Top 10 Tuesday {30}

Brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, who ask us a question every week, to which we must find 10 answers.  Huh.  Let’s get on with it, shall we?

Top Ten Favorite Quotes From Books

1. “I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.” Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  And there you go.  We’re now all in love with you, Mr. Darcy. ~d

2.  “He can run faster than Severus Snape confronted with shampoo.”  Fred Weasley,Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  The humor in these books always floor me and make me giggle out loud, which I rarely do while reading.  Fred and George, in particular, are extremely funny, often at others’ expense, as the above quote suggests.  ~d
 
 
3.  “Tom counted the pages of the sermon; after church he always knew how many pages there had been, but he seldom knew anything else about the discourse.” The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain.  The quote above shows the general nature of Tom, the charismatic trouble making youth.  I always thought that this book was better than The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, I guess because it was so much lighter in tone. ~d
 
 
4. “When I stepped out into the bright sunlight from the darkness of the movie house, I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home.”  Ponyboy, The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton.  The beginning and end of one of my favorite books.  So well-written, I think you could probably read it now and have it be just as relevent as it was in 1967. ~d
 
 
5. “Where there’s hope, there’s life. It fills us with fresh courage and makes us strong again.”  Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl.  The spirit of this child, who was only 13 when she and her family went into hiding, was unbreakable.  For someone so young and sheltered, she was very wise.  This book broke my heart when I was 15, and I know that millions of others have also been touched by her words. ~d
 
 
6. “Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.” Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.  This whole book is so poetically written, it was a true pleasure to read the prose, not just the story.  ~d
 
 
7.  “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling. Oh Dumbledore, how I cried when you died. ~m
 
 
 8.  “You’ll stay with me?’ ‘Until the very end,’ said James.” – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling.  OMG y’all.  Can I tell you how thankful I am that I was reading this in the privacy of my own home?  I cried, boy did I cry.  “Until the very end” is what I want as a tattoo. SIGH. ~m

 

9.  “My name is Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn, third son of the Unseelie Court…Let it be known–from this day forth, I vow to protect Meghan Chase, daughter of the Summer King, with my sword, my honor, and my life. Her desires are mine. Her wishes are mine. Should even the world stand against her, my blade will be at her side. And should it fail to protect her, let my own existence be forfeit. This I swear, on my honor, my True Name, and my life. From this day on…” His voice went even softer, but I still heard it as though he whispered it into my ear. “I am yours.”  – Have I mentioned that I love the Iron Fey Series?  Ash is the ultimate.  READ THESE BOOKS. ~m

 
 10. “Let’s just say you may regret that second piece of cake.’
Oh my God. Regret cake? Whatever was about to happen must be truly evil.”  – Hex Hall  by Rachel Hawkins. Come on. . . it’s funny!  You’ve got to have a little humor in your life.  🙂 ~m

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday {30}

  1. WickedWillow May 8, 2012 at 8:43 am Reply

    I love that there are 3 HP quotes! Yay, to being a Potterhead!
    Check out my top 10 quotes
    X

    • Dixie May 8, 2012 at 8:49 am Reply

      we could have put a million, as you know…but it’s just not fair to the other books 🙂

  2. Tee May 8, 2012 at 10:09 am Reply

    I LOVE all of the Harry Potter references. The Snape/shampoo one was cracking me up. I don’t even remember that! Also, seriously, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I totally agree with you. Her words are so beautiful and poetic. I think I have a billion dog-eared pages in my copy. Awesome list!

  3. Elizabeth May 8, 2012 at 10:22 am Reply

    The Outsiders! What a great book! Also like your HP choices and Anne Frank, of course.

  4. Anne May 8, 2012 at 12:04 pm Reply

    You picked some great Harry Potter quotes. I tear up every time I read that quote “until the very end.”

  5. TrishaDM May 8, 2012 at 12:22 pm Reply

    I enjoyed your Harry Potter quotes as well! Especially #7. Great list!

  6. I looooooove that Iron Queen quote!!! Awesome picks!!

    • Gone Pecan May 8, 2012 at 3:14 pm Reply

      Oh how I LOVE all that is Kagawa! Thanks for stopping by!! ~Maggie

  7. Lauren @ Story Bound May 8, 2012 at 9:57 pm Reply

    LOVE all the HP quotes! And the Mr. Darcy one of course!

    • Gone Pecan May 8, 2012 at 10:15 pm Reply

      We could talk Potter for days and Darcy of course is one of the original fake men of our dreams. :). Thanks for stopping by!!! Maggie

  8. Keri Payton (@KeriPayton) May 9, 2012 at 5:53 am Reply

    Love the shampoo quote. Such wit in those books! ♥

  9. Julie Seifert May 12, 2012 at 7:46 am Reply

    Great list! I had forgotten about that shampoo quote until I read it here. So funny!!

Leave a Reply

