TGIF {30}

 
Brought to you by Ginger @ Greads
 
Supporting Characters: We tend to gush over those main characters the most, but what about those supporting roles? Who are some of your favorites? 
 
Supporting characters often make the book more palatable.  A lot of times I just wanted to slap Harry, but then Ron would say something funny and all would be right in the world again.  It seems that we often talk about supporting characters because the main character is not our favorite, so I know we’ve mentioned Ron and Luna, as well as Tina Hakim-Baba fromPrincess Diaries,so I wanted to find someone I love that doesn’t get the spotlight as often. 
 
 
So today I’m going to go with Stephen from The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson.  Stephen is an unassuming police officer who just happens to be able to see ghosts and works toward making sure they don’t cause any trouble.  He’s also a kind of mentor for Rory, our MC.  I think he will end up being a love interest for her, as well, and I hope so, cause he’s a hottie. 
 
 
~*~
 

I’m going to go completely outside my YA box this week.  Favorite supporting character?  I choose Tara from the Sookie Stackhouse series.  No she truly isn’t my favorite out there but I chose her for a specific purpose.  I’ve only read (or I guess listened to since they were audio) the first four Sookie books but I can tell you compared to the show Tara in the book is the greatest thing since sliced bread.  Have you seen True Blood?  UGH.  Tara on the show makes me want to put in ears plugs so I don’t have to hear that annoying whine.  And the way she thinks she is always right when it comes to the vampires??  AAHHH!!!  Spoiler Alert from last season’s finale:  Tara got shot in the head and I liked it.  I felt vindicated for having to listen to her for four seasons.  Since the show has gone off in its own world ( I’m sad to say even though I like book Tara better I think the show is better than the books, THE HORROR!!!)  here’s hoping they kill off her character.  I rather her in the books.

6 thoughts on “TGIF {30}

  1. Caro @ Ds Bookworld May 11, 2012 at 8:57 am Reply

    The first Sookie Stackhouse novel sits on my shelf, I got it for my birthday from a friend. But I am kinda hesitant about picking it up… I don’t know, it just sounds like it’s not gonna be my thing. But I’ve seen more and more people recommend it, makes me feel like I don’t appericiate the book enough. *shame on me* So I’ll read it soon, I think.

    • Gone Pecan May 11, 2012 at 9:28 am Reply

      I only started trying to read any of them a couple of months ago. I’ve been putting them off so long that I figured I would just go the audio route. I like them but I do have to say they are a bit “fuffy”. Definitely not as serious as the tv series. Each season seems to be loosely based on the next book but last season looks like the jumped around up to book 8 for some of the story lines?? ~Maggie

  2. Candice May 11, 2012 at 9:01 am Reply

    I agree… Tara is much better in the books than the show! I really liked Tara at first on the show and thought she was such a fun friend… but then the show got a little crazypants and I wasn’t a fan of Tara at all! Although I do hate she gets shot in the head…. haha

    • Gone Pecan May 11, 2012 at 9:30 am Reply

      I wish you could have seen me when I saw the finale. I jumped up and yelled at the tv. I watched it with my sister who has already seen it so she was waiting to see what I would do bc she knows how much I hate Tara. That was one of my favorites finales to date. 😛 ~Maggie

  3. Tee May 11, 2012 at 9:45 am Reply

    You’re making me so curious about the Sookie Stackhouse books. I’ve heard that they’re so much fun. I’ve only seen the first season of True Blood (but I liked the characters), but I’ve heard it’s so different anyway.

    • Gone Pecan May 11, 2012 at 10:00 am Reply

      Well for the first 3 seasons they were decent about following the books, albeit still VERY loosely. But the 4th? They went crazy with the cheese whiz, added A LOT that I don’t think happens in future books from reading summaries and pulled stuff all the way from book 8. I guess they want to knock out everything ASAP so they can just go in their own direction. The books are lighter. I find the show more addictive. ~M

Leave a Reply

