Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon—the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the eighteenth century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

It seems a lot here centers on the number twelve AND something to do with the philosopher’s stone.  (Hello Harry Potter!) There are gene carriers, female in Gwyneth’s family and males in Gideon’s family.  Both families thought the traveler would be her cousin Charlotte, as Gwyn’s “mother” lied about her birth date to protect her so Charlotte received all the training leaving Gwyn out of the loop.  (Kind of crappy on mom’s part, she should at least have been training her in secret or something.) When she starts to travel she doesn’t tell her family right away, instead travels back three times before her BFF Lesley makes her tell her mom what is happening. Speaking of which, I loved Lesley!!  What a great friend!  She believed Gwyn from the start completely.  She can see ghosts? Time travel?  Awesome.  I really like there is no friend drama to take away from the story itself, just support and understanding.

I do have to say the members of their little secret society were quite rude to Gwyn about her being the traveler, treating her like some shady thief.  It’s not like she did this, her mother freely admitted to changing the information about her birth.  After there is proof she is the carrier she is given a bit of a crash course of need to know information, most of which they think she doesn’t need to know, heck they even blindfold her so she can’t find her way back just in case.  MEN.  They do tell her about the chronograph, a machine that along with drops of each time traveler’s blood can be used to pick specific locations to travel and helps control the amount of danger at any given time to the traveler.  Obviously from reading the book you can tell there is a lot more going on with this little contraption as the original was stolen.  Since locating a second chronograph Gideon has been traveling back in time to collect all of the blood samples from the past travelers to “complete the circle”.  Now that Gwyn is traveling she started to accompany him, as with all books, chaos ensues.

This is only my 2nd or 3rd attempt at time travel and to be honest I wasn’t so sure before my first one . . .I kind of had the same opinion of time travel books that I used to have about fairy books.  That being said I’m now a huge fan!  It translated well which I was curious about too.  One definite aspect of the book I didn’t care for the whole dominate man/little lady syndrome.   I can see a need for it during the trips back in time when things were a bit different but present day?  Me caveman, you Jane.  UGH.

Small addition that was extremely helpful:  The character glossary.  I was so into the book that I had to control my scanning ahead and skipping over certain parts so sometimes I would get the characters a bit jumbled up.  It really was helpful.  As far as opinions so far on Gwyn’s family, her Aunt Glenda is true to her name, a witch but not of the good variety.  The time traveling differed a bit more in this book then the others I’ve read, the Continuum rules were a bit more lax in this story.   They are allowed to talk to people in the past, talk about the future, provide tips for betting, etc.  But they shouldn’t bring or take things between eras that do not belong.  They also travel to the exact spot they are in present day which I thought was a great idea.

The story was very entertaining.  I’m pretty sure I know most of what is to come for the series as the book was a bit predictable but that doesn’t dim my excitement to read and find out all about it!!  Absolutely cannot wait for the second book, maybe I can learn another language in a day? How well does Rosetta Stone really work??? I admit I sneaked a peek and let Google translate the blurbs from goodreads.  I can’t control my need to know!!!  SIGH.

Pecans: 4/5

6 thoughts on “Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

  1. Candice February 23, 2012 at 2:34 pm Reply

    I saw this one earlier and thought it sounded fabulous! Didn’t know it was originally written in another language though; interesting… Maybe you mentioned it and I didn’t see, but what language is it originally in? More power to you if you can learn a new language in a day! 🙂

    • Maggie February 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm Reply

      Originally in German. I wish I could, because I’d be all about this series!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. […] Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier […]

  3. […]  Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier.  I loved every second of it.  Books that I read in 1-2 sittings are rare nowadays.  […]

  4. Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier « Gone Pecan December 27, 2012 at 8:32 am Reply

    […] – God I love this gal.  She is the ultimate best friend.  Like in the first book of the series, Ruby Red, Lesley still believes Gwen wholeheartedly and is with her at every turn.  I love that the story […]

  5. Top 10 Tuesday #79 | Gone Pecan July 16, 2013 at 7:58 am Reply

    […] Stars tour!) 2.  Kerstin Gier – I reviewed the first two books in her time travel series Ruby Red & Sapphire Blue and I’m very anxiously awaiting the third and final book Emerald […]

Leave a Reply

