Top 10 Tuesday {34}

Sponsored by The Broke and The Bookish

Books I’ll Never Read (or at least it feels that way)

 

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I know!!!!!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie (not the BBC one, sorry Dixie).  In fact it was playing the other night when I went to bed and when I woke up?  PLAYING AGAIN.  Twas a great day. 

2.  Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – I’ve tried twice so far for this one.  I tried to hardback book first, then when that didn’t work for me I tried the audio.  I don’t know what it is about this one but I just can’t finish it.

3.  To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – I’m horrible with the classics.  I read what was required in school and I’ve skipped the rest.  I really need to try and work on this soon.  I feel left out that I have no idea what goes on in these stories.  I haven’t even seen the movie.

4.  A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin –I want to watch to series so bad but I want to try and read the books first.  The way this is going I’m going to just have to watch the series then go back to the book which means it will take me even longer.

 

5.  Morganville Vampires Series by Rachel Caine – Have you seen how many of these there are?!  That isn’t even counting the short stories.  Considering I haven’t started this series it is way too much work to try and collect all of these to read.  It makes me a little sad though because I hear they are great.

6.  Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen – My problem here:  I didn’t read the book before the movie came out.  Then they cast Robert Pattinson??  Nope, no thank you.  I accepted him in Harry Potter because Potter can do no wrong but other than that he will only be in Twilight to me.  I refuse to watch him in anything else and now that I associate him with the book I can’t go back and read it because all I will see in my head is Edward. 

7.  Anything new from Emily Giffin – I know Dixie loves her so much but every book she writes has cheating in it.   I hate cheating in books.  Maybe one or two but all of them?!?  UGH.

8. Any graphic novel about any book I’ve read – I don’t do comics or I guess I should say comics do nothing for me?  No matter how much I love a series I just can’t get into these.  I’m a nerd not a geek.

9.  Stephen King books – This man is the reason I hate clowns and when I say hate I’m not sure that is a strong enough word.  I’ve seen a lot of his movies and they scare the crap out of me so I’m terrified to find out how creepy the books are since who knows what they left out?!

10. James Patterson books – I’ve tried a  couple out and his writing just does nothing for me.  My mom makes up for my lack of interest though.  She has read every single on of his book including the YA.

25 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday {34}

  1. Candice June 5, 2012 at 9:23 am Reply

    Up until now I thought you were super cool, but then you said you couldn’t get into Daughter of Smoke and Bone and now I have to reevaluate your coolness. 🙂

    I read Water for Elephants at the insistence of a friend before the movie came out. What’s funny is that I didn’t expect much from RobPatz, but he kind of did a good job with the character. Not a great job… but a good one. I think the more he can separate himself from Edward (and Kristen Stewart) the better of an actor he’ll be. Also I kind of refuse to read Something Borrowed because of the cheating. I did not like that aspect of it! (sorry Dixie 🙂 ) Also, graphic novels? No thanks!!!

    • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 9:26 am Reply

      Hahaha. I’m going to try again with Smoke and Bone. I know it won’t be a favorite for me but I know I can get through it one day. I still have it as a TBR on goodreads. ~maggie

      • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 9:35 am

        i just have to say that i had a hard time with the premise of Something Borrowed, too. But then I ACTUALLY READ THE BOOK. and loved it. so there. ~dixie

      • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 9:37 am

        Hey I read it too!! I gave up on the purple book, I don’t remember the name. :p ~Maggie

  2. Grad Student June 5, 2012 at 10:55 am Reply

    I totally agree with you on cheating books. PASS! But do not worry one minute about Morganville Vampires, you are not missing that much! but To Kill a Mockingbird…you must read it! If only because so many books riff on it (Jellicoe Road, Jasper Jones, for example).

    Thanks for stopping by our blog- hope our fictional crushes inspire some TBR additions (aka read Tamora Pierce’s books!) We have loved them since we were actually young adults 🙂

    • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 11:37 am Reply

      WEll I still haven’t read Jellicoe Road either. . .it never ends! ~Maggie

  3. Brittany S June 5, 2012 at 11:33 am Reply

    I totally agree on Something Borrowed! I read the book and did not like it – I hate that cheating is condoned!!! It really bothers me. I have the second book, but I think I will be swapping it. I’ve had it for a long time and just can’t bring myself to read it.
    I really did like Water for Elephants – I read it before I saw the movie (oh wait, still haven’t seen the movie… Oops) so I was able to picture it without Robert Pattinson as the lead! I honestly doubt his ability to take that lead role so we’ll see if I ever get around to the movie!
    And of course, agreed on graphic novels. Never got the appeal.

    • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 11:38 am Reply

      Something Borrowed and Something Blue were ok. . . generally speaking I liked them minus the cheating. once I got past those I didn’t care for her other two that are out now and I stopped reading the last one halfway. ~Maggie

  4. barefoot_med_student June 5, 2012 at 2:35 pm Reply

    I struggle with classics too, but Mockingbird is much easier than your regular classics – and one of my favourite books ever. Definitely worth a try!

    I’d love for you to check out my Top Ten Freebie 🙂

  5. EvilEva June 5, 2012 at 5:13 pm Reply

    Really great list and i loved your topic!
    Don’t feel too bad, i almost gave up on Daughter of Smoke and Bone too. i think you just have to power through the first like, 10 chapters or so and then it’s really interesting and you’ll actually wanna finish the book. i personally liked the second half of the book a lot more than the first half.
    And i’m book-nerd-ashamed of myself too because i STILL haven’t read To Kill A Mockingbird. In fact my brain almost finished that title as To Kill A MockingJAY, if that tells you where my mind’s at. 😉

    • Maggie June 5, 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

      Ha. I don’t know why it’s so difficult. Maybe I can just get it and only read 5 chapters a week?? I’ll think about it

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Yare June 5, 2012 at 6:38 pm Reply

    I tried reading some of these and just couldn’t get through.
    I really haven’t the slightest idea why, I just can’t.
    my ttt; http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/06/top-ten-tuesday-any-topic.html

  7. Mary @ mysistersbookshelf June 5, 2012 at 6:58 pm Reply

    I declared Atticus Finch one of my top ten fictional crushes, soooo you should probably check out To Kill A Mockingbird! Of course, I’m a lawyer (shhhh!) so that may make sense? I feel I can put that here since y’all both work full-time and it’s so exciting to see other bloggers who do!

    • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 7:03 pm Reply

      I will one day I just have the small issue of wanting to read every book and I just can’t control myself. If you are a lawyer and blog you must be a machine. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, it’s great to meet new blogging friends! ~m

      • Mary @ mysistersbookshelf June 5, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        No, blogging keeps me from BECOMING a machine! I think it’s perfectly logical 🙂 Same with books! Which is why I’m like you and always have a never-ending list!

  8. Lauren @ Story Bound June 5, 2012 at 7:08 pm Reply

    I like your list! Although, I myself love Pride & Prejudice, Water for Elephants and To Kill A Mockingbird. But I do definitely agree with you on the whole cheating thing and Stephen King – no thank you. In fact the picture of the book from him you put up will probably give me nightmares, so thanks 🙂

    • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 7:13 pm Reply

      OMG. I’m so sorry!!! I wrote the post and Dixie did the pics so I hadn’t noticed them bc I’m on my phone. I would never mess around w clowns. They terrify me!!!!! I just got chills. I’ll probably have nightmares too. Ahhh!

      • Gone Pecan June 5, 2012 at 7:42 pm

        Sorry, i had to put the picture of the clown ~dixie

      • Lauren @ Story Bound June 7, 2012 at 6:49 am

        haha it’s fine! I’m glad to report, I had no nightmares 🙂 But yes, clowns are ridiculously creepy.

  9. bookgoonie June 6, 2012 at 8:06 am Reply

    Great list. I feel that way about a lot of books. I’ve resigned myself to checking out the Morganville Vampire audiobooks from the library.

    • Gone Pecan June 7, 2012 at 10:36 am Reply

      Sorry, your comment got lost in spam world for a bit. 😦 I never though to add them to the audio list. That’s how I’m “reading” the Sookie books. Hmmmmm ~Maggie

  10. npkate June 6, 2012 at 8:07 am Reply

    Nice list! The thing about the Morganville Vampires books is that they’re short, and it’s only a few hours of your time. Plus, the stories are not complicated, but they are fun. I think I’m on book 5 (haven’t actually picked one up in a few months) and I’m not the least bit sick of reading them. I just have other novels to read!

    As for the Game of Thrones series, I watched season 1 and loved it, but I’ve yet to start on season 2. I told myself I would read the series before the show came back and I didn’t ’cause those books are intimidatingly large, and I only made it a few chapters into the first book before I put it back on my shelf. The entire series sits on my bookshelf just staring at me every time I walk past, I swear.

    • Gone Pecan June 6, 2012 at 8:20 am Reply

      I’m in the middle of trying to get through the Sookie books so maybe I can try after them then….as far as Thrones I’m not as ambitious, I only bought the first one for now. Lol. ~m

  11. Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog June 6, 2012 at 3:43 pm Reply

    Oh Maggie, it breaks my heart that you haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s so good. The movie is equally fantastic 🙂

    • Gone Pecan June 6, 2012 at 5:46 pm Reply

      It breaks my heart I haven’t read every book!! There’s still time. ~m

Leave a Reply

