:

 I know this is a book blog and all, but the topic is fictional love stories, so they qualify!!!

Bones and Booth (from the TV show Bones)  They finally got together this season and now they are preggers!!!  How can you not love this?!  Do you watch?  Because last season with Bones (if you watch you know she IS NOT emotional) started crying because Booth told her he was with Hannah?  I admit it, I cried too.  Now all is right with the world. 🙂

Sheldon and Amy (from The Big Bang Theory) – They built the pyramids!!  (Don’t tell me that’s not the line that sticks out the most in your head too!) Ok, first let me start with I watch a ridiculous amount of Big Bang reruns.  THEY ARE ON ALL THE TIME.  In fact, what made me pick Shamey?? (hehe) I watched the episode of when Raj and Howard built the online dating profile for Sheldon and he met Amy last night.  Oh how they make me laugh.  Has anyone else seen the TBS commercial with the cut scenes of the cast “singing” Boyz II Men’s I’ll Make Love to You??  HAHAHA.

Penelope and Morgan (from Criminal Minds) – Yet another show I watch a lot of reruns of…oh how I love Shemar Moore.  ALMOST as much as I love Reed AKA Matthew Gray Gubler.  I like nerds what can I say? Then there is Penelope.  She is like another me…we both dress a bit out there…though I do have to admit she has me beat….but I love that they just constantly flirt on the phone through the cases.  The show is so serious and it’s great to break it up.   I’m still waiting for them to actually hook up.  😛

8 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Tee February 10, 2012 at 11:59 am Reply

    We all know that I go Spazz City for Michael. I mean he created a computer program just to tell her he loved her! He got a detention for singing a song with his band during school–one that he wrote just for her, he liked playing “tuck” with Rocky, AND he totally loved her for who she was. It all makes me sigh (again). And OMG the love between Ron and Hermione. So sweet. I love how awkward it is at first and I love how Harry sees it all and just tries to comfort Hermione when Ron is stupid. And when they finally got together it was a forever kind of thing because they’d already loved each other for so long. BFF love stories rock.

    • Gone Pecan February 10, 2012 at 12:05 pm Reply

      🙂 ~M

    • Gone Pecan February 10, 2012 at 12:43 pm Reply

      they’re the best. i LOVE LOVE LOVE Michael, too, but i couldn’t put all the same people as Maggie. how do i love Michael? let me count the ways: i love his reaction when he sees Mia for the first time after her makeover. I love the song he played for her that was about her but she didn’t figure it out until they’d started their thing. i love that he puts up with her grandmere. I love him. i really really really really reallllllly do.

  2. thelibrarianreads February 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm Reply

    Anne and Gilbert! I haven’t thought about Anne of Green Gables in so long…I don’t think I read the whole series actually. May have just done the whole thing via the disney channel. But still…love that love story too!

    • Dixie February 10, 2012 at 1:20 pm Reply

      i don’t think i read the whole series, either. that was before i was into series. i definitely read the first two or three, until they get together. i watched all the movies though. gilbert’s hot.

  3. Candice February 13, 2012 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Fabulous list guys! I love every one of these and also… who puts Bones on a list? Um, a genius, that’s who! The episode when Booth tells Bones he wants to take a chance on them and she turns him down and he cries… I lost it! And then when she tells him she wants him and he turns her down?! Lost it! Okay… having Bones withdrawals here. Also… Michael Moscovitz and Mr. Darcy. Thank you.

    • Gone Pecan February 14, 2012 at 7:55 am Reply

      I love Bones, it’s one of the best shows ever. The only thing I’m not too happy about with the Bones/Booth hook up is they just went from nothing to “we’re having a baby!” Where was all the good stuff between?! ~Maggie

      • Candice February 14, 2012 at 8:17 am

        Agreed. I mean, I get why they had to do that (Emily Dechanel being pregnant and all) but I really wanted sweet dating, not baby making!

Leave a Reply

