Outlander Read-Along Week 1

1. Outlander is a well-known book. Before you cracked it open, what were your expectations or assumptions about this story? Or did you jump into it with a blank slate? I expected it to be dry and boring.  Believe it or not, I was a history major, so I don’t know why I expected that because I love hearing about history, particularly of a place and time I had been completely unfamiliar with before.  Also, I think I expected the “war” that Claire steps into being more along the lines of The Civil War.  Hmph. 

2. Claire’s husband, Frank, is fascinated with learning more and more facts about his family tree, which extends back pretty far. Do you or anyone in your family keep a family tree? How many years/generations back does it go? If not, have you ever considered or attempted to create one? No, I do not keep a family tree and I don’t know of anyone in my family who does.  I would love to do one, but the people who would have the correct information are all gone now.  I guess I could get on the internet and try to look up the information that way, but I think it would be time consuming and expensive.

3. How did you find Claire’s initial conclusion as to her surroundings after waking up from going through the stones? Did you think that was a reasonable conclusion? When she stepped back in time, it was so abrupt and there was no one there to explain to her what happened or where or when she was (and that’s why Sam had Al), so I don’t think her reaction was all that different from what mine would have been.  At least she knew who she was, even if she had to modify that a bit.  She’s a strong, independent, modern woman, not at all used to cowering and being subservient to men, especially after serving in the war the way she did.  I think I would have had a tough time reining in my tongue, but I think I would have been quicker to bite it, too, when I realized all was not well in Scotland.

4. How about her composed, rational way of dealing with the fact she’s traveled back in time. Did you find it believable? Do you think you would have acted the same way?  I am glad she didn’t run out of the bush & ask what year it was.  I don’t know, I think she handled it probably along the same lines I would have (at least, I hope I would be so perceptive as to not blurt out something stupid & strange).

5. At this point in the story, what are your feelings or expectations on Claire and Jamie? Is Frank still a factor for you?  I can see a little bit of attraction, at least on Jamie’s side.  I was surprised there wasn’t an instant love-at-first-sight reponse to Jamie from Claire, but I like that it seems like it’s going to be a slow build up in that respect.  Honestly, I’ve forgotten about Frank, but maybe it’s because I know Claire & Jamie are to end up together, but also because it kinda seems Claire has forgotten about him.  Sucks for Frank, but I don’t think he was entirely faithful during the war.

Bonus Question: Frank encounters a man outside of the inn where he and Claire are staying. He is afraid it might have been a ghost. What do you believe it was? Do you have any predictions or suspicions on what that was about?  I want to think it’s Jamie and if that’s the case, then he knows about what happened to Claire and even after his death, he loves her and wants to see her, but that’s kinda weird…cause I’m just thinking she hadn’t gone back in time yet, so they would never have known each other and I don’t think the author is that sloppy.  So, who could it be?  It could still be Jamie, but why would he be staring at Claire?  Can’t wait to find out.

Overall, I really got into it.  The first few chapters were hard because I kept waiting for the time traveling to start and I kinda didn’t like Frank…but then it started rolling and didn’t stop.  I kept reading up until probably chapter 17, where I had to finally stop if I wanted to get any reviews in for last week.  I cannot wait to get back into it. I’m really happy Jess brought this read-along to our attention.  Thanks, Jess!

~*~

1.  Outlander is a well-known book. Before you cracked it open, what were your expectations or assumptions about this story? Or did you jump into it with a blank slate?  I’ve actually had this series marked down on my TBR list for awhile now.  While I did know there was time travel that was really all I knew other than they are supposed to be a great series.  The main reason I hadn’t already started this one was because I didn’t feel like I could dedicate the time to read the series as a whole but when the read-a-long popped up I figured why not?

2. Claire’s husband, Frank, is fascinated with learning more and more facts about his family tree, which extends back pretty far. Do you or anyone in your family keep a family tree? How many years/generations back does it go? If not, have you ever considered or attempted to create one?  Living in the South we have huge families so you are lucky if I can remember all of my first cousin’s names.  I’ve always been interested in my family history but not enough to go digging around for any information.  I do have one aunt that started and it was interesting what she found but not enough to motivate me to help. 

3. How did you find Claire’s initial conclusion as to her surroundings after waking up from going through the stones? Did you think that was a reasonable conclusion?Eh.  I’ve thought about this for awhile and my biggest issue with Claire is her attitude and pure sassiness to the men.  (Though I do have to admit I would have probably done the same thing.  I’ve been told I curse like a sailor.)  At first she was thinking it was an area that lived in the old ways and if she thought that she shouldn’t have given the attitude she did.  IMO she should have tried to be a bit more subdued and tried to figure out the situation first.  Obviously women are not treated equally there.

4. How about her composed, rational way of dealing with the fact she’s traveled back in time. Did you find it believable? Do you think you would have been acting the same way? I didn’t see it as composed as much as shock maybe?  Or even a dream?  Shock because she is thinking she might be going crazy.  Or if she is dreaming then it’s safe to play along with the fantasy isn’t it?  I found her believable and appreciated that the story didn’t dwell on her having any kind of panic attack and/or her staying in a constant state of whiney denial.

