Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter

Kate Winters has won immortality. But if she wants a life with Henry in the Underworld, she’ll have to fight for it.

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

I didn’t write a review for the first book, I read it before we started up our blog, but I tell you with complete confidence the first was phenomenal and I couldn’t wait to read the second!  So imagine how I felt when one day it just so happened to show up on net galley. .  .  GREATEST DAY EVER.

Since you all should have read book numero uno I’ll go ahead and dive right in to GI.  The story starts with Kate coming back from her summer in Greece with James ready to being her time with Henry as Queen.  Kate is scheduled to have her coronation ceremony where she will officially become Queen of the Underworld and while the ceremony is underway they are attacked by Cronus, a Titan, who has been locked up in Tartarus but is slowing gaining strength.  Calli, seeking revenge, has begun the process of waking him up so that she can release him.  During the battle Henry and several of his siblings are taken.

After that, most of the book follows Kate, James, and Ava as they travel in the underworld to find Henry, who is now being held prisoner to try and force him to open the gate and release Cronus.  As part of Kate coming into her powers she has been seeing visions of where Henry is trapped but the problem is even though Kate can see where he is, she does not know the exact location, in fact there is only one person who knows where they are other than Henry.  Persephone, Henry’s first wife. They proceed on their journey stopping to look for Persephone, and as much as Kate hates it, ask for her help.

For so much of the book to be dedicated to the traveling I felt that this part of the story was resolved rather quickly, but I can see where the book needed to go in the end.  The modern names are still throwing me a bit, as the story goes on I tend to forget which God is who, especially when they start calling each other “brother” or “sister” etc which gets even weirder when they start talking about who has slept together.  Creeps me out a bit but I do like that this makes Kate state that she would not cheat on Henry and will remain faithful. (I don’t care that she is young, it’s cute and I like that there is no doubt to her love.) No love triangle here!! YAY!!!

As for the ending, can we say Cliffhanger?!  Honestly before the ending I would have given this a 3.5 which is a great rating, but after?  Solid 4, I need to know!  (I would have given a 5 but couldn’t the good guys get a break at least once?  Calli and Cronus don’t ALWAYS have to have the upper hand.  SIGH.) Also, I have to say I expected part of the “surprise” at the end, but definitely not everything!  If you loved GT then you will love this one as well.  Bring on Book 3, I’m so excited!

4/5

5 thoughts on “Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter

  1. Tee March 7, 2012 at 5:31 pm Reply

    I was a little upset at Henry during portions of this book. First with the coldness and then with the YOU KNOW WHAT, but I have to say, that man is hot. Like hot hot. And I love Kate. This was a tad slower for me than the first book, but I liked it too.

    • Gone Pecan March 7, 2012 at 5:33 pm Reply

      Henry aggravated me at times, but in the end he totally made up for everything. Thats why I didn’t say anything :p ~Maggie

  2. Candice March 8, 2012 at 10:37 am Reply

    I literally had to control my urge to do a happy dance when I saw you read and reviewed this! When I got it through NetGalley I read it the second I got home and stayed up super late to finish it. It was THAT good! And Henry? Ohhhh Henry! I nearly didn’t like him in this book, but as Tee said above “that man is hot.” But yeah… that ending? Aimee Carter is pure evil to do that to us.

    • Gone Pecan March 8, 2012 at 1:14 pm Reply

      Did you read goddess hunt yet?

      • Candice March 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm

        Not yet. I downloaded it the other day, but I’m making myself wait to read it until I finish my other books I’m reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

