Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic:

Top Ten Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie.

Lather, rinse, repeat.  Lather, rinse, repeat.  That pretty much what I feel like we will all be doing today.  A lot of great books have already made it to the movie level or have been optioned.  It’s a really good time to love book to movie adaptations.  I mean who doesn’t want to see Divergent the movie??  Half of my list has already been made (Twilight, Harry Potter, and Hunger Games) while the other half are optioned or already getting underway somehow (The Sky is Everywhere, Mortal Instruments, Divergent, etc.)  That being said here are a few of Dixie’s choices(with maybe a few notes from me :P):

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – A GREAT BOOK.  I found it on Goodreads and Dixie read and reviewed.  We both loved it and I plan on buying her next book as soon as I can afford to since I’ve got to pay the shipping from the UK, but it will totally be worth it!!  Per Dixie “no special effects, just a sweet G rated romance.”  She picks John Krasinski from The Office as Lincoln.  What do you think??

This Lullaby or The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – Personally I haven’t read a single book by Ms Dessen so I can’t judge but Dixie says  “Either one or both.  I’m not picky.” so I’m guessing these are pretty good. 🙂  To the TBR list they go!!

The Secret Society Girl Series by Diana Peterfreund- Dixie:  “much mystery and intrigue and sexy times…it ‘s been too long since I read them to do a proper casting”.  Again I’ve never read anything by her but I do have her new book For Darkness Shows the Stars marked as TBR, so I trust Dixie is again showing her great taste in books.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith-  Dixie:  I can totally see this on ABC Family Hadley: Lucy Hale, Oliver: dye his hair brown and make Tom Felton a good guy.

The Cubicle Next Door by Siri Mitchell-  Dixie:  For selfish reasons, so I can rewatch instead of reread. Jackie: Ellen Page, Joe: Jake Gyllenhall

Just One of The Guys by Kristan Higgins- Dixie:  Very funny book, it would translate very well to the big screen. Chastity: Katherine Heigl. Trevor : Chris Pine

Ok. . . maybe I have one series that hasn’t made it yet. . .

The Iron Fery Series by Julie Kagawa – I LOVED this series and as I’ve stated quite often I’ve always hated fairy books.  I just never cared for them until Ash.  OMG how I love that boy (yes I know he isn’t real so hush!)  Now that The Immortal Rules (sitting on my nook waiting patiently) has been optioned I’m hoping someone out there will see the genius that is the Iron Fery series are do it justice.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Elizabeth May 1, 2012 at 10:24 am Reply

    How funny, you’re the second ones I’ve seen who’d cast John Krasinski as Lincoln in Attachments! I’m not sure I can see that one, honestly. He’s just… too skinny/lanky for the role. Then again, everything in Hollywood is skinnier than it should be. (Except according to those weirdos who thought Jennifer Lawrence wasn’t skinny enough to play Katniss. But that’s ridiculous, so I don’t count it.)

    • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 10:31 am Reply

      I’m with you, I thought he was too small too. Maybe more like Kellen Lutz?? Hot and buff. He could give that aww shucks appeal IMO. ~Maggie.

      • Elizabeth May 1, 2012 at 10:59 am

        The best thought I can come up with is Jason Segel if he put on a little more bulk. I don’t know, though.

      • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 12:27 pm

        Eh, He isn’t hot to me. Linc is supposed to be nerdy and a big buff like guy. ~M

      • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 2:12 pm

        i agree that krasinski is too lanky, but segal isn’t good looking enough (much as i love him), but maybe a love child of the two of them (now that is a scary thought) ~dixie

  2. Tee May 1, 2012 at 10:51 am Reply

    Great list guys! So true that so many of the ones I’d be dying to see have already been made (yay for us!). Your casting on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is awesome. It’s funny because I just cast that one in my review (it won’t go up for a couple of weeks), but I chose Lucy Hale too. That’s exactly how I pictured Hadley. Great minds think alike! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 12:26 pm Reply

      I’m sure it would be a great movie, but I don’t know about Tom Felton. . .he will always be evil to me. . . ~Maggie

      • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 2:10 pm

        I like felton because of the accent…who else could we pick? Tom sturridge?

  3. Julie S. May 1, 2012 at 11:55 am Reply

    Great list! Secret Society Girl was on mine too. I’d love to see all that secret society stuff brought to life…plus all the preppy fashions! And I agree about Sarah Dessen books…I wish more of hers were made into movies. I’d like to see This Lullaby as a movie.

    • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 12:27 pm Reply

      I haven’t read any of those picks from Dixie! I feel so out of the loop!!! ~Maggie

    • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 3:56 pm Reply

      As much as I love Dex, it’s Remy I’d like to see portrayed. The only person I could think of with that much attitude would be Sam from iCarly.

  4. Amber Elise @ Du Livre May 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm Reply

    A THOUSAND TIMES YES TO IRON FEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Du Livre’s Top Ten Tuesday

    • Gone Pecan May 1, 2012 at 2:49 pm Reply

      I’m glad someone else loves them as much as me 🙂 ~Maggie

  5. Heather@ The Flyleaf Review May 1, 2012 at 8:42 pm Reply

    I was SO close to adding This Lullaby to my Top Ten because I LOVE Remy and Dexter! Hands down my fave S. Dessen book:) And your list is the second one I have seen with Attachments on it, I need to go check that one out! Thanks fro dropping by earlier:)

Leave a Reply

