TGIF {32}

Show Me Your Cover: What are some of the worst book covers, but hold some of the best stories inside? Don’t be embarrassed, show us your cover!
 

Manhunting by Jennifer Crusie –  I know I’ve talked about how cheesy the original cover is before.   A guy not only with a mullet (that’s right, I said MULLET) but a receding hair line and thick Tom Selleck mustache.  Hot right??  HAHA. This is hand downs my favorite Jennifer Crusie.  It is hilarious and you should read it.

 

Being Friends with Boys – Terra Elan McVoy – It’s an absolutely cute book, but I have no idea what this cover has to do with the story and doesn’t help sell the cuteness that it is.

~*~

Nauti Dreams by Lora Leigh — As if the cover picture wasn’t enough, imagine me picking this up at the library from the guy I had an innocent crush on (because I’m married), and him having to tell me, “Um, Nauti Dreams is due back in two weeks instead of three because there are others on the waiting list” while handing it to me …I’m blushing just thinking about it. 🙂

Major Crush by Jennifer Echols — While the book was great, the cover is less than ideal.  Any cutesy cover with animated people on it, just no.  I felt like an eighth grader checking this book out, and not in a good way.

9 thoughts on “TGIF {32}

  1. Brittany S May 25, 2012 at 10:43 am Reply

    Haha I love the Manhunting cover! Wow. But I often do as I’m told not to do a judge books by their covers, so always good to see that there are still good stories inside!

    • Gone Pecan May 25, 2012 at 11:42 am Reply

      It is so funny. I can’t even tell you how many times I laughed while reading it. I actually own the cheesy cover version and for the life of me I cannot convince any one to read it. I guess I should buy the newer one. 🙂 ~Maggie

  2. Jen R May 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm Reply

    That vintage Harlequin cover is hilarious. And someone else listed the J Echols cover – it is a little odd!

  3. Jennifer (@feministfairy) May 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm Reply

    I love Jennifer Crusie and Manhunting definitely deserved a better cover than that! The Major Crush one is hilarious in a cheesy way. Thanks for visiting!

    Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

  4. Jennifer Bielman May 25, 2012 at 9:46 pm Reply

    Oh Yeah, those are some pretty bad covers. 🙂

  5. Ashley @ Ashley Loves Books May 26, 2012 at 5:45 am Reply

    Definitely agree about Major Crush – the cover is actually the reason I haven’t read it yet! Every time I see it on the shelf it just looks so cheesy and childish I pass it up. but I know it’s Jennifer Echols so I need to read it. That vintage Harlequin is hilarious, too!

    Thanks for stopping by my post 🙂

  6. Annette May 26, 2012 at 8:00 am Reply

    I can certainly agree with your choices! I’ve been weeding books at my library, and some of the old covers are hideous — and funny! Things have certainly changed…. Makes me wonder if in 20 years we will look back at all the covers we love now, and think they are awful. Somehow I don’t think so….

  7. Lauren @ Story Bound May 26, 2012 at 8:09 am Reply

    Wow! The Manhunting cover is awful! Good list and thanks for stopping by my post!

  8. Tasnin @ The Wild Reader May 27, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

    I have to agree the first cover is rather chessy, it would definitely put me off reading it! But I’ll definitely check out few of the books as some seem really interesting especially Major Crush!
    Thanks for stopping by my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

