TGIF {34} and Fangirl Friday {1}

Fangirl 5 Friday hosted by EvilEva over at Nancy Drew is my Homegirl, where we share what we’re fangirling about this week.

1. The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. – My birthday is coming up. What does this have to do with Harry Potter?? Well turns out my sister was trying to fly me (and herself) out to Orlando for the day and let me spend my entire birthday geeking out over Potter. (Believe me there would have been a serious hit on my savings account.) I only know this because she called me to tell me it was too much money so now I seem to have an obsession with searching flights and hotel options still thinking there could be hope that I would have had the greatest birthday ever. ~m

 

 

2. My Birthday – As I mentioned by birthday is coming up. . . and I’m not taking it well. Let’s just say 30 is NOT the new 20 to me. The one birthday I want to pretend isn’t happening is the one everyone seems determined for me to celebrate. As always I cling to the thought that I don’t look my age though I guess I can’t claim to look 17 anymore since the people at the movies stopped carding me for Rated R movies. ~m

 

3. Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen – I’m sorry but I have become obsessed with this song. I SING it constantly. I dance around the house. I watch every cover I can find. My family and I have even made little videos of pets and kids doing the Harvard baseball team’s dance. (In case you are wondering I’m listening to it while I write this. :P) Oh and did you know people are making personal business cards now? I NEED THIS! ~m

 

4. You Don’t Know You’re Beautiful by One Direction. Yeah. This is a judgment free zone. Um…I don’t listen to pop music (I’m actually a country girl), but I am obsessed with this song…and this video. When the song comes on, I just have to DANCE!!! I even started a Pandora station just for One Direction in the hopes that I get to hear it. It’s kinda sick. I mean, just look at them, they look 12. ~d

 

5. Sherlock Holmes Season 2. AHHHH! I got it! I can’t wait til I can sit down and actually watch it! Maybe I can get the boys out of the house long enough to watch all three episodes this weekend…wish me luck 🙂 ~d

Books: Which books have you found to be very rewarding when it comes to tackling tougher issues?

Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess – As a rule I try not to read what I determine “sad” books but for some reason when I read the blurb about this one I decided to try it out. Meredith is a girl who not only was molested by her own father but has to live with her mother who blames her for “tempting” him. After he is released from prison the mother wants to let him move back in and is mad at Mer when he isn’t allowed. Are you kidding me? The fact that there are actual people out there like this makes me sick. I liked the fact that though she appears to be alone in dealing with things she gets help for great neighbors. It was a great book and though I wish things like this never happened I’m glad when justice is served. ~m

9 thoughts on “TGIF {34} and Fangirl Friday {1}

  1. Candice June 1, 2012 at 8:54 am Reply

    So last night I was talking to the BGFF about what I should do for MY 30th b’day, which is still a little ways away (about 7 months) but I think it’s totally time to start planning it now. Going to Harry Potter World would be THE best 30th birthday trip! I’m not so much fearing the big 3-0 as I probably will be in a few months. Right now I’m focused on the month long birthday blowout that I WILL have come January! 🙂

    Oh, and Sherlock? Fanfreakintastic! I need to see the last episode in the second season, but the other two were perfect! Hope you enjoy!

    • Gone Pecan June 1, 2012 at 8:55 am Reply

      Woudln’t it?? I’m holding out hope that things can change!! Hope you make it there. ~Maggie

      • Tee June 1, 2012 at 10:42 am

        Harry Potter would be the most awesomely perfect birthday ever!!!! I hope you get to do it (for both of us friend. I must live through you until the Hollywood one is finished). Also, you guys are making me feel SO OLD!!!! Gah! Your pal is turning…wait for it…38 this month. I’m getting so old that I forget how old I am. That’s pretty bad. Honestly Maggie and Candice, I enjoyed my twenties, but I have absolutely loved my thirties. You girls are fabulous now and you will be even more fabulous then. 🙂

      • Gone Pecan June 1, 2012 at 10:46 am

        Haha. I have many friends older than me but when it comes for me to turn 30? Terrifying!! I hope I can get to HP bc if I do I’m going crazy with the cheese whiz in the gift shop. Another Gemini eh?? I knew we were friends for a reason! ~m

  2. Brittany S June 1, 2012 at 10:36 am Reply

    I am dying to go to HP World!! Someday… Someday… And I love the personal business cards! I think if I were single and someone gave me a personal business card, I think I’d call them just because I got a kick out of it!

    • Gone Pecan June 1, 2012 at 10:45 am Reply

      Id call them too. That’s is too funny.

  3. EvilEva June 1, 2012 at 4:18 pm Reply

    The Wizarding World of Harry Potter as a birthday present? Um that sounds like The Best Idea EVER! i hope everything works out for you because that just sounds too awesome.
    i’m also guilty of liking Call Me Maybe and that One Direction song. But i have a 12 year old cousin that’s obsessed with both so she’s my excuse for even knowing anything about them. 😉
    And Happy Birthday, btw!

    • Gone Pecan June 1, 2012 at 4:32 pm Reply

      Thanks! I’ve got 13 days to come up w a plan. ~m

  4. Katelyn Torrey June 1, 2012 at 11:08 pm Reply

    I don’t think I’ve even heard of Such A Pretty Girl before but it sounds like a very powerful book. The story behind it is very disturbing but I might just have to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

