TGIF #35

Every week, Ginger asks us a book related question.  This weeks:

Most Valuable Book: From your personal collection of books, which ones hold the most value to you – is it signed by the author? or maybe it’s your favorite story of all time? Share it with us.

I know this is going to go against all of my YA bloggers but the most prized books in my possession (other than my Potter books but that goes without saying even though they aren’t signed) are the two Kevyn Aucoin books Face Forward and Making Faces.  I don’t know if y’all know who he is but he was a great makeup artist who grew up right here in my hometown Lafayette, LA.  In fact, his dad worked with my parents.

I have a slight obsession with MAC products and his books really got me going with color combinations and I’ve gotten pretty good with them to the point of helping people out from time to time.  (I even did my sister’s makeup for her wedding!) When FF came out, Kevyn came to the local Barnes & Noble for a signing.   I went with my aunt and waited in line forever (totally worth it)  to meet him.  Not only did I meet him and take pics but he signed both of my books as well as his mom and his boyfriend.  I love those books because he inspired me to do something (even if it is just makeup) and I love when someone local makes it.  He died a few years back but I still love him and still look at my books from time to time.

~*~

My most valuable books are the Pride and Prejudice and Emma books that belonged to my grandmother.  They’re pretty old, I’m not even sure of the dates, but they’re hardback, just plain green (P&P) and red (Emma) fabric covers with no sleeves.  I’ve had them since I was 16 and in fact, these are the books I actually read those stories in for the first time.  I don’t have pictures of them because they’re packed away right now in anticipation of our move, but they will follow me where ever I go.

Another book that is important to me is my signed copy of Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin.  It’s one of my favorite books and I’m just so happy to have it.  It, too, is packed away.

7 thoughts on “TGIF #35

  1. Candice June 15, 2012 at 9:45 am Reply

    Aw, I love both of these! Such great stories behind all of them. Dixie, love especially that you have copies of your grandmother’s books!

    • Gone Pecan June 15, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

      If I kept my grandma’s books I’d have had nothing but romance novels with Fabio on the cover. ~Maggie

  2. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) June 15, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

    Maggie: Those books look really interesting! And I love the story behind why you love them.
    Dixie: Those books sound so wonderful. I love Jane Austen and it’s extra special they came from your grandmother! And Something Borrowed is the Emily Giffin book I love.

    • Gone Pecan June 15, 2012 at 3:35 pm Reply

      it’s extra special because i don’t think have anythign else of hers. also,i just won an ARC of Emily Giffin’s newest one! can’t wait to get it! ~dixie.

  3. Brittany S June 15, 2012 at 10:17 am Reply

    Wow, very cool for both of you! I would loooove to have books from my relatives.. Pretty sure they just sold all that stuff off though 😦

  4. Tee June 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm Reply

    LOVE Kevin Aucoin but I don’t have any of his books. I need to check those out. And YES to Emma! I love that Mr. Knightley!

  5. barefoot_med_student June 21, 2012 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Well, I suck at make-up, but I have some friends studying drama or dancing and I’ve come to learn how truly challenging make-up is. So good for anyone who can be a success in the field!

Leave a Reply

