Outlander Read Along Week 2: Chapters 8-14

 

This week we read Chapters 8-14 and we’ve learned quite a bit more about our hero, Jamie, and have progressed nicely through Claire’s adventure. 

The Questions this week are provided by Carrie @ Stalking the Bookshelves:

1.  Claire has been given the task of healer at the castle. She must adapt her nursing skills for the time and learn what herbs and etc will cure each particular ailment that is presented to her. Do you have any home remedies that were passed down to you (cure for a cold, bee sting or what have you)? 

Again I’ll mention I live in the south.  LOL  There are all kinds of old wives’ tales about all kinds of remedies.  My grandmothers are both gone now so we don’t really talk about home remedies anymore but I do vaguely remember one about removing warts if you bury a potato in your yard where water flows??

2. What do you think would be the biggest challenge of living in the past? (Clothing, hygiene, food, etiquette or etc.)

EEP.  Etiquette would be a big issue for me but mainly because I would only be able to curb my tongue and act “lady like” for so long.  After that definitely hygiene.  When it comes to baths, washing my hair, etc I am very much a  city gal and love running water.  I have never been camping and I don’t want to start.

3. Do you have a favorite character, scene or quote so far? If so, share it with us.

Well of course I’m going to say Jamie.  Who can pass up a  HOT Scot?  (Like what I did there?  Yeah, me too. :P)  Though I will say I didn’t care for him kissing that girl in front of Claire, it felt not only like cheating but cheating in front of her face and forcing her to accept it.   I realize this isn’t really a rational thought as they weren’t even remotely together but still I thought it.

4. What did you think about the addition of the blood bond in the wedding ceremony? Is this something you would do with the one you love?

Even though I’m not married I’ve always loved weddings so anything people do that is unique to their culture or background always fascinates me.  Though it is a bit dark  I liked the blood bond.  Now the reason behind the wedding?  Not so romantic.

5. Are you reading along closely with the scheduled chapters or are you ahead or behind?

I’m reading along though it is getting increasingly difficult not to go on ahead.  I almost fell behind this weekend though as I had a small setback.   I bought a copy for the read-along and while reading I notice that someone RIPPED A PAGE OUT OF MY BOOK.  I am so mad about that right now I can’t even tell you guys. . . all worked out though I now have an ebook version, let’s see someone try to take a page from that!!

~*~

1.  Claire has been given the task of healer at the castle. She must adapt her nursing skills for the time and learn what herbs and etc will cure each particular ailment that is presented to her. Do you have any home remedies that were passed down to you (cure for a cold, bee sting or what have you)? 

The only one I can think of off the top of my head is honey and lemon mixed with hot water to make a sore throat better.
2. What do you think would be the biggest challenge of living in the past? (Clothing, hygiene, food, etiquette or etc.)

I think etiquette would be the biggest obstacle.  One, I wouldn’t know the correct etiquette other than the little that I’ve gleaned from historical romance novels, and who knows if they’re true to the time and/or culture?  Two, I am not inclined to bow or forgo an argument or walk three steps behind a man.  I am entirely a modern woman and it would be hard for me to remember that I’m not supposed to be opinionated and I am supposed to be subservient.  

 
3. Do you have a favorite character, scene or quote so far? If so, share it with us.

Alas, it is true, Jamie is my favorite character.  He’s just such an honorable person, and a great man.  The little that I do know of him so far makes him far better than most of the men I read about in my romance books today, and let’s just NOT get into how he compares to most real-life men.   

4. What did you think about the addition of the blood bond in the wedding ceremony? Is this something you would do with the one you love?

I thought that was a lovely tradition.  I might consider doing something like that.  It’s very romantic.
5. Are you reading along closely with the scheduled chapters or are you ahead or behind?

I was ahead, but then I had to stop reading or else I would have to reread the whole thing to answer the questions.  So I haven’t actually opened the book in a couple weeks. I think I’m on chapter 17 right now.