5. At this point in the story, what are your feelings or expectations on Claire and Jamie? Is Frank still a factor for you?  I’ve mentioned several times before that I’m not a fan of cheating books.  I wasn’t born yesterday, I know where this story is going but surprisingly I CANNOT WAIT.  I’ve always had a weakness for an accent (God help me if I ever travel abroad), and there is something about a man in a kilt. . . any who . . .as far as for Frank, I could care less.  I think it’s because he hasn’t been in the book long enough for me to really get attached to him.  Also, when he asked her if she had been with someone else in their time apart because he would have understood??  Hmmm, that sounds fishy to me.  It didn’t help me to like him when I found out his ancestor was a DB either.  Jamie sounds like a sweet (and HOT) gentle giant. 

Bonus Question: Frank encounters a man outside of the inn were he and Claire are staying. He is afraid it might have been a ghost. What do you believe that was? Do you have any predictions on what that was about?  ACK!!  IDK!!!!  It’s way too early for me to try and play the guessing game.  Even when I do I get it wrong a lot so who knows?  Jamie come to see where Claire came from?  To warn her? 

Overall I’m really enjoying this book but I did stop after the Chapter 7 mark.  I know A LOT of you guys didn’t since I read every single one of your spoilery tweets (including Dixie my blogging buddy) and I cannot wait to get to the rest. 

9 thoughts on “Outlander Read-Along Week 1

  1. Tee June 18, 2012 at 4:34 pm Reply

    I’m so excited you’re reading this. If I didn’t have 25 billion books from the library (all due way too soon) I’d pick it up again! Also, I felt bad for Frank at first. I’m glad you haven’t bothered feeling pity for him. He really isn’t worth it. And I LOVE that Claire has a sailor’s mouth! She’s such an awesome, strong character. Don’t even get me started on Jamie. Oh that man and his accent.

    • Gone Pecan June 18, 2012 at 4:59 pm Reply

      Yay!! Have you read the whole series?! ~Maggie

  2. Jacinda (@ReadingWifeJac) June 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm Reply

    “strong, independent, modern woman”-love the explanation of Claire Dixie!

    The “ghost” thing is driving me nuts…

    ……

    I had your same thoughts on Frank…it wasn’t in the book much and then he goes and accuses her of cheating…oh boy.

    “Jamie sounds like a sweet (and HOT) gentle giant.”-LOVES!

    • Gone Pecan June 19, 2012 at 10:43 am Reply

      i know, frank is such a tool! i do love Jamie, though. He kinda reminds me of Lincoln from Attachments. 🙂 ~dixie

  3. bookgoonie June 18, 2012 at 9:17 pm Reply

    I was glad she didn’t just blurt out the year she thought it should have been. I loved that she was & stayed strong. But she is going to have to fund a little religion or find her herself crispy fried. Frank’s family lineage doesn’t endear him to me either.

  4. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) June 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm Reply

    Dixie, I agree that it was a little slow in the beginning but after a couple of chapters I really got into it. I let myself have an extra chapter and read to chapter 8, but I stopped there because I’m really forgetful and didn’t want to get too far ahead. Once it gets to the really good stuff, I don’t know that I’ll be as ABLE to stop myself!

    Maggie, ” Jamie sounds like a sweet (and HOT) gentle giant.” –> YES. I can’t wait for some good stuff. I stopped at chapter 8. The tweets were killing me!

    • Gone Pecan June 19, 2012 at 10:44 am Reply

      I know, I had to stop reading because I know I wouldn’t remember when the questions came up 🙂 I am getting old. Loving the book, though. I think I’ll start again after I finish two of the ones I’m in the middle of. Then I’ll take it week by week, like I should have 🙂 ~dixie

  5. Heidi June 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm Reply

    Dixie ~ Lol, I expected this book to be a bit heavier (aka dry) than it turned out to be as well! And I love historical fiction. Why did we have these thoughts? Bwahaha, I’m also happy she didn’t run out of a bush and ask what year it was. Actually, when I think about it, she was incredibly smart in being stealthy about figuring this out. I would not have been so smooth.

    Maggie ~ I totally feel ya on the family being too big and complicated to keep track of it all thing. 😛 I also have an extreme weakness for accents. I dated foreigners for a long time because of it. My boyfriend now gets very sick of my occasional whines about him not having an Irish brogue.

  6. D – I was definitely wanting the romance aspect to pick up the pace already, but was kind of glad for the slow build up, especially in their circumstances. I’m glad you’re loving this book, btw. 🙂

    M – I LOVE ACCENTS! And I’ve always thought the same thing about myself if I ever go abroad, lol. God help me…or them! HAHA After Frank brings up the whole cheating thing, I immediately suspected him of doing it. Why else would he tell her he was ok with it?! Jerk…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

