TGIF

Reading Blues: We all get them from time to time. What helps you overcome those reading slumps when nothing seems to grab your attention?

The simplest fix for me is one of two things. 

 Stop reading.  **GASP**  Sometimes I go an entire week without reading and just veg out and watch The Bang Theory for the 1,000th time (I don’t care how many times I’ve watched it or how much I hate cats, I LOVE the Soft Kitty song.)  Or maybe there are some movies to catch up on?  Personally I need to watch ALL of the movies leading up to The Avengers because I haven’t seen a single one.

Switch genres.  This is more likely to happen then to stop reading completely but yields the same results.  I get on kicks with everything in my life.  I want to eat Taco Bell everyday for a week?  Yes, yes I do!!  So sometimes when I go overboard on the dystopians (I know I’m not the only one they are everywhere.) I take a book or two “off” and read something light and fluffy and totally swoon worthy. 

What about you??

15 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. Jen April 27, 2012 at 8:50 am Reply

    Switching genres is actually a pretty fantastic idea! Honestly, getting out of a reading slump is HARD. I didn’t even think to try that one. Good lookin’ out! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 9:09 am Reply

      Yeah, I’ll choose switching over stopping any day which is a good thing since I tend to get ahead of myself and request too many library/netgalley books at one time. Thanks for stopping by!! ~Maggie

  2. Tee April 27, 2012 at 8:59 am Reply

    Sometimes I do the same thing and I agree, a genre switch is usually the remedy. Or if I’ve been reading darker, more dystopian things, I’ll switch to a girly, sweet story (Austen retellings, anyone?). Or vice versa. That usually does the trick!

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 9:11 am Reply

      Speaking of Austen retellings (though it isn’t one, just reminds me of Prom and Prejudice :P) I have the new Elizabeth Eulberg! I picked it up at the library yesterday. I could go from that to 50 Shades, talk about a genre jump. HAHA. ~M

  3. Tanya Patrice April 27, 2012 at 8:59 am Reply

    Those 2 things usually work for me too!

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 9:14 am Reply

      I had a mini “stop reading” since I didn’t read anything yesterday. It was quite strange since I’ve been cranking out books the last few weeks. My goal on goodreads is 100 for the year and I’m already at 77. I don’t know if I should be proud or a little sad? LOL ~M

  4. Sidne April 27, 2012 at 10:26 am Reply

    good choices. like the owl tag too. gone Pecan. as many as i eat, i definitely has Gone Pecan. have a pecan tree. http://sidnereading.blogspot.com

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 10:28 am Reply

      Thanks!! Dixie worked on that for a long time for me! ~M

  5. Elizabeth April 27, 2012 at 11:12 am Reply

    I also get on kicks with everything in my life and then get really sick of whatever it is and need a break/chance of pace. I have overdone the dystopias, so right now reading romance is saving me from stopping reading! Also, I do sometimes stop reading… but have a much harder time doing that now that I blog!

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 11:44 am Reply

      I know but I can’t NOT read them. . .and the Insurgent is coming out?! It’s been pre-ordered, I CANNOT WAIT!!!!

      • Elizabeth April 27, 2012 at 11:57 am

        I put myself on the library hold list for that one (I am trying to not grow my book collection further)… I am 38th in line. Luckily they have 20 copies on order, so I will hopefully get to Insurgent before the end of May!!

      • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 1:27 pm

        Yeah. I try not to get too many books but certain ones demand that they be bought!!! I know I will want to go back and read them at my leisure (HAHAH made myself laugh with this one) one day.

  6. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog April 27, 2012 at 11:18 am Reply

    Take a tv break is a great idea!

    • Gone Pecan April 27, 2012 at 11:46 am Reply

      Yeah, I’m always talking to my sister about movies that I never watch. Usually if I don’t make myself go see it at the theater there is a 90 % chance I never will. I’ve got books to read!!! ~M

  7. Caro @ Ds Bookworld April 28, 2012 at 2:37 am Reply

    Yep, sounds like that could totally happen to me, too. I mean the taco and Big Bang Theory thing 😉 yay for both!
    Here’s my TGIF of the week

Leave a Reply