~*~

Our Schedule:

June 18th – Questions for chapters 1-7 answered & questions announced for chapters 8-14 at Stalking the Bookshelves

June 25th – Questions for chapters 8-14 answered & questions announced for chapters 15-21 on Tangled up in Blue

July 2nd – Questions for chapters 15-21 answered & questions announced for chapters 22-28 on Into the Hall of Books

July 9th – Questions for chapters 22-28 answered & questions announced for chapters 29-35 on Logan E. Turner

July 16th – Questions for chapters 29-35 answered & questions announced for chapters 36-41 on The Reading Housewives

July 23rd – Questions for chapters 36-41 answered on Gone with the Words. The end.

13 thoughts on “Outlander Read Along Week 2: Chapters 8-14

  1. […] it comes to baths, washing my hair, etc I am very much a city … … Continued here: Outlander Read Along Week 2: Chapters 8-14 | Gone Pecan: a … ← Pink Camo Boots: Roommate/Housemate Etiquette (Part 2 of […]

  2. Carrie from Stalking the Bookshelves June 25, 2012 at 11:26 am Reply

    Maggie: I’m with ya on the camping thing. I need a cabin with indoor plumbing. Forget tents and peeing in the woods. lol

    • Gone Pecan June 25, 2012 at 11:56 am Reply

      I came close to camping one time. My family went on a group vacation to Toledo Bend. We stayed in a cabin with no TV. CLOSE ENOUGH. ~Maggie

  3. Book Nympho June 25, 2012 at 11:29 am Reply

    That’s awful about having the missing page! I hate when that happens. And I too was surprised by the scene with Jamie kissing someone else. That wasn’t what I was expecting at all! But Claire didn’t seem too upset over it so I guess she doesn’t really have feelings for him yet.

    • Gone Pecan June 25, 2012 at 11:57 am Reply

      Yeah, I’m really liking the book I guess I just thought there would have been a bit more romance behind the wedding and such. Still got over half to go so Jamie has plenty of time to make it up to us. 🙂 ~Maggie

  4. Alyssa @ Books Take You Places June 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm Reply

    I love how the majority of us are all uppity women who wouldn’t be able to deal with curbing our tongue around all the men calling us the “weaker sex!” I am so right there with you guys! Jamie is also my favorite because how could he not be and I felt rather slighted when he was kissing that other girl! They weren’t even together yet and I was like NO HE DID NOT!! P.s I def read ahead, through chapter 15. I couldn’t resist.

    • Gone Pecan June 25, 2012 at 12:09 pm Reply

      well since I read it this weekend I read up to 21 but I don’t count that as reading ahead since we got those questions today. 🙂 ~Maggie

  5. bookgoonie June 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm Reply

    When Jamie was caught snogging in the closet, it broke my heart a wee bit too.

    • Gone Pecan June 26, 2012 at 2:33 pm Reply

      I’m so sorry about your comments not posting sooner!! For whatever reason WP thinks everything you write is spam. 😦 ~Maggie

  6. thereadinghousewives June 25, 2012 at 8:33 pm Reply

    I love my running water as well 🙂

    YES for Jamie you guys!

    Someone ripped a page out of the book?! That is just MEAN!

    • Gone Pecan June 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm Reply

      I know! I still can’t believe why someone would do that. Ebooks for the rest of the series though, I don’t want to take anymore chances. ~Maggie

  7. creativityscorner June 26, 2012 at 6:30 am Reply

    How… why… WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?! You do NOT rip pages out of books. NEVER! I think if I ever found that I would, I don’t know, try to track them down and rip their fingers off or something! That’s AWFUL!

    Camping doesn’t necessarily mean no showers! You can always take an RV, and even if you’re doing tent camping (We always do) they have public restrooms/showers in most places. As long as you take a pair of flip-flops (I won’t risk walking on the bare floor in a public shower) it’s no different than showering in a locker room. I can understand being averse to the idea though… if I hadn’t grown up going camping at least once a year, I might be the same way.

  8. M – Someone ripped a page out?! OH, HELLLL NOES!!! And I totally felt hurt by him kissing the girl…I was like, “WHAT?! NOOO, Jamie!! SAD FACE!!!”

    D – I feel the SAME way about Jamie. He’s just…a man’s man, you know? Definitely admirable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

