Lundi Lagniappe {6}

It’s that time when we post the other books we’ve been reading, the ones that don’t get full reviews, but we want you to know what we think of them, anyway.  🙂

Legend by Marie Lu (Legend Series Book 1)– Great book, took a few chapters to get into it though. . . I wish there would have been a bit more “happier” parts.  Interested to see where the story goes. . . I hope she gets her dog back. 😦 3.75/5 ~m

 

Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs (Medusa Girls Series Book 1)– This is the first book I’ve read by this author and it won’t be the last!  Great take on the Medusa legend.  I’m ready for book 2!! 3.5/5

Undercurrent by Tricia Rayburn (Siren Series Book 2) – Overall I actually like this one more than the first book which is rare I almost always hate the second book.  Great read!! Poor Simon. 😦  3.5/5 ~m

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare–Book one in the Mortal Instruments series.  I’ve already read the first three books, but I wanted to reread them all because I haven’t read City of Fallen Angels, and because City of Lost Souls comes out in May.  There was so much I forgot about these books because it’s been a couple of years since I read them, but they’re still great.  And now I can read what all the different POVs and alternate scenes that Cassie Clare has been putting out are about.  Overall, great book, very imaginative.  I remember why I love both Simon and Jace, and why they’re  both such tragic heroes for me.  😦  4/5 ~d

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare–It’s fun to go back and read something that you know the ending to, which makes all the strange parts make more sense and all the lovey dovey parts more palatable. I also love the climax of this one, which shows how kick-ass Clary really is.  4/5 ~d

Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale–The second book in the Austenland series, although both books can stand alone.  It’s been a while since I read Austenland, so I didn’t remember all the characters, but this book has a new heroine.  It’s supposed to be a take on the gothic horror stories from the Regency period, but it seemed to me that the main character, Charlotte, was projecting creepy things where there were none, until there actually was.  Loved the characters and the love story.  I didn’t want to put it down toward the end.  3.5/5 ~d

2 thoughts on “Lundi Lagniappe {6}

  1. Tee March 19, 2012 at 5:59 pm Reply

    I need to read Midnight in Austenland. But will I be sad that there’s no Mr. Nobley? Oh I love him so.

    • Gone Pecan March 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm Reply

      Well no, he had his happily ever after 🙂

Leave a Reply

