Top 10 Tuesday

Maggie’s Top 10 Bookcovers

Possess by Gretchen McNeil – There isn’t a thing about this book I don’t love.

 

Stracrossed by Josephine Angelini – SIGH.  Gorgeous!!

 

Fury by Elizabeth Miles – Oh how I’ve always wished for red hair!!

Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman – How fun and magical does that look?!

 

Love Mine by J. R. Ward – really I’d take any of the guys, **cough** I mean any of the covers.  YUM.

 

Manhunting by Jennifer Crusie – Still one of the funniest books I’ve read and who could pass up the cheesy original cover?  Magnum PI mustache?  CHECK.  Receding hairline?  CHECK.  Mullet?  CHECK.  I’ve had more than one person turn me down to borrow my copy because they refused to be seen reading a book with this cover, but I still love it!!

 

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff – Check the mobile, what kind of baby lives here?!

 

Wither by Lauren Destefano – She looks so beautifully distraught if that makes sense? 

 

Imaginary Girls by Nove Ren Suma – This cover totally made me want to read the book.  I needed to know what this cover was about!!

 

Hourglass by Myra McEntire – Also another book that I chose to start based strictly on the cover and so glad I did!  Easily Top 5 books I read in 2011.

Dixie’s Top 10 Contemporary Romance Bookcovers

A Perfect Storm by Lori Foster–The guy who posed for this is the new epitome of male perfection in my eyes. Happy Sigh.

Hot Under Pressure by Louisa Edwards–This book isn’t even out yet, but can you understand why my mouth is watering? It isn’t in anticipation of the food they’ll be making in the book, I can guarantee you.

The Next Best Thing by Kristan Higgins–Honestly, all of her book covers are great.  They make me happy, not only because I know I will love them before I even read the blurb on the back, but they’re very well done, aesthetically. 

Only His by Susan Mallery–All three of the books about the Hendrix Triplets were well done.  Love the coloring and the simpleness of the picture; it doesn’t give away the naughty things going on inside 🙂

Straight from the Hip by Susan Mallery–I had seen this book long before I had actually read it.  It was a case of judging a book by it’s cover; of course the story was great and actually began my love affair with Ms. Mallery as an author.

Bending the Rules by Susan Andersen–The cover, a woman peeking over the shoulder of a suited man who appears to be a police officer, looks like it would be a fun read. It was my first book by her and definitely not my last.

Vision in White by Nora Roberts–I picked this book up at the store, having no idea what was inside.  The cover is gorgeous.  I had never read Nora Roberts before (I don’t know why, maybe she just seemed outdated, she’d been writing books since the 80s!  GASP!).  Now I eagerly await anything she writes and, while they don’t all appeal to me like this series did, she usually hits it out of the park.  This whole series makes me very happy just remembering the great romances.

What I Did for Love by Susan Elizabeth Phillips–Some authors are so great in your mind, that you will immediately read anything they put out.  I saw this on the shelf at the library and picked it up without reading what it was about.  I had already read several of her books, mostly the Chicago Stars series, which this book is not a part of, so I knew she could write a great romance.  I was not disappointed.  This is probably my favorite book by her, which is saying a lot!

Out of this World by Jill Shalvis–My first book by one of my favorite authors.  I picked it up because it looked funny, and it was.  Even though it’s kind of different than the rest of the books I’ve read by her, it was a great read. 

The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews–Another of my favorite authors.  The covers for the books I’d previously read by her were illustrated, and this one was a departure.  The picture really fit with the story.  And the story, probably my favorite by the author, once again. 

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Tee March 6, 2012 at 10:21 am Reply

    I’ve always wanted red hair too. Damn that Ariel!!! Also, do I need to read The Grimm Legacy because that cover looks awesomely creepy? Also, the Hourglass cover. I totally love that one too!

    • Dixie March 6, 2012 at 10:32 am Reply

      the grimm legacy was GREAT! i keep hoping for a sequel, but no luck so far. 😦

  2. Kristina Ebert March 6, 2012 at 10:48 am Reply

    I love the Grimm cover and i do that have the book and I still need to read it. And of course Starcrossed, love it!

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/03/top-10-tuesdays-12.html

    • Gone Pecan March 6, 2012 at 10:54 am Reply

      I know!! I checked your list out as well, I love the Cinder cover but I haven’t read it yes. I tried to leave you a comment but it just wouldn’t let me!! ~Maggie

  3. Candice March 6, 2012 at 10:59 am Reply

    I remember being 4 and wanting red, curly hair… my stringy blonde-brown mess was not cutting it for me. Now, I laugh at that because I would look crazy with red curly hair. These are all such great looking covers – especially Dixie’s yummy finds! Haven’t read many of either of yours, but I just may now! 🙂

    • Dixie March 6, 2012 at 11:09 am Reply

      my mom and uncle have curly red hair…it’s not for everyone. 🙂 my younger son has brownish/blondish/reddish curly hair, and he’s adorable, but i may be biased. all of the books i listed are GEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRR-REAT!

  4. Amy @ bookgoonie March 6, 2012 at 11:48 am Reply

    Great mix of YA & Adult titles.

Leave a Reply

