Bout of Books

I, Dixie, will be participating in Bout of Books this year, which runs from 12:01 am Monday May 14 to 11:59 pm Sunday May 20th, and basically challenges me to read more than my normal amount of books in that time period.  I don’t know how I will accomplish this, because I may be going out of state that weekend, but I give it my best, I shall.  My goals for Bout of Books are as follows:

1) Read/Complete 5 books;

2) Of those 5 books, 3 must be review material from Netgalley and/or author submissions;

Books I intend to read/review, in no particular order:

  • The Journeys of John and Julia in Chapter One: Genesis by Aurelia
  • Summer Daysby Susan Mallery
  • Rules of the Game by Sandy James
  • Cardboard Characters by Julie Seifert
  • The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting

3) Write reviews for those books to be posted the day they’re finished (or the next day, because I’m not writing a review at 10:30 at night)

Um…yeah, I think that’s enough. And I will be updating here (and on Twitter and Goodreads) every morning how much I’ve read. 

Also, I wanted to let you guys know that we’re doing our first giveaway!  We got a bunch of promotional stuff from Susan Mallery (which is so cool!), and you’ll get a chance to win that as well as a copy of the book Summer Days (which doesn’t come out until May 29th) when I review the book next week!  So, look out for that and tell all your friends!

23 thoughts on “Bout of Books

  1. creativedeeds May 10, 2012 at 5:24 pm Reply

    Good luck with your goals and have fun!

    • Gone Pecan May 10, 2012 at 7:51 pm Reply

      Books ate mostly always a good time! 😉

  2. Kelsey May 10, 2012 at 6:34 pm Reply

    Good luck reaching all your goals! I haven’t heard of any of those books, but I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    • Gone Pecan May 10, 2012 at 7:52 pm Reply

      I am sure i will enjoy the books…let’s hope they’re interesting enough to keep me reading

  3. Amanda @ On a Book Bender May 10, 2012 at 10:49 pm Reply

    Best of luck with your goals!

    • Gone Pecan May 12, 2012 at 7:35 am Reply

      Thanks, i shall make my best attempt! ~dixie

  4. Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal May 10, 2012 at 11:31 pm Reply

    Good luck with your goals! I’m sure you’ll be able to do it!

    • Gone Pecan May 12, 2012 at 7:36 am Reply

      Let’s hope it doesn’t feel like homework, which i always procrastinated on

  5. Becky May 10, 2012 at 11:44 pm Reply

    Good luck with your goals!! Participating with you =D

  6. louiselesley May 11, 2012 at 4:52 am Reply

    good luck!

  7. thejessiebelle May 11, 2012 at 5:15 am Reply

    Good luck with your goals!

  8. attackthestacks May 11, 2012 at 11:59 am Reply

    I think the only one of those I’ve heard of is the one by Kimberly Derting, and I’d like to read that one eventually also. Good luck! 😀

    • Gone Pecan May 12, 2012 at 7:47 am Reply

      I know, a couple are ARCs from netgalley. Good luck to you too!

  9. Jacinda (@ReadingWifeJac) May 12, 2012 at 2:25 pm Reply

    The Last Echo is a book I need to buy and read! So many books! Good luck with all of your goals!

    • Gone Pecan May 12, 2012 at 8:14 pm Reply

      I got mine from the library. Thanks, GL to you, too!

  10. Sarah Ellis May 13, 2012 at 8:39 am Reply

    Good luck with your goals 🙂 I hope you meet them!!

    Sarah
    http://fortunefavors11.blogspot.com/

  11. Prangon - The Nerd In Heels May 13, 2012 at 8:54 am Reply

    Awesome book choices. I LOVE Susan Mallery hope you have fun in the read-a-thon 🙂

  12. Prangon - The Nerd In Heels May 13, 2012 at 8:58 am Reply

    Awesome book choices. Hope you like Susan Mallery, I want to start this series soon looking forward to read your thoughts on the book 🙂

    • Dixie May 13, 2012 at 10:26 am Reply

      i love susan mallery, i’ve reviewed a few of her books here. i am very much looking forward to this next book. the series is awesome. i particulary liked the second three books about the twins.

  13. Jess & Kat (@Books_Sense) May 13, 2012 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Oooh, you are adding writing reviews to Bout of Books ? That’s going to take it up a level. Good luck !

Leave a Reply

