Top 10 Tuesday

Brought to you by The Broke and The Bookish

Ten Books that Broke Our Heart a Little

1.Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare – Are you kidding me?!  Before I started Dixie told me it was going to break my heart, but it REALLY ticked me off!  Are you serious?  If Tessa wasn’t 100% about Jem then why agree to marry him?  I don’t care if he is dying ( I know that sounds horrible) he deserves true love regardless of how much time he has here.   How do you think he would feel if he knew she loved Will but didn’t want to be with him to hurt his feelings?  That would hurt more, that she stayed out of some sort of pity?  Tessa is NOT my favorite character right now, poor Will. 😦

2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – There is just too much loss in this one, it hurt that Katniss had to give up so much.

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling I did my best to not talk to a single person about these books till I read them so when I got to the last book and Harry goes into the woods and sees his parents and Sirius?  OMG.  That whole conversation made me cry, A LOT.

4. Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess – A girl is molested by her own father.  He is released from jail and her mother wants them to “get past it”.  How could a mother do that to her child?  It truly breaks my heart that she tried to put her happiness in front her child’s safety. 

5. Sisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman – Again, parents ignoring the problem and blaming the wrong person with a step parent leading the charge.

~Maggie

6. Jennifer Johnson is Sick of Being Single by Heather McElhatton –It’s a book about a woman who, obviously, will do just about anything to get married.  It does not have a happy ending.  I don’t like books that don’t have a happy ending.  In the end, Jennifer gets what she wants, but she will never be happy.  Ugh.  I was very annoyed by the ending.  It really ruined my day.  I wanted my money back for buying this book. 

7. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee—The trial of Tom Robinson breaks my heart.  The white jury was never going to acquit him, despite all the evidence of his innocence.  But the real heartache comes from knowing that, even though this was a work of fiction, the story is hardly uncommon for the setting.

8. Of Mice and Men – The relationship that George and Lennie share is devoted, despite Lennie’s mild mental deficiencies.  They are all that each other has, and when Lennie does “a bad thing,” George kills his friend out of mercy rather than let him face the lynch mob. 

9. Deadline by Chris Crutcher—A teenage boy learns he is dying, but forces his doctor to keep it from his family and refuses treatment so that he can live his senior year in high school in relative normality.  So what he does with his time is what he would never have done typically.  He joins the football team and he befriends his crush (with the awesome name of Dallas Suzuki).  He takes chances he had always been afraid of before.  The bravery that Ben shows in the face of his mortality is inspiring and I don’t know if I would react the same way, I would probably crawl into a corner and cry for the last remaining months.

10. If I Stay by Gayle Forman – A teenage girl loses her whole family and has to decide if she wants to live or follow them into the hereafter.  If she stays, she has her family, her career as a cellist and her future at Julliard, and her best friend and loving boyfriend…but what good is it if she can never see her baby brother or parents again?  What good is a future when staying means deciding to go on without them?

I like happy endings and happy books that make me laugh or have a lot of kissing in them, so I’m actually surprised that I scraped together 5 books!   Happy Valentine’s Day!~Dixie

 

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Candice February 14, 2012 at 9:35 am Reply

    Dude… I totally haven’t gotten to Clockwork Prince yet and just finished Clockwork Angel… WHY did I let myself read your blurb about how Clockwork Prince broke your heart?! Bad Candice! haha!

    • Dixie February 14, 2012 at 9:53 am Reply

      it’s soooooo good. if i didn’t have 20 books i need to read and it was still a year away from the final book, i would totally reread it (and that’s saying something, i only reread the books i LOOOOVE)

      • Tee February 14, 2012 at 10:21 am

        I can’t believe that I forgot Clockwork Prince. Major duh on my part! I wish I could reread it too!

  2. Tanya Patrice February 14, 2012 at 12:31 pm Reply

    Mockingjay definitely did it for me – actually, the entire Hunger Games series.

Leave a Reply

