Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens (or any other natural disaster…you get the drift. )

Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling. . . There are seven of my books right there and they should count for 14 since they are so massive and I would more than likely have to make two trips just for them.  When I truly love a book I do not want a crappy beat up paperback or an ebook.  I want a stand the test of time, looks great on the shelf hardcover. ~m  (I concur! ~d)

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – I want to reread this one so bad but I have a serious issue with my library addiction.  Once I can control my requests I will read this again. ~m

 

My grandfather’s prayer book.  I know I know, it’s not some great novel, but it’s important to me. 🙂  If you want actual books as well I could say my nook since I have tons saved there too. ~m

Manhunting by Jennifer Crusie – If something horrible is going on in the world I’m going to need a good laugh.  This one definitely qualifies. ~m

My Nook!  There are dozens of books on there, so I would have my choice!  And there are books  and games on there for my sons, so that would be a plus to keep them occupied (and not driving me crazy, because, you know, who knows what kind of waiting around we would have to be doing?) Also, all I would need would be an internet connection & I could get more!  Hopefully, these aliens have wi-fi. ~d

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins –The only Hunger Games book that I own (the rest were borrowed from the library).  This one is important to me. ~d

The Mortal Instruments books by Cassandra Clare–These are coming anywhere I go.  If I’m abducted by aliens or snowed in for months at a time (unlikely, I know), I hope these are with me.  I have not gotten to reread them yet, but I will have to make time for it soon. And I’ve been having City of Lost Souls for months (even pre-ordered it) but have not opened it yet (because there are two books in the series to go). ~d

Pride and Prejudice and Emma by Jane Austen–There were my grandmother’s.  Enough said. 🙂 ~d

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins–Want to reread it & I own it, it’s not from the library, so it goes where I go.  🙂 ~d

Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins–I love this book (it’s so funny & swoony, perfect for waiting around for your turn to be probed) and I reread it often, so, I can’t leave it behind! I will pack that sucker up and take it with or I’M NOT GOING! ~d

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Amy @ bookgoonie February 21, 2012 at 6:35 am Reply

    I totally meant to put my Nook on mine. Great list 😉

  2. Tanya Patrice February 21, 2012 at 6:42 am Reply

    I might have to get an eReader now – I could literally take hundreds of books with me too 🙂

    • Gone Pecan February 21, 2012 at 10:04 am Reply

      te only issue is battery life, but that is what adapters are for! ~d

  3. Candice February 21, 2012 at 8:45 am Reply

    Haha, I put my kindle on my list too! I mean, it’s smaller than my actual books and holds tons! I feel like I cheated the system though with saving it… but whatever, right?! Great list! I had such a good time coming up with mine.

  4. Tee February 21, 2012 at 10:27 am Reply

    I love that your Austens belonged to your grandmother. That’s so sweet. My grandma is the one who got me into reading. Grandmas rock! 🙂

  5. Susanne @ A Reader in Time February 21, 2012 at 3:58 pm Reply

    Great list! Harry Potter is a definite must save, and I put my Nook on my list too!

    • Gone Pecan February 21, 2012 at 6:19 pm Reply

      How do I describe my love of Potter? ~maggie

  6. 1girl2manybooks February 21, 2012 at 7:00 pm Reply

    Love your list! So many books I could read over and over here! Which is important…if we only have 10 of them!

    • Gone Pecan February 21, 2012 at 7:10 pm Reply

      Absolutely! Thanks for checking us out.

  7. bookzilla February 21, 2012 at 7:58 pm Reply

    Yay for saving Pride and Prejudice! I like that you would save your grandfather’s prayer book — I have some personal books on my list too. Sometimes those are the most important ones.

    And yes, writing this list was definitely emotional!

Leave a Reply

