TGIF!

 
 
Promote An Author: Is there a particular author you wish got more recognition? 
Pick one author & tell us why we should read their work.
 
Polly Shulman–YA author who currently has two completely different books out, the last of which was released in 2010.  Enthusiasm is a modern day, high school version of Pride and Prejudice (something you know I cannot resist) and The Grimm Legacy is a fantasy story about a library that holds and catalogues items related to Fairy Tales, which are real, by the way.  Like I said, completely different, but also, COMPLETELY AWESOME!  I keep hoping for a sequel to The Grimm Legacy, there doesn’t seem to be anything like that on the horizon. Sad face 😦  ~Dixie
 

Elizabeth Eulberg – I’ve read both of her books so far and I cannot wait for # 3”Take a Bow” which comes out in just  a few short weeks!  Do you love Stephanie Perkins?  How her books are just so freaking adorable you want to carry them around all the time so you could swoon at any given moment?  (I guess I might be promoting more than one author, haha) Then you will love Ms Eulberg’s books.  They are great, though I do have to admit since I have a great love for The Beatles “The Lonely Hearts Club” is my favorite.  I still smile and think about it every time I hear Penny Lane. 🙂  Her books are cute and funny without too much teen angst and so far no supernatural powers of any soft and I can guarantee she doesn’t need any of that.  They are perfect just the way they are! 

Oh and I completely agree with Dixie on Polly as well.  LOVE LOVE LOVE her!!! ~Maggie

15 thoughts on “TGIF!

  1. Shannon @ Books Devoured March 9, 2012 at 10:39 am Reply

    I have Prom and Prejudice on my shelf and have yet to pick it up, it sounds like I really need to!! Also, I love the cover and title for The Lonely Hearts Club so I need to get that one too!! I think you have convinced me to make her a priority! I do love Stephanie Perkins! =)

    • Gone Pecan March 9, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

      Yay!! Let me know if you like them, I sure did!! ~Maggie

  2. Candice March 9, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    Well… I will now be keeping my eyes out for both of these authors, thank you. Also… The Grimm Legacy sounds completely like my cup of tea!

    • Dixie March 9, 2012 at 11:31 am Reply

      totes awesome. you’ll love it.

  3. Tee March 9, 2012 at 12:25 pm Reply

    I love Prom & Prejudice and for some reason have never read Lonely Hearts Club. It’s totally going on my list (yeah, thanks)! Also, Enthusiasm? Clearly I need to read this too. I’m into anything P&P too!

    • Gone Pecan March 9, 2012 at 1:06 pm Reply

      You can’t go wrong with any of them! ~m

  4. Word Nerd March 9, 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

    Oh…”The Grimm Legacy” sounds like something I would LOVE!

    New Twitter follower via GReads/TGIF

    • Gone Pecan March 9, 2012 at 1:46 pm Reply

      It’s awesome!!! Love your blog name!!! ~m

  5. Sarah E. March 9, 2012 at 8:12 pm Reply

    Both great picks! I couldn’t pick just one either.

  6. Kate M. March 26, 2012 at 3:14 pm Reply

    Yeah I heard something last year on Polly Shulman’s twitter site: “Signed a contract to write THE WELLS BEQUEST, a companion to THE GRIMM LEGACY, with Jaya as a teen and a science fiction/time travel theme.”
    Hopfully more info comes up soon. I do know some publishing house can go through a year or two on edits and run-throughs before printing it.

    • Gone Pecan March 26, 2012 at 4:07 pm Reply

      YAY!!! ~If you hear something let us know!!! ~Maggie

    • Dixie March 26, 2012 at 4:09 pm Reply

      yippee! gives me a reason to reread grimm legacy

  7. Polly May 4, 2012 at 4:12 pm Reply

    Hey Dixie, Polly here! Thank you for the very kind words. I just sent the manuscript of The Wells Bequest to my editor, so the slow wheels of publication can start to grind.

    • Dixie May 4, 2012 at 4:31 pm Reply

      that’s awesome! can’t wait to read it! now, i just have to go reread The Grimm Legacy.

Leave a Reply

