Top 10 Tueday {33}

May 29: Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

 

1. Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling–I mean, obviously.  There’s just so many lessons to be learned from this series.  As well as enduring themes about love and hate and war and friendship.  If I could only read one series for the rest of my life, this would definitely be it.

2. The Help by Kathryn Stockett–This book has the potential to be timeless, much like TKaM.  And it’s important for us not to forget the past and to learn things from different perspectives.  Plus, it’s very entertaining.

3. Divergent by Victoria Roth–This dystopian world relies on segregation and separatism and it is important for us to understand that no one group should have all the power.

 

4.  The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins – Probably the first time I ever really loved a heroine.  She was a strong lead and it was a great change of pace.  I absolutely cannot wait to see where they go with the movies and love that so many of the new modern version of the “classics” are going to be movies so that even people who hate to read (sadly I know so many) will also get to enjoy these great stories.

5.  The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – For a book to make you laugh and cry?  I get goosebumps just thinking about this book. 

6. Princess Diaries Series by Meg Cabot – First introduced to these by Dixie and much discussed with Tee I feel in love with Michael Moscovitz.  Every girl should be lucky that they find their own Michael.

7. Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa – Oh these books.  One day when I actually write all the reviews I have stored in my mind and/or trusty notebook I will reread these at a leisurely pace and enjoy them again.  Fantasy, romance, what more could you want?  I think this would be a great series for an English class somewhere. . .

8. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – Keep the 80s alive my friends!  This is was the ultimate nerd book and I loved every page.

9. Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver – I know this series isn’t complete yet so I’m taking a chance on the conclusion but anyone who has read the first two knows the cliffhangers are greatness!  I think if these were read by someone that isn’t a huge reader it would motivate them to continue on and/or pick up something else similar.

10. ANY BOOK –  I know we want people to keep reading certain books because of the pure awesomeness of them but the most important part of that statement is that they keep reading.  So in 30 years I just hope there are people still reading.

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Tueday {33}

  1. LWSpotts May 29, 2012 at 11:41 am Reply

    I believe Harry Potter and The Help are probably my most favorite books of the last ten years. I have no doubts that they are here to stay.

    • Gone Pecan May 29, 2012 at 4:09 pm Reply

      You are right. We’re totally not worried 🙂 ~dixie

  2. Tanya Patrice May 29, 2012 at 11:57 am Reply

    Awesome list. I’ve read and loved a few you mentioned like The Hunger Games and Divergent.

  3. npkate May 29, 2012 at 12:21 pm Reply

    Nice list. I see we have 4 books in common.

    • Gone Pecan May 29, 2012 at 4:12 pm Reply

      That’s what is so great about the blogging community, mutual addiction fluffers is what we are ~dixie

  4. Brittany S May 29, 2012 at 12:59 pm Reply

    Ah, quite a few in common and a few I have on my TBR list 🙂

  5. EvilEva May 29, 2012 at 4:29 pm Reply

    Love your list! We had a few of the same picks. Great book nerdy minds think alike, i guess! 🙂
    Plus you have one of the books that i’m dying to read this summer on your list. i’m glad to know that Ready Player One is as awesome as i thought it would be.

    • Gone Pecan May 29, 2012 at 4:35 pm Reply

      Let me know about Ready Player One, I’m curious to see if you love it as much. ~M

  6. Lauren @ Story Bound May 29, 2012 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Nice list! Especially love Harry Potter! And I love your tenth choice 🙂

  7. Jennifer (@feministfairy) May 29, 2012 at 8:19 pm Reply

    I love your #10…such a perfect answer. Yeah for Harry Potter, Divergent, and Princess Diaries!!

    Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

    • Gone Pecan May 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm Reply

      Thanks! I love your blog name! ~Maggie

  8. Linda May 29, 2012 at 10:53 pm Reply

    Yay for Ready Player One!

    • Gone Pecan May 30, 2012 at 6:39 am Reply

      YAY! I’m glad I found someone else who read it. ~Maggie

  9. Lee@RallyTheReaders May 29, 2012 at 11:23 pm Reply

    I loved Ready Player One. It made our list, too. I can never have enough 80s references in a book.

    • Gone Pecan May 30, 2012 at 6:41 am Reply

      Oh the 80s. . . I love have they just never go away. ~Maggie

  10. Raechel Popek May 30, 2012 at 7:58 pm Reply

    I loved your picks(: I love that you have The Hunger Games and Divergent on here. Those are going to be timeless books.
    -Raechel @ Backwood Reviews

    My TTT

Leave a Reply

