Lundi Lagniappe {8}

Welcome to our feature, Lundi Lagniappe, where we let you know the books we’ve read in the past couple weeks that we haven’t reviewed.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray–A plane full of “Miss Teen Dream” contestants crashes and the survivors make their home on the desert island, patiently awaiting their rescuers. It’s a satire about pretty much everything that currently floats in mainstream pop culture today. It’s pro-female and pretty funny, if a little extreme. 3/5

Aftershock by Jill Shalvis–When Dax discovers he’s fathered a child with Amber after their brief encounter following an earthquake, he decides he wants to be a part of their lives, despite Amber’s hesitance and wariness. Cute, quick read. 3/5.5

Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers–Jocelyn’s decides to go on a scavenger hunt after the clues left to her by her supposedly dead twin brother, Jack, and she ropes their friend, Noah, into it as well. Very creepy book. It took a long time for me to read it because of the creep factor. And while the book was good, it had kind of a weird ending, so I’m on the fence about it. 3.75/5

The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen–A girl on the lower rungs of popularity in love with a boy in the elite of their school heirachy. Despite it’s length (380 pages), I finished it pretty quickly. The blurb mentions that it’s “Pretty and Pink meets Anna and the French Kiss,” and it’s pretty apt. 4/5

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare–The third book in the Mortal Instruments series finally gives us some answers! It’s a second read for me, but I remember how I kept hoping there was something that could make sense in the whole Clary/Jace relationship. And, of course, there is. Not that I’m going to tell you what it is, go read it, it’s excellent! 4.5/5

Holiday Sparks by Shannon Stacey–Just another story about a girl visiting home and falling for a guy that had a crush on her in high school.  Totally cute, sweet and short.  4/5

~*~

Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward – BROWN CHICKEN BROWN COW.  I love this entire series and I’ve yet to read a “bad” book.  And next up is Blay and Quihnn?!?!  5/5

 

Easily Amused by Karen McQuestion – hmmm single, 29, living alone, slightly anti social, sister getting married, why does this sound so familiar???  I found this on goodreads and I am so glad I did.  It was like reading my own life minus the hot guys.  LOVE.  4/5

3 thoughts on “Lundi Lagniappe {8}

  1. Tee April 16, 2012 at 4:57 pm Reply

    Pretty in Pink meets Anna and the French Kiss? I’m so there! I love girly books like that. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan April 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm Reply

      It’s waiting at the library for me right now!!!! ~Maggie

    • Gone Pecan April 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm Reply

      I really liked it ~dixie

Leave a Reply

